We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A really good hotel experience.”
Review of Abbot's Brae Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Abbot's Brae Hotel
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Dunoon
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“A really good hotel experience.”
Reviewed 4 October 2009

We only stayed one night but wish we had stayed for more. When we arrived we were greeted by the owners and when we left we were bid 'farewell' by the owners. Very nice people and totally commited to the job.

This is not a big fancy, over the top, high-tec hotel owned by some unknown group of shareholders. This is the quality home from home; a very tastefully decorated old house with a very nice dining area, lounge area and communal hallways and stairs.

Our room was perfect. Big - with nice leather chairs and a big comfy bed. It was a cold evening but the room was very cozy. Our en-suite was terrific and you could swing a cat in it - a big cat, if you were that way inclined. Best of all was the view. We saw ships and boats of every description sailing in the distance up the Clyde or into one of the nearby lochs. We watched the weather patterns over the hills. In the garden we watched wild birds flying through the beautiful wooded garden.

Best breakfast ever.

If you arecoming to Dunnon - stay here. Well worth it.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aladon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

450 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    389
    46
    10
    4
    1
See reviews for
77
255
18
28
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
York
1 review
Reviewed 6 September 2009

Having honeymooned in Dunoon we returned to celebrate our 40th wedding anniversary
and could not have chosen a better hotel for the occasion. We booked the Master Suite
and what a delight, exttremely comfortable with acres of space, superb views and a bathroom the size of most standard hotel rooms.

Christine and Colin were the perfect hosts and nothing was too much trouble. We are not regular hotel stayers as Alan has a food allergy and and it can be a nightmare eating in hotel restaurants, but Christine and Colin ensured that every evening Alan was able to have as much choice as everyone else and even cooked individual desserts just for him The food was of a high quality on every occasion. What more could you ask for, it was the icing on the cake and ensured our stay was first class.

On the day of our anniversary Christine made us feel very special all day and at dinner decorated our table to reflect the occasion.

The quality, hospitality and warmth from Christine, Colin and Becca (waitress) have left a lasting memory.

Margaret & Alan

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MargaretAlanYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
1 review
Reviewed 3 September 2009

I don't even know how to begin this review!

The hotel itself is beautiful, inside and out. Inside is very tastefully decorated, with gorgeous stained glass windows at the top of the staricase, as you walk in the front door. Outside, the grounds are very well maintained, with breathtaking scenery and beautiful grounds, visited regularly by local wildlife, including red squirrels and roe deer.

The rooms are excellent. (The ones with the sea views are especially stunning.) They're all very comfortable and spacious. (Again, especially those with the sea views, which are quite enormous.)

The food was amazing. Both cooked and presented beautifully. Servings were very generous and the more expensive ingredients weren't scimped on at all.

The hosts, Colin and Christine, as well as their staff, really made our stay for us. They were warm and welcoming from the word go and although you felt completely at home there (enough to wander about in bare feet!), there was no mistaking the four star luxury either. A perfect balance was struck.

We had hired the hotel out on an exclusive use package for our wedding and we couldn't have had a more perfect two days. There were so many little extras, such as welcome cards in our rooms on arrival, and Colin and Chirstine were extremely accommodating of our special circumstances, cooking a fourth main meal on the wedding day (instead of the usual three) to suit one of our party's unusual dietary requirements.

I really couldn't rate this hotel any more highly and am really looking forward to returning, perhaps to celebrate our first wedding anniversary.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shaunanigans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke-on-Trent, England
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2009

Picturesque setting with a nice friendly clean hotel and Colin and Christine could not be better hosts.

Evening meal was superb, if you're staying I recommend it!

p.s. if you fancy a tipple after t, make sure you turn left at the bottom of the drive or its a long walk back when you realise there's no pubs to the right...

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank abharsair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chislehurst,kent
2 reviews
Reviewed 13 August 2009

Colin and Christine were the perfect hosts. The bonus was Colin can cook and cook well.
Try the fish dishes fresh eveyday and do not miss breakfast.

Good wine list and plenty of advice on where to visit in the area.

The other guests had visited before a good sign we thought.

Really recommend.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank spurs1946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
west lothian scotland
1 review
Reviewed 5 August 2009

I cannot say enough about this hotel. We have holidayed in Dunoon for many years and decided to get married there. After no availabilty at our first choice hotel, we booked this one and we are so glad we did. We took our whole family down for the weekend on an exclusive booking package. We stayed on the friday night and all got ready at the hotel on the saturday morning. We got married in the registry office in the beautiful castle house museum and then returned to the hotel for our reception meal.The food was great and service excellent. Colin and Christine are excellent hosts who do everything in their power to make your stay enjoyable. They were even accomodating when we asked to supply some of our own alcohol for the reception meal! I have since met Colin in the local suprmarket while on holiday and he was as friendly as ever. We are returning to the hotel in two weeks time for our first anniversary. Im so excited att he thought of the yummy food and the gorgeous honeymoon suite -the lamont room. All of my family want to return some day and we plan to visit for special occassions for years to come!

  • Stayed August 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Duchess1684
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2009

We had this week at Abbots Brae to refresh the soul after a hard start to the year and we were not disappointed. From the minute we stepped in the hotel to the second we left it was perfect. The staff were there when ever required to give help, local information and service. This plus the area itself added up to a nothing but perfect stay. We even say a dolphin on the ferry home. We will be back.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jasper38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dunoon hotels
2.4 mi away
Hunters Quay Hotel
Hunters Quay Hotel
#4 of 11 in Dunoon
247 reviews
0.8 mi away
Argyll Hotel
Argyll Hotel
#2 of 11 in Dunoon
962 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Park Hotel
The Park Hotel
#3 of 11 in Dunoon
187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Esplanade Hotel
Esplanade Hotel
#6 of 11 in Dunoon
668 reviews
2.4 mi away
Royal Marine
Royal Marine
#9 of 11 in Dunoon
263 reviews
0.5 mi away
St. Ives Hotel
St. Ives Hotel
#8 of 11 in Dunoon
98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abbot's Brae Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abbot's Brae Hotel

Property: Abbot's Brae Hotel
Address: 55 Bullwood Road, Dunoon PA23 7QJ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Cowal Peninsula > Dunoon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Dunoon
#1 Romantic Hotel in Dunoon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Abbot's Brae Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled high amongst established woodland with sensational views over the Firth of Clyde and surrounded by some of the most breathtaking scenery you will ever see. Abbot's Brae has earned for itself an enviable reputation as a luxurious home away from home, with good food, good wine and a well stocked bar you certainly wont be left wanting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelQuickly and Priceline so you can book your Abbot's Brae Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abbots Brae Dunoon
Hotel Abbots Brae
Abbot's Brae Hotel Dunoon, Argyll And Bute

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing