We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Above and beyond”
Review of Abbot's Brae Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Abbot's Brae Hotel
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Dunoon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 June 2013

Colin and Christine went out of their way to be accommodating to us when we stayed in Dunoon unexpectedly for a few days. Even though they intended to shut for one of the days/nights they especially opened up to let my sister and I stay. The rooms are very comfortable and the breakfast is excellent!

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Carolyn1450
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mac4col, Owner at Abbot's Brae Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2013

Thanks very much for posting a review about your recent stay. We were very pleased to welcome you and will be delighted to see you here again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (453)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

156 - 162 of 453 reviews

Reviewed 28 June 2013

On arriving at Abbots Brae It was ,at first , a bit daunting in the drive to the top however this was balanced by the beautiful views , seclusion and tranquility of the house that was surrounded by beautiful gardens .
I was greeted by Colin who's friendless immediately made me feel at home . The house has a cosy feel to it and is tasteful decorated with views over the Clyde. My room was spotlessly clean , comfy and had all the necessary requirements of a 5 star , the bed was extremely comfortable and the Milton brown accessories in the bathroom was a bonus. I understand some guests commenting on the 'set' menu which I believe changes daily and having no choice but to have 3 courses for a set price but believe me it was worth every penny . The food was first class , home cooked fresh to order and ample portions . The sea bass I had was beautiful and the homemade salmon pâté was a treat . You can't expect food like this and pay peanuts ,if its cheap frozen pub grub you like then this is not for you .
The breakfast was fresh and as my mother would comment 'a lovely clean cooked breakfast ' which means not greasy with plenty variety and fresh juice on the table . The service from the staff at abbots brae was first class , all the girls were friendly , which I think is very important in a hotel , as it can make or break a place . Nothing was too much trouble for them and delivered the food with a smile . What a difference .

Looking forward to my visit next month on business again .

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view room if you are a tourist
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pink1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mac4col, Owner at Abbot's Brae Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2013

We are delighted that you find our hotel warm and friendly as that is exactly what we, and our staff, strive to be. It is lovely that you enjoyed our menu choice and breakfast. We look forward to seeing you on your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2013

I have never encountered a hotel like the Abbot's Brae before. We stayed for two nights and our room had what must be one of the best views in Scotland. The food was fantastic and the beds incredibly comfortable but these elements ended up being secondary to Christine and Colin's wonderful hospitality. This was the first time we had travelled with our baby daughter and they made absolutely sure that we all felt happy and at home. A perfect stay. Thank-you!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kirsten L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mac4col, Owner at Abbot's Brae Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2013

Many thanks for taking the time to post a review - always appreciated! It was great to see you all and we agree - stunning views! Looking forward to seeing you again, by which time little one will be walking..or even running!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2013

I booked 2 nights in this hotel for my husbands birthday. We could have upgraded to a sea view, but the garden view was amazing. On the first morning Jim look out to see a roe deer in the garden. We also had red squirrels, rabbits and many birds. There is also a walk through Fairy Glen which Jim did, a bit tricky but worth it he said. We had breakfast at the window overlooking the bird table, which was well stocked by Christine,and enjoyed watching many birds flocking to it. Colin and Christine were fantastic hosts and looked after us well. The staff were also very kind and friendly, they even sang happy birthday to Jim at breakfast. We did not have transport and the hill to the hotel is long and high but managable. We will definately be back.

Room Tip: If you like nature have a garden view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lizandjim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mac4col, Owner at Abbot's Brae Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2013

Yes, we're very fortunate to have lots of wildlife in our gardens- from rabbits to roe deer, swifts to red squirrels and the views from the garden rooms means you have a good chance of spotting some!

It was good to see you both - don't wait 'till the next birthday to return!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2013

We spent 2 nights at this super Hotel with fantastic hospitality from Colin and Christine. We upgraded our Groupon voucher and what a wise decision that was. Our second floor room looked out to the Clyde and the views were stunning. The room was large with good bathroom facilities, comfortable sofas to relax and enjoy the scenery. we ate in both nights and the food was delicious. The only problem was deciding what to have from a very well planned menu. Breakfast were again well planned and the smoked haddock with poached egg was a treat! Watching the red squirrels having their breakfast too was an added bonus.
This Hotel should be on everyone's list of places to stay but if too many people book then we wont be able to return!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mhomac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mac4col, Owner at Abbot's Brae Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2013

Thanks for the positive feedback! Pleased you enjoyed the views the wildlife and the food! We look forward to seeing you again in the not too distant future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2013

My wife and I stayed for 2 nights in the Abbots Brae Hotel during our recent tour of Scotland. This is a lovely old manor house on a hill overlooking the sea just outside of the town of Dunoon. The grounds are beautiful with giant 150+ year old Sequoia trees in the garden. The Ardentinny room had wonderful water views, comfortable bed, elegant linens and a large bathroom with bathtub. Christine and Colin were warm and helpful hosts. We ate dinner there both nights. The meals were prepared with fresh local ingredients and for the price were well above anything else we had experienced in Scotland. The highlight was the Loch Fyne salmon. Breakfasts were also outstanding, with a wide choice including kippers, smoked haddock, and a variant of a Scottish brose (porridge) spiked with whisky. This guest house was the most expensive of all the bed and breakfasts that we visited in Scotland, but in my opinion was worth every extra penny.

Room Tip: The Ardentinny room has excellent views of the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stuart K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mac4col, Owner at Abbot's Brae Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2013

We are delighted that you stayed here on your recent trip from New York. We are very glad that you liked the Ardentinny room and its wonderful views over the Clyde. It is very rewarding to know you think your stay was worth every penny you spent. Thank you very much for your lovely review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2013

We spent a lovely night at Abbots Brae. Our room was large, beautifully furnished and overlooked the water. We ate dinner there and enjoyed the food very much. However the best part of our visit was the hospitality shown us by Colin and Christine who did all they could to make our brief stay memorable. I would highly recommend this small hotel to anyone visiting the area.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Almrpm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mac4col, Owner at Abbot's Brae Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2013

What more could we wish for than guests enjoying our rooms, food and hospitality? if that is what we achieve then we have done our job well and we are delighted. In turn we get to meet very nice people like yourselves. Thank you for your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dunoon hotels
2.4 mi away
Hunters Quay Hotel
Hunters Quay Hotel
#4 of 11 in Dunoon
274 reviews
0.8 mi away
Argyll Hotel
Argyll Hotel
#1 of 11 in Dunoon
1,005 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Park Hotel
The Park Hotel
#5 of 11 in Dunoon
209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Royal Marine
Royal Marine
#9 of 11 in Dunoon
298 reviews
0.6 mi away
Esplanade Hotel
Esplanade Hotel
#2 of 11 in Dunoon
725 reviews
0.1 mi away
Glenmorag Hotel
Glenmorag Hotel
#10 of 11 in Dunoon
504 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abbot's Brae Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abbot's Brae Hotel

Address: 55 Bullwood Road, Dunoon PA23 7QJ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Cowal Peninsula > Dunoon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Dunoon
#1 Romantic Hotel in Dunoon
Price Range: £93 - £93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Abbot's Brae Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled high amongst established woodland with sensational views over the Firth of Clyde and surrounded by some of the most breathtaking scenery you will ever see. Abbot's Brae has earned for itself an enviable reputation as a luxurious home away from home, with good food, good wine and a well stocked bar you certainly wont be left wanting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Abbot's Brae Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abbots Brae Dunoon
Hotel Abbots Brae
Abbot's Brae Hotel Dunoon, Argyll And Bute

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing