We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good value hotel”
Review of The Park Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Park Hotel
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Dunoon
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
102 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“good value hotel”
Reviewed 6 June 2012

good value hotel in need of some attention, friendly staff, clean rooms,good food however let down a little by attention to details, in need of some decoration and care especially the shower facilities which for some reason only flowed water at certain times must be the water pressure or maybe a system waiting on more hot water to be produced, however dont be put off if you want good value cheap accomodation with good food and friendly staff
I hope they get things right as I realy want them to do well

Room Tip: take single beds as the doubles are a bit on the small side
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chryston186534
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    86
    62
    23
    8
    5
See reviews for
34
93
4
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2012

stayed in room 26. lovely large clean room. large tv, comfortable bed, sofa and arm chair. plenty tea/coffee in room. iron & hairdryer provided .jacuzzi bath and shower,(bath takes a wee while to fill)friendly staff, nice walking distance to centre of dunoon. breakfast was fine juice,cereal, toast, full scottish breakfast. friendly welcoming staff. would definately stay again. great value.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bubblepopper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2012

The Park Hotel is a lovely little place to stay. Its not too far from Dunoon town centre (be warned, there is not a lot to do there) and pretty much right by the water.

A friend and I stayed here for one night, as we were over from Dumbarton seeing a favourite band of ours. The man at reception was lovely, very friendly and informative. We were given room 25. The room was small, but perfect for us. It looks as though the rooms have recently been refurbished, although the bathrooms are a little dated (but perfectly clean).

Upon entering our room we noted that it was very very warm, unbearably so actually. We opened the windows and headed out for the night, figuring the cool night air would sort it out. Wrong. When we returned it felt even worse, there was no way we could sleep here.

I went down to reception and asked if there was any way he could turn out radiator off. Turns out he couldn't, but he did give me a key to another room (room 4) and said if that one was better then we could use that. I checked it out and not only was it much cooler, it actually turned out to be an upgrade to what I can only assume was a mini suite. Bonus!

We slept really well and the next morning headed down stairs for breakfast, which its included in the price. The have tea, coffee and orange juice and a full Scottish breakfast, as well as cereal choices. What more can you ask for?

What made this hotel so wonderful to stay at was the staff; they were friendly and very helpful. Sure you can stay at a chain hotel, but do you get personal touches there? I don't think so. I'd definitely go back, in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SianHayley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ayrshire
Level Contributor
48 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2012

The Park Hotel is well worth a visit. Every member of staff was very friendly, helpful and nothing was to much trouble. It is very clean, comfortable and the meals from a varied menu were excellent. I would definately recommend it to anyone looking to stay in the area.
The normal couple

Room Tip: I could not fault this hotel or the staff in any way, The only thing i would change If i am staying...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AyrshireRuby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cumbernauld, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2012

My partner and I stayed at the hotel for 2 nights, it was a nice hotel and very clean however there were a few things that spoiled our enjoyment of the hotel. The lady at breakfast was extremely rude to us on the first morning which ruined our morning but the chirpyness and cheeriness of the other woman member of staff soon turned things around later in the day. Unfortunately when we went to the bar for a drink on the Friday night it was shut and we found it on the Saturday that it shuts at 10pm. Our room was ridiculously small, you do not need a huge room but I don't think I have ever been in a room as small in my life, it was quite claustrophobic. I would also advise to find out if there is a function on before you book a room, as there was a burns supper on the Saturday evening and the noise was unbeareable as i think even though there were only 4 rooms booked out at the hotel that they had put us directly above the function hall with the noise blaring until 2am which meant we got very little sleep on the Saturday night which was very disappointing as we had went away for a quiet weekend. I don't think i would stay at the hotel again as there are many others in teh near vicinity.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank skirtyh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2011

Got a room with a lovely view over the water. Staff very attentive and friendly. Breakfast each day was good. Only ate in hotel one out of 3 nights and explored dunoons other delights/ or disasters in one case! We would reccommend this gem of a hotel to those seeking a nice relaxing break away.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gizmo1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fife, Scotland
Level Contributor
59 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2011

My husband and I stayed for a couple of nights, and had a great time. The staff are great and the receptionist/waitress etc, Beth, is a wee star! Nothing was any trouble for her, she always has a smile for you. The room was clean and comfortable, although being at the front, it was a wee bit noisy with people coming and going at night. But otherwise a good time was had by us. Would definately recommend this hotel. A menu for breakfast would have been nice. The food was excellent and the breakfast was lovely. The dining room and layout downstairs is modern and has a friendly atmosphere.

Room Tip: Fantastic location, nice and quiet ar
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sheila B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dunoon hotels
0.6 mi away
Argyll Hotel
Argyll Hotel
#1 of 11 in Dunoon
951 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hunters Quay Hotel
Hunters Quay Hotel
#6 of 11 in Dunoon
239 reviews
0.2 mi away
Abbot's Brae Hotel
Abbot's Brae Hotel
#2 of 11 in Dunoon
450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Esplanade Hotel
Esplanade Hotel
#5 of 11 in Dunoon
646 reviews
0.1 mi away
Glenmorag Hotel
Glenmorag Hotel
#10 of 11 in Dunoon
457 reviews
0.2 mi away
Selborne Hotel
Selborne Hotel
#7 of 11 in Dunoon
184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Park Hotel

Property: The Park Hotel
Address: 3 Glenmorag Avenue | The West Bay, Dunoon PA23 7LG, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Cowal Peninsula > Dunoon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Dunoon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Park Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With a scenic, tranquil location in Dunoon, The Park Hotel offers impressive sea views and stylish rooms. There is free parking and a traditional Scottish restaurant. The elegant rooms feature a TV, tea and coffee facilities and a large work space. All rooms have a modern en suite bathroom and some have views of the beautiful Firth of Clyde and Irish Sea. The popular Park Hotel restaurant serves a traditional Scottish menu, featuring local produce and freshly caught seafood. The bar offers a range of beverages, and generous breakfasts are available daily. The family-run Park Hotel is a 15-minute drive from Argyll Forest Park. The scenic hills and sandy beaches of Dunoon are a 2-minute walk away, and Gourock is a 20-minute ferry ride. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Park Hotel Dunoon, Argyll And Bute

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing