We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place to Stay”
Review of The Anchorage B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dunoon
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Anchorage B&B
Ranked #3 of 18 Dunoon B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Warwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great Place to Stay”
Reviewed 13 May 2012

We stayed here for two nights in the Heron room at the start of our two week Highland tour. The location is excellent, the view over Holy Loch wonderful, the house and rooms are clean, warm, comfortable and styled to a very high standard. Richard and his family are lovely hosts and Richard could not do enough for us. We will definitely return.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank philip m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    108
    3
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
12
62
14
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2012

There was nothing at all that I would change about the anchorage b&b. It was home from home. We stayed in the oystercatcher room for 1 night. Beds were clean & comfy with good quality bed linen, walls pained in farrow & ball paint (I asked as I liked the colour!) the shower was the most powerful I think I have ever used! Breakfast was fabulous & Richard the owner couldn't have been more helpful. We were made so welcome as was our 8 month old daughter. Perfect, 5 stars. Thanks so much.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CGreaves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stirling, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2012

stayed for 7 days while on buisiness .warm friendly welcome lovely rooms super breakfast.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank stuart1936
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Scotland
Level Contributor
86 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2012

What a great find (thanks Trip advisor). I arrived on a cold wet January night to discover their heating had been broken and was only just repaired. The owner was friendly and welcoming and immediately dashed off to get a fan heater to warm my room up. (Was soon warm and cosy) The room was beautiful with a huge sleigh bed and views over Holy Loch and lovely spotless bathroom with Molton Brown toiletries). Breakfast was also delicious, a real notch above the usual with home made fruit salad and greek yoghurt on offer as well as free range scrambled eggs with smoked salmon. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: The Heron room has a huge bed and fantastic views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marvellous_mum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2011

My wife and I stayed at the Anchoridge for two nights as I had a job interview locally. We stayed in the only available room, the twin. We were not disappointed!

We were met by a very warm welcome from the proprietor, Richard and taken to our room. The room itself was exceptionally clean and furnished to a superb level. There was lots of room and views to both the front (overlooking Holy Loch) and the back (overlooking beautiful gardens) of the property.

We had a wonderful full Scottish breakfast on both mornings that kept us going until dinner time.

Richard couldn't do enough for us but was not at all intrusive as some B&B owners can be.

We are planning a return visit soon.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sappho_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2011

Stayed here for two nights with my sister and the owner, Richard, couldn't have been more helpful. He was so obliging by giving us a lift to our cousins house and also collected us from the ferry on arrival and taking us to the ferry when we left. The room we stayed in overlooked the water and was extremely comfortable. We had a beautiful breakfast both mornings and I would have no hesitation recommending this b&b to any future guests.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank p0ttyd0tty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 22 October 2011

My wife and I stayed at the Anchorage whilst up in Dunoon for a wedding last year. Yes you read right - last year (August I recall). So why bother to review this B&B after all this time I hear you ask? Simply put - because I should have always done it. This alone is proof of my conviction that such a great stay deserves an equally great review.

We had the Heron room with the double bed and glorious view of the waterfront. The weather was quite windy out but the B&B was cosy, belying the cooler temperature beyond the door. Richard was an amazing host. He even drove us over to a starting point to commence a walk along the ridge behind the built up area for a ramble to Dunoon proper. There is also free WiFi so you can remain connected during your stay if you want. Breakfast was also very good and as far as B&Bs go, we though it was good value for money.

If you need a place to stay in this area look no further. You won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: Get the Heron room if possible as it is the best one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Geezer75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dunoon hotels
2.3 mi away
Argyll Hotel
Argyll Hotel
#1 of 11 in Dunoon
949 reviews
2.5 mi away
Esplanade Hotel
Esplanade Hotel
#4 of 11 in Dunoon
645 reviews
2.9 mi away
Abbot's Brae Hotel
Abbot's Brae Hotel
#2 of 11 in Dunoon
450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hunters Quay Hotel
Hunters Quay Hotel
#6 of 11 in Dunoon
238 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Park Hotel
The Park Hotel
#3 of 11 in Dunoon
183 reviews
1.1 mi away
Royal Marine
Royal Marine
#9 of 11 in Dunoon
247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Anchorage B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Anchorage B&B

Property: The Anchorage B&B
Address: The Anchorage Shore Road | Sandbank, Dunoon PA23 8QG, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Cowal Peninsula > Dunoon
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Dunoon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming detached Victorian house on the shores of the Holy Loch Argyll. 4 Refurbished en-suite rooms all with flat screen TV and tea/coffee making facilities. Ideal base for touring the Scottish National Park. Boat and engine available (weather permitting) for the sole use of our guests. Warm welcome assured. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Anchorage B&B Dunoon, Argyll And Bute

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing