We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Royal Marine
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Argyll Hotel(Dunoon)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
The Osborne(Dunoon)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Abbot's Brae(Dunoon)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (308)
Filter reviews
308 results
Traveller rating
85
104
57
21
41
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
85
104
57
21
41
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslisted buildingstained glassferry terminalweekend staypleasant stayevening mealup to datelovely mealbit datedseen better daysstayed nightsstaff were lovelycouldn't do enoughsea viewcowal peninsuladining roommy mum
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
223 - 228 of 308 reviews
Reviewed 17 September 2013 via mobile

Rooms are very dated although we found them very clean. Tv and free view box very dated and controller did not work. The room was warm and quite and a good night sleep was had. Breakfast was good with a good choice, service was very good and overall good value for £58.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paul k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2013

We initially booked a 4 night stay at this hotel we did so after viewing the pictures on the website, how disappointed we where on arrival from the front we could see that ivy had practically overgrown the front of the hotel. We booked a superior room (Skye) when we got to the room it was really dark as the ivy had partially grown over the window the furniture was old and the bathroom was disgusting we only had a shower it was rotten with mould all around the seal on the shower tray also on the glass shower cubicle (I would not use it) the hand basin was also dirty I had to clean it I went to switch the bedside light on that was very dusty. Their was also a cup stain on the dressing table, the paint was peeling off the radiator and the windows where dirty. The television in the room was very small and old. We went to Ghillies bar for some food that was fine and breakfast was ok. We spoke to one guest and he said they have made a good job at airbrushing over the web pictures at this hotel and I have to agree with him. On the plus side the staff was very helpful and polite needless to say we only stayed 1 night.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tony N Sharon P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2013

We stayed in a suite room at the front of the hotel which had a large but dated bathroom with bath and shower over. the room itself was furnished with old, classical furniture and the room whilst needing a lick of paint was quaint and clean. the large sleigh bed was nice. The only fault was the old fashioned very small tv which is not really acceptable in this day and age for a good hotel.The hotel looks really nice from the outside and on the inside has all the old original features but it could do with a bit of a facelift. Staff were excellent and could not be faulted. Breakfast very good indeed and you are allocated a table when you arrive at the hotel for the duration of your stay. The ghillies bar was good for a drink and the food we saw being served looked and smelled really good but we did not eat there.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Susan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2013

We just turned up off the ferry and the manager gave us a sea facing room on the top floor. The exterior looks superb but the interior, while old and original, needs some TLC. Our room was clean and had everything we needed although the TV was a bit small. The bed was very comfy. We ate in Ghillies bar, Not the best quality or selection of food but reasonably priced. Breakfast was perfect food wise. We were given a table number for breakfast when we checked in. When we came down our table, table10, wasn't set for breakfast so the waiter offered us table 2 by the window. Just as we sat down, the people who had been allocated table 2 arrived so we were moved to table 18. You guessed it, just as our bums hit the chair, the people for 18 arrived. Other than this our stay was fine. The hotel has a magnificent staircase with a very old looking stained glass window which while spectacular, needs a damn good clean. The staff on the whole were very good and are a credit to the hotel.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Scott W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2013

Stayed at this hotel for a 1 night stay found hotel to be weary and in major need of a refurb,when you come down from the 3 rd floor the window sills are filthy have not be cleaned for a good while very noticeable.
Ate dinner in Ghillie Bar meal nice the one thing I will say about this hotel is the staff, very very good and work in what is difficult circumstances in my opinion, garden at entrance very tired looking.
In our room we had a power problem with sockets and light ( didn't work) this was reported at the end of our stay so maybe this is sorted, shower was hot and worked well, room are tired looking and still have the old key style lock, hotel has no lift, all in all I cannot recommend this hotel in its current condition I hope this is helpful to someone

Room Tip: No comments as I only saw my own room but if you have a walking difficulty the top floor is not for you as previously stated the hotel has no lift
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carol S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews