We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“More than satisfied”
Review of Abbot's Brae Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Abbot's Brae Hotel
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Dunoon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 June 2011

We returned yet again for another splendid, relaxing weekend. Very friendly warm welcome, great accomodation, excellent food and service in a relaxing picturesque setting. For all of the above reasons we have no hesitation in recommending this hotel and hope to return again.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank satiisfied
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (453)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

322 - 328 of 453 reviews

Reviewed 12 June 2011

This was a small family wedding and so we had the hotel to ourselves for the weekend. We were made to feel completely at home by Colin and Christine, who went out of their way to make our stay comfortable and memorable. - nothing was too much trouble for them. The hotel itself is beautiful and the views spectacular. We also enjoyed walks in the surrounding woodland. The food throughout our stay was outstanding. None of us wanted to leave!

Thank you Colin and Christine (and your attentive, friendly and efficient staff) for making this such a wonderful experience.

Joan (aunt of the bride)

Room Tip: Room with a view of Clyde
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank suzywong072
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2011

Have just returned from a 10 day tour of the west coast of Scotland and without a doubt this hotel was the highlight of our holiday. Colin and Christine are so welcoming and make you feel so at home that when you leave you feel you are losing a friend. The food is wonderful. the rooms spacious and comfortable and the view over the Firth of Clyde is to die for. We hope to be back next year but staying for longer!

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank snowdrop12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2011

Colin and Christine were the perfect hosts and the food was to die for.A perfect hotel and a most relaxing holiday. We certainly hope to return in the near future and we will spread the word. Everything was perfect even Jinty the Springer Spanial made us welcome. Once again thanks.

Room Tip: We chose the Glendaruel room because of its view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Val0424
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mac4col, Owner at Abbot's Brae Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2011

Many thanks for the feedback - appreciated! It was good to meet you and we do hope to see you again in the not too distant future!

Kind Regards

Colin & Christine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2011

From our arrival to departure the whole experience was exceptional, The Abbots Brae offered a super level of accomodation, first class menu and food, made all the better by Colin and Christine as our hosts.
We had a truely memorable wedding day and weekend that was shared with our extended family, and was everything we had dreamed of and more.
Mike and Karen Sims

Room Tip: Sea facing rooms have stunning veiws.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MIKAS01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mac4col, Owner at Abbot's Brae Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2011

Thanks for letting us be part of your weekend - we realy enjoyed meeting all of your family and playing a part in bringing your plans to fruition.

Here's to many happy years ahead and we look forward to seeing you again on your anniversarries - or some of them anyway!

Kind Regards - Colin & Christine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2011

We spent a great Easter weekend at the Abbots Brae with our 2 girls (aged 7 & 11). We took the Colintraive & Glendaruel rooms which work perfectly as a family suite, very comfortable, plenty of space and wonderful views of the Firth of Clyde from Glendaruel. Our daughters were made to feel at home from the moment we arrived, many games & toys were thoughtfully provided for them to use throughout our stay, and Christine & Colin made a real fuss of them. Colin's food is fabulous & the hotel is the perfect base from which to explore the breathtaking countryside surrounding Dunoon. A great place for a family break with children where we were treated as valued guests & not an inconvenience!

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ColourfulBrowns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2011

Christine and Colin are the perfect hosts. Nothing is a bother to them. The food was absolutely wonderful, better than most restaurants we've been to. We were lucky enough to be "billeted" in The Lamont Suite, which is huge and so comfortable. You could also get lost in the adjoining bathroom. It is quite obvious that a great deal of hard work and love has gone into making this hotel such a success. Each member of the Staff is nicer than the other. Only one tiny gripe....if you have a noisy family above you, you WILL hear them. Margaret and Bruce Fraser.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jock000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dunoon hotels
2.4 mi away
Hunters Quay Hotel
Hunters Quay Hotel
#1 of 11 in Dunoon
270 reviews
0.8 mi away
Argyll Hotel
Argyll Hotel
#2 of 11 in Dunoon
991 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Park Hotel
The Park Hotel
#5 of 11 in Dunoon
203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Esplanade Hotel
Esplanade Hotel
#3 of 11 in Dunoon
716 reviews
0.6 mi away
St. Ives Hotel
St. Ives Hotel
#7 of 11 in Dunoon
102 reviews
0.4 mi away
Selborne Hotel
Selborne Hotel
#8 of 11 in Dunoon
194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abbot's Brae Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abbot's Brae Hotel

Address: 55 Bullwood Road, Dunoon PA23 7QJ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Cowal Peninsula > Dunoon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Dunoon
#1 Business Hotel in Dunoon
Price Range: £95 - £98 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Abbot's Brae Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled high amongst established woodland with sensational views over the Firth of Clyde and surrounded by some of the most breathtaking scenery you will ever see. Abbot's Brae has earned for itself an enviable reputation as a luxurious home away from home, with good food, good wine and a well stocked bar you certainly wont be left wanting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Abbot's Brae Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abbots Brae Dunoon
Hotel Abbots Brae
Abbot's Brae Hotel Dunoon, Argyll And Bute

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing