We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent B and B”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Anchorage B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dunoon
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Anchorage B&B
Ranked #2 of 19 Dunoon B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Shropshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Excellent B and B”
Reviewed 19 July 2012

Everything was first class during my recent 2 night business trip to Dunoon.
I wll always use The Anchorage iwhen in Dunoon in future.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GeordieFellow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    104
    3
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
12
60
13
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
London, UK
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2012

This is such a special B&B. We stayed in Heron room, which has lovely decor, spectacular water views and the biggest and most comfortable bed imaginable. Every little touch has been thought of, with quality bedding and towels, nice toiletries, teas and biscuits, fresh milk, and comfy chairs. If you are walking in the area, there's a huge boot-room for muddy boots and wet coats. Nothing seemed to be too much trouble for Richard - a very experienced hotelier with a sure touch and such a generous approach to his guests. Breakfast was excellent too, with fresh fruit, and delicious eggs. We were heading south and were sorry that we could only stay for one night - the beautiful Benmore Gardens are a couple of miles up the road and we've already decided that this is THE place to stay when we visit there.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SalandChris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2012

A real gem of a place to stay. Richard is very friendly and welcoming, and he goes out of his way to make sure you enjoy your stay. The rooms are clean, fresh and cosy. The breakfast is excellent - I particularly recommend the poached eggs!! We'll definitely be back to stay again

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bernard O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2012

We stayed here for two nights in the Heron room at the start of our two week Highland tour. The location is excellent, the view over Holy Loch wonderful, the house and rooms are clean, warm, comfortable and styled to a very high standard. Richard and his family are lovely hosts and Richard could not do enough for us. We will definitely return.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank philip m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2012

There was nothing at all that I would change about the anchorage b&b. It was home from home. We stayed in the oystercatcher room for 1 night. Beds were clean & comfy with good quality bed linen, walls pained in farrow & ball paint (I asked as I liked the colour!) the shower was the most powerful I think I have ever used! Breakfast was fabulous & Richard the owner couldn't have been more helpful. We were made so welcome as was our 8 month old daughter. Perfect, 5 stars. Thanks so much.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CGreaves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stirling, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2012

stayed for 7 days while on buisiness .warm friendly welcome lovely rooms super breakfast.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank stuart1936
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Scotland
Level Contributor
86 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2012

What a great find (thanks Trip advisor). I arrived on a cold wet January night to discover their heating had been broken and was only just repaired. The owner was friendly and welcoming and immediately dashed off to get a fan heater to warm my room up. (Was soon warm and cosy) The room was beautiful with a huge sleigh bed and views over Holy Loch and lovely spotless bathroom with Molton Brown toiletries). Breakfast was also delicious, a real notch above the usual with home made fruit salad and greek yoghurt on offer as well as free range scrambled eggs with smoked salmon. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: The Heron room has a huge bed and fantastic views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marvellous_mum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dunoon hotels
2.7 mi away
The Park Hotel
The Park Hotel
#5 of 11 in Dunoon
168 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hunters Quay Hotel
Hunters Quay Hotel
#7 of 11 in Dunoon
220 reviews
2.9 mi away
Abbot's Brae Hotel
Abbot's Brae Hotel
#2 of 11 in Dunoon
446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Argyll Hotel
Argyll Hotel
#1 of 11 in Dunoon
933 reviews
2.8 mi away
Glenmorag Hotel
Glenmorag Hotel
#10 of 11 in Dunoon
444 reviews
2.5 mi away
Esplanade Hotel
Esplanade Hotel
#3 of 11 in Dunoon
630 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Anchorage B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Anchorage B&B

Property: The Anchorage B&B
Address: The Anchorage Shore Road | Sandbank, Dunoon PA23 8QG, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Cowal Peninsula > Dunoon
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Dunoon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming detached Victorian house on the shores of the Holy Loch Argyll. 4 Refurbished en-suite rooms all with flat screen TV and tea/coffee making facilities. Ideal base for touring the Scottish National Park. Boat and engine available (weather permitting) for the sole use of our guests. Warm welcome assured. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Anchorage B&B Dunoon, Argyll And Bute

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing