We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Abbot's Brae
Nearby Hotels
US$107
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$92
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Argyll Hotel(Dunoon)
US$102
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$94
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$84
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Craigieburn Guest House(Dunoon)(Great Value!)
US$80
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$87
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$120
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$108
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Royal Marine(Dunoon)
US$80
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$110
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Pucks Rest(Dunoon)(Great Value!)
US$80
Booking.com
View Deal
Reviews (453)
Filter reviews
453 results
Traveller rating
392
46
10
4
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
392
46
10
4
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfirth of clydered squirrelsperfect hostsfriendly hostsdining roomfour posterlovely hotellovely roomhigh standardstunning viewslamontgrahamscotlanddrivewayensuiteweeferry
Filter
Updating list...
134 - 139 of 453 reviews
Reviewed 12 September 2013

Once again we had a really enjoyable week's stay with Christine & Colin. It was so relaxing with happy and helpful staff, Colin's superb cooking and Christine's attention to detail and help and guidance on trips. Both of them really care about their guests and go out of their way to make sure everything goes well. The room was large with a settee and chair from which to enjoy the delightful view of the Clyde and very comfortable bed. Everywhere is spotlessly clean and tidy. The menu is displayed in good time and they are only too happy to vary it to suit special needs. If only this hotel was nearer to where we live! But we do hope to return again.

Room Tip: Front facing rooms have the lovely view.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Terry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2013

We were a family of eight people, including two lively young boys. We occupied four rooms and apart from the mattresses being on the soft side we had no problems at all. The rooms were clean and the bathrooms well stocked with our favourite M and B toiletries. The food was excellent for both breakfast and dinner. Christine definitely went that extra mile for all her guests.

We hope to return next year.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the front. The views are breathtaking
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SueFirth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2013

There are some things that are said best kept secret and our small family had the good fortune to have fate smile upon us in revealing this delightful hotel run by the lovely couple Colin & Christine. And even though future bookings may be made more difficult for us, there are some things that should rightfully be shared...During our stay there were groups from all walks: overseas & UK families, quiet romantic couples and outward bound explorers alike. C&C and their charming team were always at hand to help, advise and discuss whatever breakfast ideas we had on how to spend our 5 days with them...whereever we wandered we were always glad at the end of the day to be returning to Abbots Brae. Thank you all, particularly from Seb & Rafe, who are now very keen to return and explore their Scottish Roots - on Quad Bikes!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stevenmcgill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2013

We stayed here for a weekend with our family and dog. It felt more like staying with friends as the welcome was so warm. Our grandchildren were wonderfully catered for and there were plenty of toys and books to keep them entertained. Our dog was supplied with a rug, doggy towel, bowl and treats. In my opinion there are few good places to eat in Dunoon but this hotel is an exception. The evening meal was superb - everyone of us enjoyed our choice and the breakfast could not be faulted. The only negative is the drive up if you meet someone going the other way! Anytime we need accommodation in this town it will be our first choice if there are any vacant rooms but everyone who stays there thinks the same so it books up very quickly. Colin and Christine have to be congratulated for the way they run this establishment - it would pay others to follow their excellent example and then more people may be happier to visit the area.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view if possible. The view is magnificent.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HarveypoppyLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2013

We've just spent three nights here and it was brilliant! Colin and Christine were the perfect hosts and nothing was too much trouble for them.
The room was spacious, well equipped and with a fantastic view over the sea.
The wildlife in the garden was amazing, red squirrels at the bird table, deer roaming in the gardens, wonderful!
The food was excellent at both breakfast and evening meal, all cooked by Colin using only the best local produce.
Colin and Christine took all the time in the world to advise on the best places to visit and had excellent local knowledge and all the staff were really pleasant and helpful.
Only the best was good enough for them, like staying at the best hotel but with the friendliness of a small B&B.
Thanks for a lovely stay to all of you!

Room Tip: All rooms are good but try to get a sea view, it's beautiful!
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrewartist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews