We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another wonderful stay”
Review of Abbot's Brae Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Abbot's Brae Hotel
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Dunoon
Certificate of Excellence
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Another wonderful stay”
Reviewed 14 October 2012

This is a fabulous hotel with with fabulous hosts. Thanks once again to Colin and Christine for another wonderful stay. My wife and i are from Newcastle and first stayed at this hotel around 8 years ago for a short romantic break, we were so impressed with the standard of the accommodation and the warmth of our hosts, that, not only did we hold our wedding reception there but we have just returned from another wonderful stay to celebrate our 1st wedding anniversary, which was our 5th visit. The food, prepared by Colin, is ALWAYS outstanding and Christine is simply the perfect hostess creating a warm and relaxed atmosphere so you can sit back and enjoy your evening. The rooms are immaculate and spacious and the Molton Brown toiletries mean you can enjoy a little pamper during your stay. The views from the rooms are simply stunning and with hotel being set back from the road means that you can enjoy real peace and quiet. This place is so special to us, and I would defy anyone not to think the same after just one visit. You are guaranteed a genuinely warm welcome and a truly wonderful stay thanks to Colin and Christine and the rest of the Abbots Brae family.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

450 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    389
    46
    10
    4
    1
See reviews for
77
255
18
28
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
london
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights from 21st sept and had a lovely relaxing stay. We stayed in the Lamont room and it was a fantastic room with stunning views of the coast.Breakfast was fantastic and Dinner even better, all cooked by colin. The desserts were made by christine and these were also superb. Both colin and christine were great hosts with tips and advice for sightseeing while we were there.The hotel is up a steep drive so walking into the town was a no no but we knew this and were happy to relax in the lounge and just chill out.If we visit this part of scotland again we would not hestitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jonanden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inverkeithing
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2012

We have just returned from a 2 night stay at this wonderful small hotel. Everything about it is great, the views, the bedrooms, the breakfasts and dinners, wonderful, the wildlife running around you is also great.

The hospitality from Christine is something else, she is an amazing lady, she will find your needs and attend to them beyond what you may expect.

This area, when you return or come for a first time visit, you must stay here, it is special. We will return to this very special place always
.

It's tranquil and only a 15 minute walk to Ferry or town, if like my husband you cannot walk, only a £4 taxi fare.

Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank isobelmarley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort William, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 17 September 2012

Had a lovely time, felt very welcome. Food was good, room was lovely. Colin and Christine could not have been more helpful and obliging. Loved the extra touches, like the dog blanket and treats left in the room for our dog. Great view along the Loch. Thinking of booking for my parents some time soon.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Louise M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2012

We stayed for 6 nights. Excellent welcome. Nothing too much trouble. Breakfast and Dinner both excellent with good straight forward cooking. Good choice for Dinnner and happy to accommodate any special needs. Front seaview room was very spacious with sofa to sit and enjoy the glorious view. Staff were also happy and helpful. If we holiday in the area again the choice of hotel will be very easy!

Room Tip: Seaview room well worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Terry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2012

Fantastic hotel! Room was clean with lots of lovely little touches - chocolates for us and dog treats for our springer spaniel Willow. The hosts, Christine and Colin couldn't do enough for us. We got some great advice on days out and dog friendly walks which were great (apart from the Scottish weather!)

We ate in the hotel on our first night and the food was fantastic, as was the breakfast! Everyone was really attentive and made us feel very well looked after.

The hotel grounds are beautiful, great for getting out for Willow's morning leg stretch.

Can't recommend this hotel enough- especially if your taking your dog along on your holiday!
Dunoon was a great little base for exploring the Cowell peninsula!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Willowtails
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2012

My wife and I had the pleasure of staying at the Abbot's Brae Hotel from 7th-9th August. We arrived on a late morning ferry from Gourock and called to see if by any chance our room was ready at 11.00 a.m. It wasn't but our host Christine couldn't have been more helpful and took us through all the things we could do easily on our first 1/2 day, leaving us a with a very helpful map. First impressions were very good indeed.

When we came back from a lovely tour round by the Holy Loch, Loch Long and Loch Eck, Christine welcomed us more formally and showed us to the Lamont Room on the 3rd floor. This room has the most stunning views of the Firth of Clyde and with the weather set to be very good, we were treated to some lovely sights including nice sunrises and the paddle steamer Waverley. The room is very well appointed and has a 4 poster bed with a massive bathroom (It also has a view!) which is of a high standard with big fluffy towels and Molton Brown products provided.

Breakfast was brilliant with our favourites being the smoked salmon and eggs or the simply delicious Loch Fyne kippers. You could pick any part of the well thought out breakfast menu and you wouldn't be disappointed. Amazingly, Christine finds time to speak with all the guests at breakfast and often whizzes in and out of the dining room to give them helpful leaflets for their day out. There are other staff serving in the morning and evenings and they were always very pleasant.

We had dinner in the hotel one evening and again the food was of very high quality with several dishes to choose from which we didn't expect but it seems to be no problem for Colin who is an excellent chef. My wife is diabetic and she often has to pass on the sweet as there is no alternative. We asked if it was possible to have a cheese platter and you've guessed it, we were spoiled with several gorgeous cheeses which were beautifully arranged on the platter with garnish.

All in all, you feel as though you've been spoiled by Christine and Colin, which you have been, as nothing seems too much bother for them.

I would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel to anyone and it justly deserves its 5 star Trip Advisor status.

Finally, just a personal thank you to Christine and Colin for making our stay on Cowal so memorable. I can assure you we will be back in Dunoon at some point in the future and I know which hotel we will choose!

Room Tip: The hotel is in a very quiet location with lots of birds and even Red Squirrels to see in the mornin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cuillin999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dunoon hotels
2.4 mi away
Hunters Quay Hotel
Hunters Quay Hotel
#5 of 11 in Dunoon
245 reviews
0.8 mi away
Argyll Hotel
Argyll Hotel
#1 of 11 in Dunoon
962 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Park Hotel
The Park Hotel
#4 of 11 in Dunoon
187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Esplanade Hotel
Esplanade Hotel
#6 of 11 in Dunoon
667 reviews
2.4 mi away
Royal Marine
Royal Marine
#9 of 11 in Dunoon
263 reviews
0.5 mi away
St. Ives Hotel
St. Ives Hotel
#8 of 11 in Dunoon
98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abbot's Brae Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abbot's Brae Hotel

Property: Abbot's Brae Hotel
Address: 55 Bullwood Road, Dunoon PA23 7QJ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Cowal Peninsula > Dunoon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Dunoon
#1 Business Hotel in Dunoon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Abbot's Brae Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled high amongst established woodland with sensational views over the Firth of Clyde and surrounded by some of the most breathtaking scenery you will ever see. Abbot's Brae has earned for itself an enviable reputation as a luxurious home away from home, with good food, good wine and a well stocked bar you certainly wont be left wanting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Priceline so you can book your Abbot's Brae Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abbots Brae Dunoon
Hotel Abbots Brae
Abbot's Brae Hotel Dunoon, Argyll And Bute

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing