We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Royal Marine
Ranked #9 of 11 Hotels in Dunoon
Reviewed 22 May 2013

Stayed here for one night and was warmly welcomed and checked in with minimum fuss. The room was light, very spacious and simply furnished with classic furniture. An electric convector heater was provided and already switched on which was rather nice. The bed was really comfortable and made for a great sleep, whilst the view out over the Holy Loch/Firth of Clyde was spectacular. However, the room was also in desperate need of refurbishment - secondary glazing over rotten window frames; worn furniture; chipped and discoloured paintwork. Very quickly, it becomes clear that actually the whole hotel is in need of major refurbishment; but that will truly amount to millions of pounds, rather than thousands. It is therefore really commendable that the owners can still keep the rooms very clean and make the stay comfortable.

I had my evening meal in Ghillies Bar, where the food was fresh, served piping hot, with tasty, generous portions and good value for money. Whilst the service was really friendly and efficient.

Breakfast was served in a wonderfully sunny room, overlooking the loch, and was generous, fresh and well cooked.

You may have gathered that I had a comfortable night's stay and liked the Royal Marine and the friendly staff who delivered really good service. However, don't expect it to be modern and pristine. It's just not that kind of place.

Room Tip: Overlooking the loch
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alistair W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (298)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

229 - 235 of 298 reviews

Reviewed 7 May 2013

Stayed in rooms over looking the port which was nice. Old fashioned furniture which was nice but in need of some restoration. Bed was comfortable. Tea & coffee making facilities BUT no biscuit or shortbread to go with it!!! En suite in need of upgrading in some rooms but water was hot!! Breakfast was average but piping hot. Staff were pleasant and attentive. Ghillies Bar meals were EXCELLENT! Location for ferry was second to none but 2.3miles walk into Dunoon. Taxi were affordable and drivers were pleasant and knowledgeable about where to eat and drink. Worth a visit but take a biscuit with you for your tea.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LanarkshireMolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2013

I come to ghillies on a regular basis and really enjoy the food there especially the adison bowl! There was a lovely waitor whom I never caught his name but was realy polite and helpful. We wernt to sure what to eat. We mentioned we like chilli and he suggested the adison bowl and I'm glad he did would highly recomened it. Great service.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank JackCaldwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2013

I've just spent four days at this hotel and found the service and food to be of excellent quality. The food portions were plentiful and always served at the right temperature and by a friendly and cheerful staff. The hotel itself is in sore need of a (very costly) revamp, but was still clean and warm, with a welcoming atmosphere. The decoration is starting to show its age and the window frames are in need of replacement, but I was still able to sleep in a warm room without interference from outside noises, etc. The view from the front of the hotel is superb, and being directly opposite Hunter's Quay Ferry Terminal it could not be more convenient for crossing the Clyde. The ferries now running at 20-minute intervals. Overall, a really relaxing break, with nothing being of too much trouble for the staff and management. I would like to give it 5* but it will only warrant that rating when all the necessary structural improvements are made.
Look beyond the superficial to get an enjoyable stay; but start nit-picking, and you won't!

Room Tip: Rooms at the back do not have much of a view as regards scenery - it is after all, the back yard. Th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Keith K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2013

Had a lovely quiet meal in Ghillies bar. Food was ok, very fast. The outside looks spectacular and is extremely close to the ferry but the inside needs a lot of work doing to it and quality of food has dropped.
Staff were very friendly and helpful especially a waitress called Helena. Definitely look to be served by her, she was so happy and cheerful and made everybody feel very welcome.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ScottishLass186534
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2013

Friendly, helpful and welcoming staff. Spacious room, but rather chilly and draughty on a wet and wild night. Hotel does need a revamp, but you get the impression that the staff are really doing their best coping with a rambling (and no doubt, costly) building. Sad, bet it was a really imposing and impressive place 'in its day'. Keep up the friendly welcome - it makes up for a lot!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank trip1reporter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2013

We have eaten here many times in the north wing of the Royal Marine Hotel and it has dropped in quality and value for money recently. The bar menu has not changed in about 20 years except for about 5 years ago when they took some items off, but that you can live with. However the portion sizes have shrunk and quality dropped. It used to be that you had to book or you could sometimes not get a table but we have not seen that happen recently. With luck management will read this and bring the old standards back (and maybe revamp the menu) so that tasty food is served and not (as one reviewer stated) blasted with a microwave. I agree staff are very friendly so all is not lost!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
2  Thank argylllassie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dunoon hotels
1.6 mi away
Argyll Hotel
Argyll Hotel
#1 of 11 in Dunoon
998 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Park Hotel
The Park Hotel
#5 of 11 in Dunoon
207 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hunters Quay Hotel
Hunters Quay Hotel
#2 of 11 in Dunoon
272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Esplanade Hotel
Esplanade Hotel
#3 of 11 in Dunoon
718 reviews
2.3 mi away
Glenmorag Hotel
Glenmorag Hotel
#10 of 11 in Dunoon
500 reviews
1.9 mi away
Selborne Hotel
Selborne Hotel
#8 of 11 in Dunoon
199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Marine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Marine

Address: Hunters Quay, Dunoon PA23 8HJ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Cowal Peninsula > Dunoon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Dunoon
#4 Business Hotel in Dunoon
Price Range: £41 - £50 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Marine 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Cancelon, Ebookers and Hotels.com so you can book your Royal Marine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Marine Hotel Dunoon
Royal Marine Dunoon, Argyll And Bute

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing