We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic experience”
Review of The Braes - CLOSED

The Braes
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$6 - US$61
Cuisines: Scottish, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Description: Lounge Bar, Restaurant, Function Suite & Roof Terrace.Local Produce Restaurant.Freshly Ground Coffee.Breakfast.Lunch.Dinner.
Paisley, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Fantastic experience”
Reviewed 2 November 2011

Had a first class experience when i visited The Braes on a Friday night.

Sat down and had a beautiful dinner, waitress was always making sure everything was ok and our glass was full!

Add in live background music and all in all the night was fabulous!

Can't wait to go back and other friends who have been there since have enjoyed great service.

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank chris88_007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
grantmcarthurdunoon, Owner at The Braes, responded to this review, 8 November 2011
Hi,

Thanks for you feedback, we really appreciate it and look forward to seeing you again soon at The Braes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

412 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    203
    108
    32
    42
    27
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
“So relaxing”
Reviewed 2 November 2011

Myself and my partner had heard good things about the new restaurant in Dunoon and as not having been to Dunoon for some time, the trip was well worth it!
The Braes was fantastic, the staff were very accomodating and cheerful. Not too chatty to bother us but hepful enough to keep our glasses topped up!
The food was delicious, the steak and ale casserole was just needed to warm us up after the ferry trip!

Lovely wine too which was nice and was so nice to sit back and relax in somewhere that you would not expect from the wee toon doon the clyde.

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank glasgow02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
grantmcarthurdunoon, Owner at The Braes, responded to this review, 8 November 2011
Hi,

Thanks for you feedback, we really appreciate it and look forward to seeing you again soon at The Braes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Banff
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Unexpected pleasure in a night spot wasteland”
Reviewed 2 November 2011

A great surprise for a visit to this area. Having not been in Dunoon for a few years it was such a pleasure to find somewhere to go for a drink combining class, modernism and elegance. Staff are attentive and polite. Ambience is cosy and embracing. I lost count of the times I said to my friends 'wow, you wouldn't think we were in Dunoon'. Finding ourselves in between meals we plumped for a bar snacks extravaganza. Bread and olives, gorgeous pate, an extensive cheese board and one, if not THE, best meat platters we've ever seen. We thoroughly loved The Braes and stayed well past our bed time.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ShanosBanff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
grantmcarthurdunoon, Owner at The Braes, responded to this review, 8 November 2011
Hi,

Thanks for you feedback, we really appreciate it and look forward to seeing you again soon at The Braes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
1 review
“Great food, great service.”
Reviewed 2 November 2011

I took a couple of clients out for lunch at the Braes recently and I can't speak highly enough about the experience. From the moment we arrived, we felt welcome and well attended to. The service was great, very knowledgeable about the product. A comfortable lounge and a great meal made for a productive afternoon. We'll defiantly be returning for our Christmas client reception.

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AlasdairCurrie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
grantmcarthurdunoon, Owner at The Braes, responded to this review, 8 November 2011
Hi,

Thanks for you feedback, we really appreciate it and look forward to seeing you again soon at The Braes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Let down”
Reviewed 1 November 2011

We visited after it being reccommended a local hotel we were staying at, the park. We have suggested they think about this as it was truly a let down. Nice interior. Newly done by the looks of it. That where it ends. The food served was awful, the waitress never checked on the meal so by the time I was checked on my partner was finished. Poor food, lacked in customer service. Never again

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank gizmo1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Braes also viewed

Dunoon, Cowal Peninsula
 
Dunoon, Cowal Peninsula
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing