We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“thanks again james for looking after us so well!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dhailling Lodge Guest House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dunoon
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Dhailling Lodge Guest House
Ranked #9 of 19 Dunoon B&B and Inns
stranraer
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“thanks again james for looking after us so well!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2012

this is our 3rd year staying at the dhailling lodge and we had a lovely time as usual! being disabledi normally i have problems,but not here,from a ramp to get in and alift to our room and JAMES always has a stool ready for my feet! we had our wedding anniversary there and JAMES made it alovely day! THANK YOU JAMES! FROM JOAN AND JOHN

Room Tip: front bedrooms have a lovely seaview
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joan m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    40
    11
    1
    2
    0
See reviews for
8
21
8
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Irvinestown, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2011

I've stayed in a few B & B 's in Dunoon in the same price range and this is definately the best so far. I haven't bothered to write reviews for the others as the negative comments were already posted. The Dhailling overall was just that bit nicer all round and the Patrons went that extra mile to make me feel that nothing was too much trouble. This will definately be my accomodation of choice from now on!
Thumbs up!

Room Tip: sea views are stunning
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Eleanor W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harlow
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2011

A five day stay in a very clean and tidy room with all facilities. James was an excellent host and very attentive to all our needs. Would have no hesitation in recommending the Lodge for easy access, superb facilities and convivial hospitality.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BruceKelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brecon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2011

Wheelchair friendly access to lodge and roomy lift (better than many hotels) to bedroom. James goes the extra mile as far as customer service goes and took our luggage to the bedroom as well as greeting us with a great welcome. The bedroom is large enough to manoeuvre the wheelchair and the adapted bathroom has grab handles in the correct positions, a shower which gives the option to transfer from wheelchair to shower seat with everything one needs at arm's length.
The proprietor has already thought of many things that make guest's who have wheelchairs easy to gain access to all the facilities including the dining room and this is probably the best accommodation we have found since I became paraplegic.
Particularly impressive is the cleanliness of the whole house and there are many examples of the acute attention to details that are often forgotten by many of the best hotels. We plan to return in the near future.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Catherine T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2011

Arrived quite late but were made very welcome. Beautiful room, very clean and comfortable. Excellent breakfast. Will be back.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tourist186470
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2011

Stayed here for 11 weeks during my premier package at the professional diving academy and couldnt find 1 thing whong with the place.

Rooms are clean and tidy
Rooms are well equiped
Food is good with a good variety
Serviced is excellent
Excellent service to divers with changes been easily made to suit your needs and any diving commitments at the PDA

I've spoke to alot of other PDA students and i will admit there are cheaper places to stay however after about a month people realise that the standards just aren't up to par and wish they'd looked around before choosing the cheapest on the list.

Overall a very relaxed atmosphere and friendly service makes the time fly by and i would definately stay here again in the future if i was ever in dunoon or at the Professional Diving Academy

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Conor1592
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
546 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 239 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2011

The host was very friendly and helpful which was definitely the high point of this hotel, but the building itself is very dated and the town has little to offer. It was clean and tidy, but dated decor with wallpaper in the room, lurid pink towels in the small bathroom and and ornate mirror on the dressing table. On the plus side, we had great views across the firth from our bedroom at the front of the house.

It seems to cater for an older clientelle, we're middle aged and seemed to be the youngest there. The bedding was sheets rather than a duvet and I've certainly never come across an electric blanket in a hotel before! The complimentary buscuits in the room were not replenished on the second day.

Breakfast choice was decent enough with some unusual dishes in addition to the usual sausage and bacon such as Muffin with Poached Egg and Cheese or Pancakes with Honey, Nuts and Yoghurt. The fruit selection was just tinned peaches or pineapple though which was dissapointing.

There was a charge for wifi access which really annoys me. Only a pound, but it's the principle.

Room Tip: The best views are from the front
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Blackth0rn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dunoon hotels
1.1 mi away
The Park Hotel
The Park Hotel
#5 of 11 in Dunoon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
0.5 mi away
Argyll Hotel
Argyll Hotel
#1 of 11 in Dunoon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 921 reviews
1.2 mi away
Abbot's Brae Hotel
Abbot's Brae Hotel
#2 of 11 in Dunoon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Esplanade Hotel
Esplanade Hotel
#3 of 11 in Dunoon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 628 reviews
0.8 mi away
Selborne Hotel
Selborne Hotel
#6 of 11 in Dunoon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
0.7 mi away
St. Ives Hotel
St. Ives Hotel
#7 of 11 in Dunoon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dhailling Lodge Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dhailling Lodge Guest House

Property: Dhailling Lodge Guest House
Address: 155 Alexandra Parade, Dunoon PA23 8AW, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Cowal Peninsula > Dunoon
Amenities:
Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Dunoon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
Dhailling Lodge Guest House Dunoon, Argyll And Bute

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing