We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Gem” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Anchorage B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dunoon
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Anchorage B&B
Ranked #2 of 19 Dunoon B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
227 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 260 helpful votes
“A Gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2013

This is an excellent B&B, beautifully situated with superb views across Holy Loch. The two rooms we occupied were very clean and comfortable. The breakfast was excellent, the scrambled eggs with salmon being particularly tasty. Richard, the charming and affable host, was most helpful, even offering to drive us back from the local pub. No hesitation whatsoever in recommending The Anchorage.

Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank Barry Lynch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    104
    3
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
12
60
13
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
105 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2013 via mobile

The Anchorage is a lovely place to stay. Richard made us most welcome, the room was very clean and comfortable. You felt at ease here and that you were actually staying in someone's home which was great. Very good breakfast. Thank you for a very enjoyable couple of days.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Madkopite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2013

Once again Richard was the perfect host. We left our car after staying for a weekend to go on a cycle tour. When we returned a week later Richard even made sure the heating was turned up for us knowing we may be cold from a wet days cycling. We stayed in both Gull and Oystercatcher and both are to an exceptional standard. The breakfast was the best out of six high quality different establishments we stayed in that week.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank philip m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2013

I am happy to endorse all the positive reviews that this lovely B&B has attracted recently. The house is stylish, the view from most bedrooms beautiful and the host very attentive to his guests' requirements. A feature of the house worth mentioning is the good choice of water-colours, prints and oils to adorn the walls of both bedrooms and dining room.

Room Tip: Ask for the oystercatcher room. The view is beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bournan37240
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester-le-Street
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2013

There's a good reason why this B&B gets great reviews and that is because it really is everything people are saying about it. We only stayed one night but Richard made us most welcome right from the start. The rooms are well appointed and being on the front of the house we had lovely views over Holy Loch and to catch the sunrise from the comfort of your bed with a cuppa is a real treat. We only ranked the sleep quality as a 4 because we found the beds were a little soft for us, but that is perhaps just us. Breakfast was superb, there was a good selection of cereals, fresh fruit followed by lashings of tea or coffee a cooked breakfast or smoked salmon with scrambled egg on toast. There is also plenty of off-street parking out front which is a bonus.

We walked along the harbour to the Holy Loch Inn for a bar meal which takes about 20mins or so. It has only recently changed management and although quiet the locals made us very welcome and the bar meal was freshly cooked and good value. If a bar meal is not what your looking for then you need to head for Dunoon to find a restaurant and Richard was very knowledgeable on what's available.

Overall a great B&B with excellent links to the south western area of the highlands.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Stephen_and_Pam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2012

Fantastic B & B. From start to finish our stay at The Anchorage was amazing and we wished we had stayed longer. Richard makes you feel so welcome and at home and has great knowledge about the area. The home itself is a lovely old house with many period features and the rooms are of an exceptional standard. The gardens are well cared for and the views from the rooms are just lovely. We cannot praise Richard and Helen enough for the service we received during our visit and we would gladly recommend this B&B to anyone visiting the area. We will certainly be staying again when we next visit. Many thanks again for the bubbly.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Darcy_292
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dalry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2012

We booked a double room in advance of our one night stay. The website was hopeful and given I've been in the hospitality business for 23 years, sometimes you tend to come across certain places that don't really deliver what they say on the tin.

However, this place does not disappoint. Richard the host, from start to finish, was the kindest, helpful and perfect host who will go out of his way to ensure your stay at his estalbishment is not marred in any way.

From a warm welcome into his home as well as perfect cleanliness throughout, ample private parking, beautiful decor and good top end quality bed linen, this really was a home from home.

We stayed in the Heron Room, with a super king size bed overlooking the Holy Loch, there was nothing more we could have asked for.

Using their own hen's eggs was a nice touch to the already delicious breakfast.

We would highly recommend The Anchorage, whether it be for one night, or one week.....Richard and his property will not disappoint.

Room Tip: For couples, definitely the Heron room, with gorgeous views and more than ample space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MerchantMiller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dunoon hotels
2.7 mi away
The Park Hotel
The Park Hotel
#5 of 11 in Dunoon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hunters Quay Hotel
Hunters Quay Hotel
#8 of 11 in Dunoon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 213 reviews
2.9 mi away
Abbot's Brae Hotel
Abbot's Brae Hotel
#2 of 11 in Dunoon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Argyll Hotel
Argyll Hotel
#1 of 11 in Dunoon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 921 reviews
2.8 mi away
Glenmorag Hotel
Glenmorag Hotel
#10 of 11 in Dunoon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 437 reviews
2.5 mi away
Esplanade Hotel
Esplanade Hotel
#3 of 11 in Dunoon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 628 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Anchorage B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Anchorage B&B

Property: The Anchorage B&B
Address: The Anchorage Shore Road | Sandbank, Dunoon PA23 8QG, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Cowal Peninsula > Dunoon
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Dunoon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming detached Victorian house on the shores of the Holy Loch Argyll. 4 Refurbished en-suite rooms all with flat screen TV and tea/coffee making facilities. Ideal base for touring the Scottish National Park. Boat and engine available (weather permitting) for the sole use of our guests. Warm welcome assured. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Anchorage B&B Dunoon, Argyll And Bute

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing