We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very nice stay!”
Review of St. Ives Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
St. Ives Hotel
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Dunoon
Certificate of Excellence
Jyvaskyla, Finland
1 review
“very nice stay!”
Reviewed 5 August 2011

Staff was very helpful, rooms decorated with good taste and nice views. Very "coastal" feeling, when you hear the waves in the evening to your room. Would go back!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Miettinen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    57
    28
    4
    4
    1
See reviews for
23
48
4
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed 31 July 2011

We are just back from a wonderful, sunny (who needs the costa's when you get weather like this in Scotland!) few days in Dunoon. We stayed at the St Ives Hotel as we have before. There have been a few changes. The two rooms had been newly decorated and could have Been in any boutique hotel with the smart black and White theme and the room with the sea view had a wonderful oriental feel to it.
Sandra and Matt were as welcoming as ever and couldn't do enough for us and our family.
We even had a dip in the clyde!
We have a very fussy eater amongst our party and Sandra couldn't do enough to accommodate their dietary needs.
As always a lovely, restful few days at the St Ives. Will be back again soon.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Blooms26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitby, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 28 April 2011

stayed at the St ives for two nights whilst in Dunoon for a wedding. Lovely welcome from Sandra , great breakfast, amazing views we had a room with sea view which was stunning. A few minutes walk to the main shopping area and just a few minutes from the ferry. Would definately stay here again .
Many Thanks.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alain052
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Renfrew, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2010

We spent a couple of nights here for September Weekend and what a great wee place. The sea view was great - you look right down the Clyde to the Cumbraes, Bute and Arran. At first I thought we didn't have en-suite facilities until I discovered that what I thought were two cupboards were them! Ingenious. Very pleasant hosts too.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scott F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2010

Just back from another excellent weekend at the St Ives in Dunoon. Sandra and Matt are great hosts and it is a pleasure to stay somewhere where not only you are made to feel very welcome but your dogs are too. This is one of the things that bring us back here time after time.

Our room was (as always) spotless, warm and cosy. Some of the rooms have been recently done up and are lovely. While we faced the back, the views from the breakfast room and lounge are fabulous. Breakfast is excellent and freshly made. The bacon
I had certainly wasn't salty and my husbands poached eggs were just perfect. And you can help yourself to as much juice etc as you like.

With perfect access to the beach our dogs had a wonderful time too. And because of perfect access to the Hotel next doors beer garden we had a wonderful time too!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Willow29Glasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwickshire
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 June 2010

For my wife and myself this was our first stay in Dunoon. The stay was made more enjoyable thanks to the hospitality of the propritors (Sandra and Matt) who made us very welcome and catered to our every need. They were very informative and helpful when pointing out the various places of interest to visit during our stay.
Added to this the they provided an excellent, varied and well presented menu for both breakfast and evening meal which we would highly recommend and was excellent value..
Pam and Colin Warwickshire June 2010
P.S The fresh Kippers were excellent and the Bacon was not salty.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Johnsmith17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntington Beach
Level Contributor
77 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2009

I really wish the weather had been better this past July as the hotel sits right on the water and the room had a wonderful view of the strand and the bay. The hotel was very easy to find. Once I came upon the city center, there were signs directing. Unlike a lot of the UK B&Bs I have stayed in, the bathroom was very plush. The bath seemed to have been added to the room with the layout of the room in mind and not merely a quick add-on. A very nice flat screen TV is provided for that little bit of relaxation in front of the tele before bedtime.

Although they have a decent internet presence, the owner stated most of their clients are repeat customers. Of which I have no doubt. For us, the night in Dunoon was our one chance to visit. But if ever I was to go back, I wouldn't hesitate to book the St. Ives.

I never saw the husband, although apparently he moved my vehicle a couple of times. The wife is very friendly and helpful. She called us a cab as it was in the middle of a torrential downpour and recommended a wonderful restaurant - The Bombay (some of the best Indian food I have eaten in Great Britain). It appears the hotel is licensed but I had no occasion to have a drink on premises.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HBSponger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dunoon hotels
0.3 mi away
Argyll Hotel
Argyll Hotel
#1 of 11 in Dunoon
951 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Park Hotel
The Park Hotel
#3 of 11 in Dunoon
184 reviews
0.1 mi away
Esplanade Hotel
Esplanade Hotel
#5 of 11 in Dunoon
646 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Hunters Quay Hotel
Hunters Quay Hotel
#6 of 11 in Dunoon
239 reviews
0.5 mi away
Abbot's Brae Hotel
Abbot's Brae Hotel
#2 of 11 in Dunoon
450 reviews
1.9 mi away
Royal Marine
Royal Marine
#9 of 11 in Dunoon
248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. Ives Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Ives Hotel

Property: St. Ives Hotel
Address: 58 Victoria Parade, Dunoon PA23 7HU, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Cowal Peninsula > Dunoon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Dunoon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — St. Ives Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your St. Ives Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St. Ives Hotel Dunoon, Argyll And Bute

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing