We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Abbot's Brae Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Abbot's Brae Hotel
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Dunoon
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Wonderful stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2012

We had a two night stay here - a surprise for my partner's birthday. From the beginning with a very warm welcome from Colin, our stay was just perfect. I was so touched by the special attention my partner received on his birthday (our table was beautifully presented with "happy birthday" confetti). The waitress (Zoe) was absolutely wonderful, so cheerful and helpful, the best waitress we have experienced, ever! Food was great and Christine introduced herself to us and made our stay even more special. We wholeheartedly recommend Abbots Brae. We had such a great time. Thanks for the loan of the binoculars! Joan Wallace and Alan Ramsay x

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

446 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    387
    44
    10
    4
    1
See reviews for
77
252
18
28
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Berwickshire
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2012

We purchased a Living Social viucher for this hotel. The staff were realy friendly and the rooms lovely. The breakfast was realy good and presented with a smile and a chat. We had intended to park the car up and walk everywhere when we got to the hotel. This we did but the hotel is on a very steep hill and in the bad weather it was a bit of a nightmare going up this hill as it tended to be quite slippy. Our room was on the 3rd floor and by the time we had negotiated the hill and 3 flights of steep stairs we were puffed out. My husband is 74 and this was quite hard work for him. We did not eat our evening meal at the hotel as they only served 3 course meals which was too much for us. Also the price was quite steep but I suppose if you are not cooking for lots of people you need to make it pay and the food always smelled good.
We found a very reasonable Italian next to the Best Western Hotel we ate there both nights.

Room Tip: All rooms have garden or sea views
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lily49Berwickshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2012

Lovely room, great food and excellent service. Stunning location and views. Christine gave us some good advice about walks in the area - Puck's Glen was beautiful. We had a fantastic 1st anniversary and will definitely be returning to this hotel in the future.

Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank LKawmi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeenshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2012

Having received a Living Social voucher as a gift, my wife and I decided to take my Mum along to Abbot's Brae for a birthday treat, and were immediately glad that we did. We were made to feel most welcome by Colin and Christine as soon as we arrived; a welcome that was also extended to my mother's Jack Russell, who was provided with her own towel, blanket, bowl and biscuits!
The rooms were very clean and comfortable, Mum's overlooking the lovely rambling garden to the rear of the hotel, and our own with a bay window and sitting area affording spectacular views across the Firth of Clyde.
We were further impressed by the food on offer, I had two delicious evening meals, and my wife had the same delicious meal twice; she took a real shine to the salmon she had for her first dinner and was delighted that it was still available the following night! Breakfast was similarly tasty, with a good range of cooked options available in addition to cereals, yoghurt and dried fruit.
One thing to watch out for; the drive is very steep, but is well maintained, so don't rush it and you'll be fine. Don't be tempted by second gear; it isn't far to go in first! The payoff is the view - due to the steep approach, the rooms at the front overlook a beautiful woodland garden, with the river as a backdrop.
We'll definitely be back, and won't hesitate to recommend Abbot's Brae to our friends.

Room Tip: The rooms to the front of the building have the most spectacular views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Doug P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linlithgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2012

Very friendly welcome from Christine. Clean, quiet room with lovely Molton Brown shampoos etc.
Breakfast was delicious, and the view from the breakfast room is stunning.
Will visit again.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kilonewton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fleet, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2012

Booked this hotel after looking on Trip Advisor for assistance and it was everything we expected and more. We were booked in for a week and started our holiday in one of the smaller rooms overlooking the garden, this was divine but then we spotted a sea facing room. Christine and Colin made arrangements for us to have this room for a couple of nights, and also a second floor room for a couple of nights, and it was well worth the change. Much bigger with superb views makes it worth the extra cost.
Our hosts Colin and Christine are delightful people, who know the area well and offer the highest of standards in a small hotel. Christine is very knowledgable on places to visit and Colins daily breakfasts and evening meals are superb. The Chambermaids/ Waitresses are equally as delightful. Would definitely go again, and would highly recommend Abbots Brae.

Room Tip: Choose a sea facing room, definitely worth the extra cost
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharon T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clare
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2012

Re-vsited the area as it was our wedding anniversary , mine hosts Colin and Christine went out of their way to insure we had a good time. Clean, tidy room with fabulous views , very comfortable , food was excellant and home cooked and the wine list more than adequate . Very relaxing and the perfect getaway . If you want good old fashioned hospitality you must visit this hotel , you even have your own binoculars to help you take in the views ! We will return .

Room Tip: Get a room with a view .
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dunoon hotels
0.7 mi away
Argyll Hotel
Argyll Hotel
#1 of 11 in Dunoon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 933 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Park Hotel
The Park Hotel
#5 of 11 in Dunoon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 169 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hunters Quay Hotel
Hunters Quay Hotel
#7 of 11 in Dunoon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Esplanade Hotel
Esplanade Hotel
#3 of 11 in Dunoon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 631 reviews
0.4 mi away
Selborne Hotel
Selborne Hotel
#6 of 11 in Dunoon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
0.1 mi away
Glenmorag Hotel
Glenmorag Hotel
#10 of 11 in Dunoon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 445 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abbot's Brae Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abbot's Brae Hotel

Property: Abbot's Brae Hotel
Address: 55 Bullwood Road, Dunoon PA23 7QJ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Cowal Peninsula > Dunoon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Dunoon
#1 Business Hotel in Dunoon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Abbot's Brae Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled high amongst established woodland with sensational views over the Firth of Clyde and surrounded by some of the most breathtaking scenery you will ever see. Abbot's Brae has earned for itself an enviable reputation as a luxurious home away from home, with good food, good wine and a well stocked bar you certainly wont be left wanting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Agoda, Hotel.de, Priceline, Odigeo and HotelQuickly so you can book your Abbot's Brae Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abbots Brae Dunoon
Hotel Abbots Brae
Abbot's Brae Hotel Dunoon, Argyll And Bute

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing