We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“All a short stay should be.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Abbot's Brae Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Abbot's Brae Hotel
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Dunoon
Certificate of Excellence
chislehurst,kent
2 reviews
“All a short stay should be.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2009

Colin and Christine were the perfect hosts. The bonus was Colin can cook and cook well.
Try the fish dishes fresh eveyday and do not miss breakfast.

Good wine list and plenty of advice on where to visit in the area.

The other guests had visited before a good sign we thought.

Really recommend.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank spurs1946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

444 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    385
    44
    10
    4
    1
See reviews for
77
251
18
28
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
west lothian scotland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2009

I cannot say enough about this hotel. We have holidayed in Dunoon for many years and decided to get married there. After no availabilty at our first choice hotel, we booked this one and we are so glad we did. We took our whole family down for the weekend on an exclusive booking package. We stayed on the friday night and all got ready at the hotel on the saturday morning. We got married in the registry office in the beautiful castle house museum and then returned to the hotel for our reception meal.The food was great and service excellent. Colin and Christine are excellent hosts who do everything in their power to make your stay enjoyable. They were even accomodating when we asked to supply some of our own alcohol for the reception meal! I have since met Colin in the local suprmarket while on holiday and he was as friendly as ever. We are returning to the hotel in two weeks time for our first anniversary. Im so excited att he thought of the yummy food and the gorgeous honeymoon suite -the lamont room. All of my family want to return some day and we plan to visit for special occassions for years to come!

  • Stayed August 2008
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Duchess1684
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2009

We had this week at Abbots Brae to refresh the soul after a hard start to the year and we were not disappointed. From the minute we stepped in the hotel to the second we left it was perfect. The staff were there when ever required to give help, local information and service. This plus the area itself added up to a nothing but perfect stay. We even say a dolphin on the ferry home. We will be back.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jasper38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, Yorkshire,UK.
Level Contributor
37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2009

Having booked a four night stay at Abbot's Brae hotel for a quiet and relaxing midweek 4 day break, we not not left dissapointed, in fact it was faultless.

Both the host's Christine and Colin cannot be more accomodating, helpfull and friendly. They always have time for a chat, always have idea's with what to doif you are at a loss where to go / what to do.

We had no set plans other than a nice relaxing break, in the time we were there we drove the length and breath of the Cowal area. We took a day over to the Isle of Bute and visited the Mount Stuart Stately house and grounds ( not to be missed).

Dunoon is very quiet but everywhere on the drives and walks are beautiful scenic views awaiting you. Abbot's Brae is 5 mins drive south of Dunoon in its own lovely grounds, perched up high overlooking the firth of Clyde river and hillsides beyond. In fact we stayed in the 'Lamont' room. 1st floor king sized 4 poster bedroom, with equally sized shower and seperate bath, washroom. The view both evening and night are spectacular.

We dined in 3 of our 4 nights during our stay. The menu is changed daily and is such good value, especially after having sampled the food, which is 2nd to none. Again its cooked by Colin and Christine with total enthusiasm and a desire to make your stay one not only to remember, but to wish to repeat with them again in the future.

Perhaps the only downside is the midges, especially in June, I did not get attacked, but my wife did get the odd bite or three... but alas, Christine does have on hand some magic spray / cream to put on if you are going out after sundown. Although my wife, sadly didn't discover it till the 3rd night....

Something my wife and I will look forward to doing again in the future.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kevmulli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke-On-Trent
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2009

Our first trip to these parts, fantastic location! The welcome from Colin & Christine was wonderful. Our room was lovely and the food was brilliant. Thank you for a wonderful long weekend, we look forward to our next visit. Ant & Vickie

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank antbailey86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna
Level Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2009

If you are looking for a service oriented, family run, attention to detail country hotel in Dunoon then this should be your choice. After a mix up with our reservation we even got upgraded to the honeymoon suite (with great views) after spending one night in another lovely room on the ground floor. Attention to detail plays a vital role (I liked that the stem of the tomatoes for breakfast was cut out, that staff remembered about likes and dislikes.....). I am going to recommend this hotel to my friends and I hope to return at a later stage as well. Well done....

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ViennaHolidaychecker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mijas, Spain
Level Contributor
57 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2009

Colin & Christine made us feel at home within a minute of arriving. This is not a slick (or over priced) country house style hotel, instead you will be warmly and royally wecomed in to a homely house and the home and hearts of these delightful people. While Colin only claims to be an amature chef, his food was well up to proffessional standard. Lovely rooms and great views. Christine charmed us all and nothing was too much trouble.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dunoon hotels
0.8 mi away
Argyll Hotel
Argyll Hotel
#1 of 11 in Dunoon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 921 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Park Hotel
The Park Hotel
#5 of 11 in Dunoon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hunters Quay Hotel
Hunters Quay Hotel
#8 of 11 in Dunoon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Esplanade Hotel
Esplanade Hotel
#3 of 11 in Dunoon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 628 reviews
0.1 mi away
Glenmorag Hotel
Glenmorag Hotel
#10 of 11 in Dunoon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 437 reviews
0.5 mi away
St. Ives Hotel
St. Ives Hotel
#7 of 11 in Dunoon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abbot's Brae Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abbot's Brae Hotel

Property: Abbot's Brae Hotel
Address: 55 Bullwood Road, Dunoon PA23 7QJ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Cowal Peninsula > Dunoon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Dunoon
#1 Romantic Hotel in Dunoon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Abbot's Brae Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled high amongst established woodland with sensational views over the Firth of Clyde and surrounded by some of the most breathtaking scenery you will ever see, Abbot's Brae has earned for itself an enviable reputation as a luxurious home away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotel.de, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Abbot's Brae Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abbots Brae Dunoon
Hotel Abbots Brae
Abbot's Brae Hotel Dunoon, Argyll And Bute

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing