We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wedding Party”
Review of Abbot's Brae Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Abbot's Brae Hotel
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Dunoon
Certificate of Excellence
Uig, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wedding Party”
Reviewed 16 December 2013

A group of us took over the hotel for a weekend. Colin and Christine provided both accommodation and catering for my son's wedding, we had a wonderful time. Their hospitality ensured the wedding party had a celebration to remember for all the right reasons.

The location is stunning and we all enjoyed watching the red squirrels playing in the trees, the deer quietly grazing in the garden and the panoramic view was breathtaking. I actually witnessed the riptide coming in, a spectacular phenomenon and the conditions were just right.

If your thinking of having a small quiet family wedding then look no further. I'm so glad my son and his new bride chose to come to Dunoon, rather than the now commercialised conveyer belt of bridal parties, that is Gretna Green.

Room Tip: Bridal suite, or the one across from it, the rooms are huge and the views spectacular.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank abhainn-dearg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

451 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    390
    46
    10
    4
    1
See reviews for
77
256
18
28
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 22 October 2013

We enjoyed a really lovely overnight stay at the Abbot's Brae Hotel last weekend with our little spaniel Poppy. Our room was beautiful, very clean and comfortable. Poppy was thrilled to see a cosy blanket, food bowl and doggy biscuits waiting for her on arrival! Breakfast was delicious and we were lucky enough to get a window table where, in addition to the stunning views, we saw a red squirrel run past. Thank you Colin and Christine for a very enjoyable stay in your lovely hotel.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Caroline H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cirencester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 October 2013

We have just returned from a 4 night break at this lovely hotel Colin & Christine not only made us very welcome but also our westie who had his own comfy blanket and a good supply of biscuits throughout the stay.The food was excellent as was the service.Would thoroughly recommend a stay here especially if you like to take your four legged friend with you.

Steve & Angela.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stephen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mac4col, Owner at Abbot's Brae Hotel, responded to this review, 21 October 2013
Thank you very much for your lovely words. We loved having you both and Barclay to stay. We are so glad that you enjoyed your visit and your trip around the local area. We would be delighted to have you return to visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paphos
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2013

My wife and I, together with two friends from Cyprus, toured Scotland this autumn, and arrived in Dunoon towards the end of our visit. We stayed only a short time at the Abbot's Brae Hotel, but were all greatly impressed by the facilities and the welcome by the owners. Our rooms were first-class and large, with lovely views across the Clyde estuary. The food at dinner and breakfast was all excellent, and Colin and Christine accommodated the four of us and some old friends from Dunoon at dinner with consummate skill and warmth. Watching the red squirrels in the garden enhanced the whole experience. I can certainly recommend this hotel wholeheartedly to anyone travelling in the area.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank abfergus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mac4col, Owner at Abbot's Brae Hotel, responded to this review, 21 October 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review. It was very nice to welcome you and your friends to the Abbots Brae. We are very pleased that you found our rooms large and comfortable. We agree with you that the views across the Clyde are astounding. Thank you for coming to stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2013

Loved Abbot's Brae. The rooms are big and comfortable, lovely bathrooms and some of the best scenery you'll get. Watching the red squirrels collecting food and playing near the hotel was a real treat. Breakfast was brilliant, although I didn't have the cooked breakfast my cousin did and it looked yummy. I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone who is going to Dunoon.

Room Tip: They all seem pretty good but ask for ones facing the Clyde.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jude12-12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mac4col, Owner at Abbot's Brae Hotel, responded to this review, 21 October 2013
We are so pleased that your group enjoyed your visit and that you found our rooms big and comfortable. We are also pleased that you enjoyed your breakfasts. We take pride in freshly cooking every breakfast using the best produce. Thank you for saying you would recommend us as that is all we could wish for.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thornaby
1 review
Reviewed 14 October 2013

Stopped here in September on a one week tour of this region of Scotland, I personally cannot fault the place, loved the location and it was very friendly, and sitting outside with a drink watching red squirrels play on a tree feeder was a little bonus. I felt like I was staying with friends although it was the first time I had stayed there.

Room Tip: The front rooms overlook the Firth of Clyde.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Leslie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mac4col, Owner at Abbot's Brae Hotel, responded to this review, 21 October 2013
How very kind of you to say you felt as if you were staying with friends. That is exactly the feeling we intend to convey and so many of our guests do feel like friends. We are very fortunate to have a family of resident squirrels and they are entertaining little characters. We are glad they entertained you. Please come back again to stay as we love it when guests return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 14 October 2013

We arrieved to Abbot's Hotel on 5th of September for 2 nights with my husband and our little daughter.
The first surprise on our arriving was that owners of that hotel kindly provided us with fantastic superior big and see view room, which was excellent for us with baby who just started to walk and she needed space. The second impression was the food, which we had 2 nights for our dinner. It was very fresh, tasty and astounding!
Colin & Christine the owners of the hotel are very nice and kind people. They did everything for our comfortable stay in their hotel.
I definitely will visit this place again in the future!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Marina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mac4col, Owner at Abbot's Brae Hotel, responded to this review, 21 October 2013
Thank you for posting a review following your visit here. We are pleased that your family felt welcome here especially with your small daughter. We are glad you enjoyed our food. Thanks for saying you will visit us again. We will be delighted to see you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dunoon hotels
2.4 mi away
Hunters Quay Hotel
Hunters Quay Hotel
#1 of 11 in Dunoon
257 reviews
0.8 mi away
Argyll Hotel
Argyll Hotel
#2 of 11 in Dunoon
976 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Park Hotel
The Park Hotel
#4 of 11 in Dunoon
191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Esplanade Hotel
Esplanade Hotel
#5 of 11 in Dunoon
682 reviews
2.4 mi away
Royal Marine
Royal Marine
#9 of 11 in Dunoon
268 reviews
0.1 mi away
Glenmorag Hotel
Glenmorag Hotel
#10 of 11 in Dunoon
474 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abbot's Brae Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abbot's Brae Hotel

Property: Abbot's Brae Hotel
Address: 55 Bullwood Road, Dunoon PA23 7QJ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Cowal Peninsula > Dunoon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Dunoon
#1 Business Hotel in Dunoon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Abbot's Brae Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled high amongst established woodland with sensational views over the Firth of Clyde and surrounded by some of the most breathtaking scenery you will ever see. Abbot's Brae has earned for itself an enviable reputation as a luxurious home away from home, with good food, good wine and a well stocked bar you certainly wont be left wanting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Abbot's Brae Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abbots Brae Dunoon
Hotel Abbots Brae
Abbot's Brae Hotel Dunoon, Argyll And Bute

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing