We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Break away” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Park Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Park Hotel
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Dunoon
Widnes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Break away”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2013

My husband and I have just spent 3 nights at the Park Hotel as a special treat to ourselves, to spend quality time together and catch up with friends. The staff are really friendly and couldn't do enough for you. Breakfast was superb and I defy anyone to find fault in what is on offer. We ate every night at the hotel and would recommend that you eat at least one night there as the food is outstanding with a good choice of meals, the homemade steak pie is an absolute must.
Our room (No 20) had a nice sea view, was nice and clean and right at the end of the corridor so we didnt really experience any noise except for a few doors slamming which was other inconsiderate residents. Bathroom could do with updating and definitely needs a lock on the bathroom door as it would not stay shut without putting the bin against it.
We will definitely stay here again when we next visit Dunoon.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Deborah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    72
    55
    22
    8
    5
See reviews for
27
83
4
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2013

the park hotel is just 5 minutes walk from the town centre the staff were very friendly and the food was excellent, a three course meal only costs £10 with a good choice on the menu, you could not fault the breakfast although the coffee cups were a bit stained, there is a nice bar and entertainment on an evening, the room was clean but tired looking but there was a sea view, there is no car park at the hotel but it was easy getting parked on the street, so if you are looking for a small holiday break you would not go far wrong using this hotel ps there is no pool or fitness centre.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tommyheanan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Level Contributor
29 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2013

Ideally situated on the edge of town adjacent to the sea front. A leisurely fifteen minute stroll along the promenade takes you into Dunoon Town Centre.

Our allocated room was of good size and pleasingly modernised in appropriate colours. New furniture and fittings and comfortable beds indicated a promising stay. The bathroom did not seem as new as the rest of the room however was reasonably sized and spotless. A nice touch for a small hotel was the selection of complimentary bathroom accessories. Choosing a sea view room resulted in a pleasing bright outlook.

We chose to dine in the hotel both evenings and found the food selection to be unadventurous but a good mix of standard but wholesome dishes which proved to be well cooked, well presented and satisfying.

There is a small bar to the front with restricted seating however there is a large function room to the rear with ample space and pleasing views of the Clyde. This area may however prove rather busy when coach parties visit the hotel. All public areas were spotless

All members of staff were very friendly, courteous and helpful.

In the evening however we found the lay out of the premises channeled a considerable amount of noise to the bedroom. Downstairs voices and the noise of passing guests seemed amplified in the narrow bedroom corridor. In the morning there is a large amount of transmitted noise from cisterns, pouring baths, kitchen and general movement which began around 6.30 a.m. On the second evening we had an attack of the 'door slammers' which went on late into the evening. Have these people no consideration for other guests? Obviously not! Sound proofing between rooms is not good as we clearly overheard the conversation of the couple next door.

This is a lovely small hotel which ticks all the boxes. It is a great pity noise problems spoiled our visit.

Room Tip: Sea view rooms bright and airy
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Couperthwaite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Level Contributor
31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2013

Booked an overnight stay last minute with my husband at the Park Hotel although just staying one night we had a great time. The hotel is run by lovely friendly staff and you are immediately made to feel welcome. Check in was hassel free and the girl on reception couldn't have been nicer, we were given the choice of two rooms both spotlessly clean and comfy, we choose the larger room which had all we needed. After a great nights sleep in an ultra cosy bed and an early coffee in our room, we headed to breakfast, choice of fruit juices, fresh fruit, cereals to start and full English, toast and coffee, brilliant !! If you are looking for value for money this small family run hotel fits the bill. Thanks to the staff at the Park hope to return soon.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Rita C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2013

When I arrived at the hotel there was no explanation of dinner or breakfast at the hotel - it was a case of here's your room key.

I got up to the room- it was decorated ok but not much else but the bed fit in the room.

I went for a bath and was scolded by the hot water tap.

I then went down for dinner - the menu had nothing vegetarian! However the chef made me risotto which can only be described as lumpy cheese soup with lumps of broccoli.

The waitress then said "breakfast is served between - em - actually I don't know" - I thought ok fine, I only have a cup of tea anyway.

I was extremely tired and went to bed to browse on my laptop - free wifi? In what solar system - there was no wifi.

I then decided to rest my head not to be woken by the noisiest guests - opening and slamming doors for about half an hour. I got out of bed to ask them to stop making so much noise.

THEN I woke up in the middle of the night FREEZING and went to get a glass of water as I had a headache - the cold water was warm.

I got up in the morning, tired and ill. Went for a shower - the shower is stuck together by masking tape and only has 2 temperatures - scalding or freezing. I opted for freezing already feeling ill. I went down to reception to complain to find nobody there.

Seriously do NOT stay here.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank chrissy7034
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stonehaven, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2013

A spur of the moment decision to have a few days break resulted in us staying at the Park once again. Well, it was a great choice, as we had a wonderful time. Warm welcome, beautiful room, fantastic and caring service is still the norm here. Everyone is so customer focused that you feel looked after all the time. Thanks to everyne there once again.

Colin and Cath Ferrier, Newtonhill, Stonehaven.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Colin F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helensburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2013

me and my wife had a two night stay here at the Park Hotel. The hotel was really clean and comfy and offered a good full breakfast with other options available. The staff were friendly and helpful and were really easy to talk to and gave helpful information if you wanted to go see places. I would definatley reccommend this hotel to anyone who wants an affordable two night stay and somewhere to explore Dunoon. I would return to this hotel as well and would think it needs more than just three stars which is what it has right now,.
I would give it ten thousand stars.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TOMY73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dunoon hotels
0.6 mi away
Argyll Hotel
Argyll Hotel
#1 of 11 in Dunoon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 921 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hunters Quay Hotel
Hunters Quay Hotel
#8 of 11 in Dunoon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 213 reviews
0.2 mi away
Abbot's Brae Hotel
Abbot's Brae Hotel
#2 of 11 in Dunoon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Esplanade Hotel
Esplanade Hotel
#3 of 11 in Dunoon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 628 reviews
0.1 mi away
Glenmorag Hotel
Glenmorag Hotel
#10 of 11 in Dunoon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 437 reviews
0.3 mi away
St. Ives Hotel
St. Ives Hotel
#7 of 11 in Dunoon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Park Hotel

Property: The Park Hotel
Address: 3 Glenmorag Avenue | The West Bay, Dunoon PA23 7LG, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Cowal Peninsula > Dunoon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Dunoon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Park Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With a scenic, tranquil location in Dunoon, The Park Hotel offers impressive sea views and stylish rooms. There is free parking and a traditional Scottish restaurant. The elegant rooms feature a TV, tea and coffee facilities and a large work space. All rooms have a modern en suite bathroom and some have views of the beautiful Firth of Clyde and Irish Sea. The popular Park Hotel restaurant serves a traditional Scottish menu, featuring local produce and freshly caught seafood. The bar offers a range of beverages, and generous breakfasts are available daily. The family-run Park Hotel is a 15-minute drive from Argyll Forest Park. The scenic hills and sandy beaches of Dunoon are a 2-minute walk away, and Gourock is a 20-minute ferry ride. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Park Hotel Dunoon, Argyll And Bute

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing