We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good hotel”
Review of St. Ives Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
St. Ives Hotel
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Dunoon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 May 2013

Very friendly reception from owners Sandra & Matt. The view from the hotel is to die for, especially
as seen from the upstairs lounge. the room I had was spotless and the E-Suite bathroom was always very clean and neat.
If you like a good hearty breakfast, this is the place to stay. Nothing is ever to much trouble, if you don't fancy a fryup for breakfast, there are alternatives you can choose. There are parking spaces in front of the hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ken R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (102)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

60 - 66 of 102 reviews

Reviewed 26 April 2013

A little tricky to find but on a nice spot on the water. Landlady was very friendly and helpful and gave suggestions for restaurants etc. Room was nice and comfortable and breakfast was delicious. Would definitely recommend this B&B as a good stopover in Dunoon. Only comment was that wifi was really slow.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WeeLuv2Travel2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2013

Sandra and Matt couldn't have been more helpful on our January trip for a family funeral. We arrived in the dark after a 400 mile drive and were given a warm welcome. Sandra suggested The Braes as a good place to eat and it was - twice!
The hotel was lovely and warm, the room nicely decorated and the bed comfy. The lounge is gorgeous with a high ceiling and views over the Clyde.
Breakfast was delicious and beautifully cooked and Sandra made up a flask for our return journey. We were able to come and go during the day to get changed and Matt even lent my husband some cufflinks!!
When we left the weather was deteriorating but Sandra gave us useful travel advice. We would definitely stay at the St Ives again (but would prefer not to be in January!)

Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank Janet G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2012

We booked a superior room , what climb to the top floor, need a rest when you get there.Great view from the room , only downside was that the tv is too small for the size of room. The step into the toilet is a bit high (no handrail) maybe 2 steps would be better????????? Also kettle is under the tv.Good breakfast. BAR CLOSED. Owner very knowledgeable of local area.

Room Tip: If you like climbing stairs book a superior sea view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JAMBOTAF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2012 via mobile

My husband and I recently spent the weekend at St Ives and had a lovely stay. Sandra the owner, was fantastic at recommending places to eat and visit, and couldn't have been more helpful. We were early and arrived before the check in time, this wasn't a problem, we were handed our room keys immediately. The room was decorated tastefully and had all the items you would need and expect. This is a lovely little hotel that fulfilled everything we were looking for. We would definitely return here next time we visit Dunoon.

Thanks for your hospitality!

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Popster15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2012

I have just been looking at previous reviews for the St Ives Hotel as we are planning ANOTHER trip there and it really really annoys me to see the scathing reports put by people who do not realise the consequences of their nonsense that they write. We have stayed with Matt & Sandra on a numerous of occassions during the high season and the low season. On EVERY occassion, both have made us so welcome. The rooms are clean and tidy, the food is lovely and the choice that you get is out standing. How many small hotels give you options of 4 cereals, fruit, yoghurts, full cooked breakfast, kippers, porridge. NOTHING is too much trouble. Sandra has a wealth of knowledge on the area as she should seeing as they have run the ST IVES for nearly 30years. It is a Victorian building so if you want your boutique hotels, go and find one and pay their over inflated prices. The St Ives is good value for money, you get a wonderful welcome and lovely setting, cant wait to go again!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gogotrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2012

I booked this hotel after reading all of the reviews and was not disappointed! We arrived early to be greeted by the lovely owner Sandra who was kind enought to let us leave our bags so we could start our day. She was very helpful in recommending restaurants and local trasportation. Rooms are clean and location is excellent. We had a wonderful Scottish breakfast at a table overlooking the water. We felt more like a guest in Sandra's home than a hotel guest. If you are looking for an ultra modern hotel with no charm, than this is not for you. If you want a great place with character and traditional local decor, than you have found it in the St. Ives hotel. We will be back!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michelle-USA123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dunoon hotels
0.4 mi away
The Park Hotel
The Park Hotel
#5 of 11 in Dunoon
203 reviews
0.3 mi away
Argyll Hotel
Argyll Hotel
#2 of 11 in Dunoon
991 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hunters Quay Hotel
Hunters Quay Hotel
#1 of 11 in Dunoon
270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Esplanade Hotel
Esplanade Hotel
#3 of 11 in Dunoon
716 reviews
0.2 mi away
Selborne Hotel
Selborne Hotel
#8 of 11 in Dunoon
193 reviews
1.9 mi away
Royal Marine
Royal Marine
#9 of 11 in Dunoon
289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. Ives Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Ives Hotel

Address: 58 Victoria Parade, Dunoon PA23 7HU, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Cowal Peninsula > Dunoon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Dunoon
Price Range: £65 - £98 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — St. Ives Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Guests are assured of a warm and friendly welcome from Jon and Katia in this beautiful dog-friendly Victorian Hotel. We are situated on the traffic free West Bay with breathtaking views of the Firth of Clyde, yet only minutes from the town centre. Whether your interests are water sports, fishing, bowling, walking, golf, cycling, quadbiking or just relaxing, the Cowal Peninsula has it all. We offer hearty Scottish and continental breakfasts, snacks and evening meals. Our cosy lounge with spectacular views is ideal for unwinding with a wee drink or two. We provide travel cots with sheets and blankets, high chairs, kids' plates and cutlery. Kids' meals including baby food are available to pre-order. Our tastefully decorated rooms are en-suite or with private facilities, all with free fast wifi, comfy beds, TV, hair dryer, fluffy towels, slippers, toiletries and tea, coffee and biscuits. For the guests' convenience there is a free private car park at the front of the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your St. Ives Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St. Ives Hotel Dunoon, Argyll And Bute

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing