We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Smashing Hotel 5 Stars” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Abbot's Brae Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Abbot's Brae Hotel
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Dunoon
Certificate of Excellence
Globetrotter UK
Level Contributor
51 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Smashing Hotel 5 Stars”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014

We stayed 3 nights with our dog in a king size room with seaview (I could have stayed all day just enjoying the vista from the bedroom window!) The room was spacious, very clean and quiet. We had dinner one night and the breakfasts were superb! Colin and Christine are very friendly and will make your stay extremely enjoyable. The hotel is tucked away in the trees on a steep hill with lots of wildlife, we liked watching the Red Squirrels. It was also a good base to visit the area - we enjoyed a nice day out to the Isle of Bute. Dunoon is a quaint seaside town (not as popular as it used to be in the last century which gives it its charm today). We had such an enjoyable stay and would definitely return. We would recommend Abbot's Brea Hotel to anyone. (We stayed in June, so take Mossie repellent if they bother you!!)

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DJRangoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

444 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    385
    44
    10
    4
    1
See reviews for
77
251
18
28
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

We stayed at the hotel for two nights after I won a radio competition. We didn't really know what to expect since this wasn't a planned trip but it was utterly fabulous!
The hotel is run by a couple called Colin and Christine who are genuinely happy to welcome guests and make sure your stay is perfect.
We were given the Lamont room which is like the honeymoon suite with its huge four poster bed and luxury bathroom.
The food was wonderful and we ate dinner sitting in the bay window watching the sun set. We were the only couple to eat that night and we felt like royalty! Colin cooked and Christine served us and the food was amazing, best scallops I've ever had!
After dinner we retired to the drawing room to have coffee and play chess. It was lovely to chat to Colin and Christine who made us feel at home. We bumped into her in the hall one night telling us that one of the other young couples who were staying had just got engaged. She was away to their room while they were out armed with fairy lights etc to decorate for them! So lovely!
The hotel is full of interesting things, the rooms are really well appointed and have great quality beds, decor and gorgeous bathrooms, not forgetting the molten brown toiletries!
We will definitely come back to stay at some point. Dunoon is a really cute place.

Room Tip: The best room is the Lamont.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Biddulph111111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland, UK
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2014

Lovely hotel, friendly and efficient staff and excellent food. Everything you need in a hotel with the plus of stunning views across the firth of Clyde. Bedroom was spacious and clean and dining room had a bay window table from which we watched birds and rabbits and red squirrel having their breakfast while we had ours.
We were greeted by the owners who carried the luggage into the room for us and made sure we were happy with the room.
The hospitality tray had every kind of tea available as well as coffee and hot chocolate and biscuits. Nice toiletries in the bathroom as well.
The only negative was the drive up to the hotel. Only one way and a bit dodgy if you met someone coming the other way, someone had to reverse.

Room Tip: We stayed on the ground floor which was roomy and quiet. Plenty storage space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sasScotland_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014

Beautiful grounds with lots of wildlife. We had a wonderful stay for our 1st wedding anniversary, very peaceful and friendly. The views over the sea are fantastic and the food was delicious. Thanks to Colin, Christine and the staff for a lovely time.

Room Tip: Ardentinny Room has beautiful views
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kerry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

Just back from spending two nights at abbots brae hotel. We had a lovely time. Colin and Christine welcoming hosts, rooms comfy,clean and cosy. Breakfasts offered lots of options and everything we had was delicious . We ate dinner on Sunday evening and from start to finish we were treated so well and special, it was a real treat! Food again was just wonderful! Highly recommend this hotel and hope to visit again.

Room Tip: Ask for river view but garden rooms are lovely too!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cmcl2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014

I booked a 3 night break but unfortunately was only able to stay one night. Even so I was really impressed with the cleanliness, friendliness and high standards. It's a lovely peaceful location too, up a private wooded drive but only 100m from the sea and a 10 minute leiurely walk into town. I'd definitely stay again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank karl0sfandang0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014 via mobile

Had a wonderful time in this hotel. We were given a free night in a choice of UK hotels from our car insurers as a reward for taking the policy, so glad we chose this place.
The hotel is situated up a slight hill (the hill up to the hotel is short and nowhere near the length described in some reviews) which provides excellent views of the clyde.
The room was clean, spacious and comfortable.
We didnt try any food here as we had planned to use the hotel as a base for exploring the surrounding area, although i actually wish we had as the menu was tempting.

Christine, our host and hotel owner, was fantastic. Very welcoming and attentive, even providing great tips on local walks etc.

The weather was not great whilst there but it didnt spoil our time, infact we spent most of the evening sitting at the window admiring the amazing view.

If you are planning to head to this part of Scotland, i would certainly recommend this place.

Thanks for a lovely stay :)

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Gav P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dunoon hotels
0.8 mi away
Argyll Hotel
Argyll Hotel
#1 of 11 in Dunoon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 921 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Park Hotel
The Park Hotel
#5 of 11 in Dunoon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hunters Quay Hotel
Hunters Quay Hotel
#8 of 11 in Dunoon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Esplanade Hotel
Esplanade Hotel
#3 of 11 in Dunoon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 628 reviews
0.1 mi away
Glenmorag Hotel
Glenmorag Hotel
#10 of 11 in Dunoon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 437 reviews
0.5 mi away
St. Ives Hotel
St. Ives Hotel
#7 of 11 in Dunoon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abbot's Brae Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abbot's Brae Hotel

Property: Abbot's Brae Hotel
Address: 55 Bullwood Road, Dunoon PA23 7QJ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Cowal Peninsula > Dunoon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Dunoon
#1 Romantic Hotel in Dunoon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Abbot's Brae Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled high amongst established woodland with sensational views over the Firth of Clyde and surrounded by some of the most breathtaking scenery you will ever see, Abbot's Brae has earned for itself an enviable reputation as a luxurious home away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotel.de, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Abbot's Brae Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abbots Brae Dunoon
Hotel Abbots Brae
Abbot's Brae Hotel Dunoon, Argyll And Bute

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing