We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thoroughly pampered !”
Review of Abbot's Brae Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Abbot's Brae Hotel
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Dunoon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 October 2012

Fourteen of us (seven couples) booked Abbots Brae for an annual old school friends reunion, our first in Scotland. From the beginning we were made very welcome by Christine, Colin and their very friendly staff. Nothing was too much trouble, and our breakfasts and evening meals were outstanding, in quantity, quality and value. The wines we chose to accompany our dinners were excellent, and we enjoyed sampling the hotel's single malt collection. Our hosts helped us plan our daytime outings, and quickly found for us on the internet any information we needed. Our weekend was over all too quickly and we left having had the pleasurable experience of being very well cared for in a very comfortable hotel - in fact, thoroughly pampered !

Room Tip: All rooms are quiet and comfortable. Sea views across the Clyde estuary to the front, garden views t...
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Don B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (452)
There are newer reviews for Abbot's Brae Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

196 - 202 of 452 reviews

Reviewed 16 October 2012

Firstly I would like to say, the drive into the grounds of this property is wonderful! With twists and turns before opening out into a lush garden with a glimpse of a sweet retreat on top of the hill.

The welcome on arrival is nothing short of a home away from home, it was our first stay, yet we were made to feel like returning guests.

The room *booked last minute* was basic but perfectly clean and well stocked with tea, coffee, biscuits etc, and the bathroom was spacious with a good strong shower and plenty of hot water.

We used this as a base for two evenings, while out exploring the lochs and countryside up as far as Oban during the days.

The breakfast was first rate!! I can be so fussy with a full Scottish breakfast, but there was nothing to 'humm n haw' about, it was just right!!

If you fancy a break without any fuss or bother this is a great place to do it!

Room Tip: we had the Lachlan room *facing the gardens to the rear* Beautiful picturesque view (but a wrought I...
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicola Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2012

We booked our stay to include the date of our wedding anniversary. It wasn't a significant anniversary - just another one! From the moment we arrived we were impressed by the location, the views and the genuine warmth of the reception. This was followed by excellent food and good service. Colin and Christine certainly know how to be the perfect 'mine hosts' and they made our stay really enjoyable. The icing on the cake was the extra effort they made on the evening of our anniversary - they changed what was 'just another annivesary' into something special, and something we will not forget. An excellent break and we will definitely be returning!
Derek and Hazel.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Derek S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2012

Abbot's Brae is a small inn perched in a private setting on a steep hillside overlooking a narrow firth and within walking distance of the center of the nice little town of Dunoon. The inn is very attractive on the outside - a little less so in the interior but pleasant enough. Our room at the front of the inn had a great view of the water and neighboring peninsula. The best thing about the place were the hosts - Christine and Colin and their staff. They gave us some great advice about places to visit, served excellent breakfasts and dinner, and were fun to talk with. We met some very interesting folks while lounging in the library/sitting room before dinner.

Room Tip: Higher-up rooms facing the water generally provide the best views and are quietest.
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Streamborne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2012

This is a fabulous hotel with with fabulous hosts. Thanks once again to Colin and Christine for another wonderful stay. My wife and i are from Newcastle and first stayed at this hotel around 8 years ago for a short romantic break, we were so impressed with the standard of the accommodation and the warmth of our hosts, that, not only did we hold our wedding reception there but we have just returned from another wonderful stay to celebrate our 1st wedding anniversary, which was our 5th visit. The food, prepared by Colin, is ALWAYS outstanding and Christine is simply the perfect hostess creating a warm and relaxed atmosphere so you can sit back and enjoy your evening. The rooms are immaculate and spacious and the Molton Brown toiletries mean you can enjoy a little pamper during your stay. The views from the rooms are simply stunning and with hotel being set back from the road means that you can enjoy real peace and quiet. This place is so special to us, and I would defy anyone not to think the same after just one visit. You are guaranteed a genuinely warm welcome and a truly wonderful stay thanks to Colin and Christine and the rest of the Abbots Brae family.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights from 21st sept and had a lovely relaxing stay. We stayed in the Lamont room and it was a fantastic room with stunning views of the coast.Breakfast was fantastic and Dinner even better, all cooked by colin. The desserts were made by christine and these were also superb. Both colin and christine were great hosts with tips and advice for sightseeing while we were there.The hotel is up a steep drive so walking into the town was a no no but we knew this and were happy to relax in the lounge and just chill out.If we visit this part of scotland again we would not hestitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jonanden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2012

We have just returned from a 2 night stay at this wonderful small hotel. Everything about it is great, the views, the bedrooms, the breakfasts and dinners, wonderful, the wildlife running around you is also great.

The hospitality from Christine is something else, she is an amazing lady, she will find your needs and attend to them beyond what you may expect.

This area, when you return or come for a first time visit, you must stay here, it is special. We will return to this very special place always
.

It's tranquil and only a 15 minute walk to Ferry or town, if like my husband you cannot walk, only a £4 taxi fare.

Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank isobelmarley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dunoon hotels
2.4 mi away
Hunters Quay Hotel
Hunters Quay Hotel
#1 of 11 in Dunoon
269 reviews
0.8 mi away
Argyll Hotel
Argyll Hotel
#3 of 11 in Dunoon
986 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Park Hotel
The Park Hotel
#4 of 11 in Dunoon
197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Esplanade Hotel
Esplanade Hotel
#2 of 11 in Dunoon
702 reviews
0.4 mi away
Selborne Hotel
Selborne Hotel
#8 of 11 in Dunoon
192 reviews
2.4 mi away
Royal Marine
Royal Marine
#9 of 11 in Dunoon
277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abbot's Brae Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abbot's Brae Hotel

Address: 55 Bullwood Road, Dunoon PA23 7QJ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Cowal Peninsula > Dunoon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Dunoon
#1 Romantic Hotel in Dunoon
Price Range: £77 - £96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Abbot's Brae Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled high amongst established woodland with sensational views over the Firth of Clyde and surrounded by some of the most breathtaking scenery you will ever see. Abbot's Brae has earned for itself an enviable reputation as a luxurious home away from home, with good food, good wine and a well stocked bar you certainly wont be left wanting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Abbot's Brae Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abbots Brae Dunoon
Hotel Abbots Brae
Abbot's Brae Hotel Dunoon, Argyll And Bute

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing