We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Our best Christmas yet” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Abbot's Brae Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Abbot's Brae Hotel
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Dunoon
Certificate of Excellence
South Yorkshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Our best Christmas yet”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2010

Colin & Christine are really friendly and excellent cooks!!. This was our second stay and it will not be the last. Must have put on 4 kilos.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank amicas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

444 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    385
    44
    10
    4
    1
See reviews for
77
251
18
28
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
hawick
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2010

Colin and Christine could not have made our two night New Year break any better. They helped everybody relax and have fun and the food, both evenings, was just delicious. We played games in the lounge and watched a terrific firework display. The made us feel as if we were part of one big family.
The view from the hotel was outstanding and the hotel was very clean.
I would recommend this hotel to anyone wanting a warm and frienly break in beautiful surroundings.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HawickTeri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2009

What a lovely weekend. Colin and Christine are very welcoming and can't seem to do enough to make your stay a happy one. We stayed in the Lamont room - four poster bed, wonderful view from the bay window, huge bathroom with double ended bath, perfect for a romantic break. The food was excellent, good choice and great service. Would definitely recommend the Abbot's Brae and we hope to go back to experience more of Colin and Christine's wonderful hospitality.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsGEdinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hythe
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2009

The most freindly Hotel we have stayed in, clean comfortable, peaceful.
Greeted by Colin on arrival and shown around.

The food is exellent as is the most freindly atmospher.
We will be staying here again, would recommend to all as THE PLACE TO STAY.
Try it once Im sure you will return.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank broardsword
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Level Contributor
56 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2009

We only stayed one night but wish we had stayed for more. When we arrived we were greeted by the owners and when we left we were bid 'farewell' by the owners. Very nice people and totally commited to the job.

This is not a big fancy, over the top, high-tec hotel owned by some unknown group of shareholders. This is the quality home from home; a very tastefully decorated old house with a very nice dining area, lounge area and communal hallways and stairs.

Our room was perfect. Big - with nice leather chairs and a big comfy bed. It was a cold evening but the room was very cozy. Our en-suite was terrific and you could swing a cat in it - a big cat, if you were that way inclined. Best of all was the view. We saw ships and boats of every description sailing in the distance up the Clyde or into one of the nearby lochs. We watched the weather patterns over the hills. In the garden we watched wild birds flying through the beautiful wooded garden.

Best breakfast ever.

If you arecoming to Dunnon - stay here. Well worth it.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Aladon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2009

Having honeymooned in Dunoon we returned to celebrate our 40th wedding anniversary
and could not have chosen a better hotel for the occasion. We booked the Master Suite
and what a delight, exttremely comfortable with acres of space, superb views and a bathroom the size of most standard hotel rooms.

Christine and Colin were the perfect hosts and nothing was too much trouble. We are not regular hotel stayers as Alan has a food allergy and and it can be a nightmare eating in hotel restaurants, but Christine and Colin ensured that every evening Alan was able to have as much choice as everyone else and even cooked individual desserts just for him The food was of a high quality on every occasion. What more could you ask for, it was the icing on the cake and ensured our stay was first class.

On the day of our anniversary Christine made us feel very special all day and at dinner decorated our table to reflect the occasion.

The quality, hospitality and warmth from Christine, Colin and Becca (waitress) have left a lasting memory.

Margaret & Alan

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MargaretAlanYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2009

I don't even know how to begin this review!

The hotel itself is beautiful, inside and out. Inside is very tastefully decorated, with gorgeous stained glass windows at the top of the staricase, as you walk in the front door. Outside, the grounds are very well maintained, with breathtaking scenery and beautiful grounds, visited regularly by local wildlife, including red squirrels and roe deer.

The rooms are excellent. (The ones with the sea views are especially stunning.) They're all very comfortable and spacious. (Again, especially those with the sea views, which are quite enormous.)

The food was amazing. Both cooked and presented beautifully. Servings were very generous and the more expensive ingredients weren't scimped on at all.

The hosts, Colin and Christine, as well as their staff, really made our stay for us. They were warm and welcoming from the word go and although you felt completely at home there (enough to wander about in bare feet!), there was no mistaking the four star luxury either. A perfect balance was struck.

We had hired the hotel out on an exclusive use package for our wedding and we couldn't have had a more perfect two days. There were so many little extras, such as welcome cards in our rooms on arrival, and Colin and Chirstine were extremely accommodating of our special circumstances, cooking a fourth main meal on the wedding day (instead of the usual three) to suit one of our party's unusual dietary requirements.

I really couldn't rate this hotel any more highly and am really looking forward to returning, perhaps to celebrate our first wedding anniversary.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shaunanigans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dunoon hotels
0.8 mi away
Argyll Hotel
Argyll Hotel
#1 of 11 in Dunoon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 921 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Park Hotel
The Park Hotel
#5 of 11 in Dunoon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hunters Quay Hotel
Hunters Quay Hotel
#8 of 11 in Dunoon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Esplanade Hotel
Esplanade Hotel
#3 of 11 in Dunoon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 628 reviews
0.1 mi away
Glenmorag Hotel
Glenmorag Hotel
#10 of 11 in Dunoon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 437 reviews
0.5 mi away
St. Ives Hotel
St. Ives Hotel
#7 of 11 in Dunoon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abbot's Brae Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abbot's Brae Hotel

Property: Abbot's Brae Hotel
Address: 55 Bullwood Road, Dunoon PA23 7QJ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Cowal Peninsula > Dunoon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Dunoon
#1 Romantic Hotel in Dunoon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Abbot's Brae Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled high amongst established woodland with sensational views over the Firth of Clyde and surrounded by some of the most breathtaking scenery you will ever see, Abbot's Brae has earned for itself an enviable reputation as a luxurious home away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotel.de, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Abbot's Brae Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abbots Brae Dunoon
Hotel Abbots Brae
Abbot's Brae Hotel Dunoon, Argyll And Bute

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing