We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good food, staff could use some training”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Braes

The Braes
Ranked #4 of 60 Restaurants in Dunoon
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$6 - US$61
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub, Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Bar Scene, Business meetings, Cheap Eats, Groups
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Lounge Bar, Restaurant, Function Suite & Roof Terrace.Local Produce Restaurant.Freshly Ground Coffee.Breakfast.Lunch.Dinner.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Good food, staff could use some training”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2014 via mobile

First time at the braes this weekend, sat on the lovely roof top terrace for lunch. Food really lovely, reasonable and really fresh with outstanding views over Dunoon. Will definitely be back. Thought however the bar staff could do with some customer service training, not the friendliest and a little cold? Could do with some attention but an absolutely beautiful place to eat and highly recommended. Dunoon is very lucky to have this place!

Helpful?
1 Thank Quinn354
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

412 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    203
    108
    32
    42
    27
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dunoon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Exceptionally well modernised pub cum restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014

I enjoyed good food in comfort, in a friendly atmosphere when I visited with my daughter in April 2014.
Good beer at reasonable and cocktails are readily available.
I would recommend it for visiting families and business meals.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank john w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scotland
Level Contributor
121 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Lovely friendly place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2014

I went here as part of a group of 17, adults and kids. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Plenty of choice on menu from snacks, pizza, main meals. The food was good and tasty but a bit on the small size. The price is approx. £10 for a main. I would go back next time I'm in dunoon.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank steph27Scotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Argyll and Bute, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Overpriced pub food”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2014

We booked this restaurant expecting to eat upstairs in the restaurant. When we arrived we were told that upstairs was not open so we had to sit in the noisy bar. The food was not very appetising but was expensive for pub grub. One member of staff was very rude to us when we placed our order. We will not be returning to the Braes until we read reviews which show a huge improvement or when it is taken over by new owners.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jonimevans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Up market pub”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2014 via mobile

Had a tasty burger and chips from here. Some great cocktails. good service for a pub. If I was rating it as a restaurant I wouldn't have rated it as high though. Bit pricey even for Glasgow/Edinburgh so does it work in a small town? Try for yourself.
jake

Helpful?
Thank jaffajake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Braes also viewed

Dunoon, Cowal Peninsula
 
Dunoon, Cowal Peninsula
 
Dunoon, Cowal Peninsula
Dunoon, Cowal Peninsula
 

Been to The Braes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing