We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A beautiful hideaway”
Review of Abbot's Brae Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Abbot's Brae Hotel
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Dunoon
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“A beautiful hideaway”
Reviewed 3 July 2011

We had a discreet runaway wedding and booked rooms for ourselves and our bridesmaid and bestman. Colin and Christine greeted us like old friends returning and made every effort to make our short stay special for us. Our seaview room was large, bright, spotlessly clean and furnished with understated elegance.
As noted by previous reveiwers, the food cooked by Colin is excellent: simple dishes but perfectly prepared and presented. The waiting staff were super and did their utmost to maintain an air of effortless but slick service. Nice light-hearted little touches like the sparklers in desert and the table dressing with glitter confetti really made us feel special. We'lll be back for the anniversary! Well done Colin and Christine.

Room Tip: Ask for a seaview - beautiful to wake up to
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mummyhorse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

450 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    389
    46
    10
    4
    1
See reviews for
77
255
18
28
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Lanarkshire
1 review
Reviewed 28 June 2011

This was our first stay at Abbots Brae and it definitely won't be our last. From the moment we arrived and throughout our stay we felt that Christine and Colin were so welcoming and friendly. We had a great room with fabulous views of the beautiful gardens and over the water. We loved watching the red squirrels come down the large pine tree to collect the monkey nuts from their feeder. The food was excellent (and the Molten Brown toiletries were just brill!). It is an ideal place for a short break or somewhere to use as a base to allow you to explore more of the stunning Argyllshire countryside.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stejan_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed 19 June 2011

The location is superb, overlooking Dunoon, with fantastic views of the harbour and beyond. The hotel itself is luxuriously appointed with a unique feel that reminds you it is not part of a larger chain. The hotel has wonderful gardens and the location is a good stepping-off point for the Trossachs and Argylle Forest. We had a family room overlooking the harbour and could not fault it. Colin and Christine were fabulous hosts and our dinner at the hotel was very special - a three course gourmet meal, home cooked, at a very reasonable price. Then after dinner drinks and coffee in the lounge room. The hotel is very child friendly, without losing its special feel. Plenty of toys and books to play with, plus an excellent playground 100 yards down the road. Not that we needed it, with the gardens. Our children were presented with little presents on departure; nothing grand, but it made them feel very important and was the perfect touch to end our stay. We have been travelling through Scotland for three months now and our stay at the Abbots Brae Hotel was an absolute highlight.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lensjags
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Campbeltown, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 16 June 2011

Abbot’s Brae lures you into total holiday relaxing mode; so don’t expect to get any work done. Unpretentious, welcoming, and very quiet. Rooms have everything you would expect from a 4 star establishment but without the unnecessary extras that most corporate hotels seem to think are essential – I don’t want a flat screen TV and loads of wardrobe space. Instead Abbot’s Brae concentrates on comfort and functionality. The bed was one of those rare ones where you fall asleep without thinking about anything except how comfy you are, and you stay asleep, a decent bathroom with a large tub and Molton Brown toiletries an unexpected treat. Free wifi (throughout including room on top floor) was much appreciated – bandwidth sufficient for BBC IPlayer etc. Essential to eat dinner here –no where else in Dunoon comes close. Three course meal quite pricey at £27 but worth it, local ingredients, straightforward dishes transformed into something special – I’m still salivating over the smoked salmon with rocket salad and chilli jam, 3 or 4 mains including fish, and I think a vegetarian option. I can recommend the duck which came as a robust ¼ - meltingly tender with the most gorgeous crispy skin (duck fat is definitely of the healthy variety) – no boring clinically sliced lean breast. Just about had room for a small slice of pear and almond tart- light and very yummy. Can’t comment on the wine list – jug of iced tap water (did not have to ask) did just the job. Decaf coffee best I’ve ever had – and, yes it was decaf, accompanied by mints ( and then later the chocs I found on the pillow). Full breakfast looked delicious but could only manage 2 perfectly light boiled eggs and several cups of strong but smooth coffee. If you have time amble around the huge and sprawling garden, go running along the esplanade, and do some hill work using the long and winding driveway. Finally good to see Fair Trade products used, and look out for the knitted afternoon tea. Thanks to Christine and Colin for a lovely interlude in the working week.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beavers09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 14 June 2011

We returned yet again for another splendid, relaxing weekend. Very friendly warm welcome, great accomodation, excellent food and service in a relaxing picturesque setting. For all of the above reasons we have no hesitation in recommending this hotel and hope to return again.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank satiisfied
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 12 June 2011

This was a small family wedding and so we had the hotel to ourselves for the weekend. We were made to feel completely at home by Colin and Christine, who went out of their way to make our stay comfortable and memorable. - nothing was too much trouble for them. The hotel itself is beautiful and the views spectacular. We also enjoyed walks in the surrounding woodland. The food throughout our stay was outstanding. None of us wanted to leave!

Thank you Colin and Christine (and your attentive, friendly and efficient staff) for making this such a wonderful experience.

Joan (aunt of the bride)

Room Tip: Room with a view of Clyde
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank suzywong072
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2011

Have just returned from a 10 day tour of the west coast of Scotland and without a doubt this hotel was the highlight of our holiday. Colin and Christine are so welcoming and make you feel so at home that when you leave you feel you are losing a friend. The food is wonderful. the rooms spacious and comfortable and the view over the Firth of Clyde is to die for. We hope to be back next year but staying for longer!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank snowdrop12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dunoon hotels
2.4 mi away
Hunters Quay Hotel
Hunters Quay Hotel
#4 of 11 in Dunoon
244 reviews
0.8 mi away
Argyll Hotel
Argyll Hotel
#1 of 11 in Dunoon
961 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Park Hotel
The Park Hotel
#3 of 11 in Dunoon
187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Esplanade Hotel
Esplanade Hotel
#6 of 11 in Dunoon
665 reviews
2.4 mi away
Royal Marine
Royal Marine
#9 of 11 in Dunoon
263 reviews
0.5 mi away
St. Ives Hotel
St. Ives Hotel
#8 of 11 in Dunoon
98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abbot's Brae Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abbot's Brae Hotel

Property: Abbot's Brae Hotel
Address: 55 Bullwood Road, Dunoon PA23 7QJ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Cowal Peninsula > Dunoon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Dunoon
#1 Business Hotel in Dunoon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Abbot's Brae Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled high amongst established woodland with sensational views over the Firth of Clyde and surrounded by some of the most breathtaking scenery you will ever see. Abbot's Brae has earned for itself an enviable reputation as a luxurious home away from home, with good food, good wine and a well stocked bar you certainly wont be left wanting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Priceline so you can book your Abbot's Brae Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abbots Brae Dunoon
Hotel Abbots Brae
Abbot's Brae Hotel Dunoon, Argyll And Bute

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing