We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfectly located, lovely apartment”
other travellers have booked this property
Entrance
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Entrance
Living room Living room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
14 reviews
Entrance
Living room
Living room
Living room
Kitchen
Family bedroom
Family bedroom
Double bedroom with ensuite
Twin bedroom
Bathroom
Twin bedroom
Apartment exterior
Lower apartment with private parking
Dunoon ferry
Castle House Museum, Dunoon
Dunoon's famous Victorias  Pier
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Dunoon, Cowal Peninsula, Argyll and Bute, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 14 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Corinnku
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfectly located, lovely apartment”
Reviewed 22 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

Stayed at this lovely apartment with 6 friends for 3 nights in September and it was perfect! Located right round the corner from Morrisons, Studio Cinema and swimming pool. Just a short walk to everything you need in the town.
Comfy beds with an en suite bathroom in each room meant that nobody fought over when to take showers! Lovely equipped kitchen, TV, and nice gardens too.
Service was great - I couldn't initially work out how to get kes frm the safe but Ian answered my call immmdeiately and explained fully. He also left a bottle of wine for us and allowed us to extend our check out time easily after paying a small fee.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: bedrooms with en suite bathrooms
Liked least: having to pay for extended check-out time
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brackensc...
scotland
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Fantastic accommodation family and dog friendly”
Reviewed 17 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

This apartment has everything a family could require three well furnished bedrooms each with its own en-suite a lovely comfortable lounge and a well fitted kitchen with washing machine and a dishwasher it also has its own garden and parking.Plus central heating and its close to shops and other amenities.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the locality
Liked least: the gravel path
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jacquiejo...
glasgow
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed 2 June 2015 for a stay in May 2015

Sebright apartment, is a spacious, clean and comfortable place to stay. The location is central to local amenities in Dunoon. Fantastic views over the firth of Clyde and a well maintained back garden.
there were only 4 of us staying in the apartment, 9 family members visited us on the Sunday during our stay to celebrate my husbands 50th birthday so there were now 13 people in the apartment and for that amount of people it was still very spacious. when we all sat down for a light birthday lunch.
would definitely go back to sebright apartment.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the space and the fact that all three bedrooms were ensuite
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
isablue66
Glasgow
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great flat spoiled by noise”
Reviewed 26 January 2015 for a stay in January 2015
1
person found this review helpful

My mum and I stayed at this apartment over the New Year period and whilst the flat itself was very comfortable, well decorated and is in a great location, it is totally ruined by the noise from the upstairs neighbour. Every day and night, all we could hear was a television blaring from upstairs, even when we were watching our television, you could hear that one over it, it was so distracting. I live in an apartment in Glasgows city centre, so I'm well aware noise travels but I've never heard it as loud as this. Not conducive to a peaceful, relaxing holiday I'm afraid, which is what I go to Dunoon for. I started to feel very agitated by it. The apartment has lovely views across the Clyde but unfortunately when high sided vehicles park on the road in front of the apartment, the view is lost. I understand this is outwith the owners control but it is very dissapointing nonetheless, as the view is one of the main reasons I book a waterfront property. You pay a premium rate for these types of properties so expect to enjoy the view I have paid for. For these reasons, especially the noise levels, I would'nt return and is the reason I have rated this as poor.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The location
Liked least: The noise
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Jan 2015
We are very disheartened and surprised by your review. We note you have stayed with us on numerous occasions without any issues. We are very sorry you experienced noise from the upper level, it’s a shame you didn’t contact us to sort out as we would have happily fixed this for you straight away. An elderly couple live upstairs and if you had let them know to turn the TV down on the first day they would have done this for you. (We understand you have met them previously). After speaking with them they are also sorry and upset knowing you were disturbed. It’s a shame when guests have a problem they unfortunately leave it until they get home to place it on Trip Advisor. It does not make any sense and it can be very disheartening to owners when they believe guests have enjoyed their stay then weeks later find there was a problem through Trip Advisor that could have easily been rectified by a phone call. We have had many bookings over the last year with no complaints about noise levels.

In regards to your view, there was a van parked on next door's side walk to fix the neighbours roof but only for two out of the four days (as it was over New Year). We certainly do not feel this would have restricted your view too much. Sebright Apartment is on the esplanade and is in a great location as you have highlighted. We would love our guest to have a perfect view at all times and believe even if cars are parked along the esplanade guests are not compromised too much at all.

We do not believe your reasons justify a 2 star rating, again it is very disappointing guests do not understand the impact their reviews have on properties, this is also what gives Trip Advisor a bad name from an owner perspective. We pride ourselves to ensure our guest have a comfortable and enjoyable break in our holiday apartment. We give all guests have our telephone number to call if they feel the need to discuss any issues they may have.

Regards the Owners
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sandra m
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic!!”
Reviewed 2 October 2014 for a stay in September 2014

What a perfect place to stay. Myself along with all the family had a fantastic time, the apartment is lovely well maintained and very central to everything. The only down fall was the double bed in the double room it was very uncomfortable and mattress sagged at one-side. Although this was only issue we had. All in all it was a fantastic time we had.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Oct 2014
Thank you very much for your kind remarks and feedback. We appreciate all feedback and we will pass on your remarks to the owner to look at replacing the mattress to ensure a more comfortable stay. We look forward to you visiting again soon.
Kind regards
Chrissie ... Argyll Self Catering Holidays.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
2 May 2014
Thank you for your kind comments and we hope to see you again in the near future. Kind regards
Iain, Argyll Self Catering Holidays
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
james03St...
stirling
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Tired draughty apartment”
Reviewed 14 February 2014 for a stay in February 2014

In 2013 we stayed in Dunoon for the February half term break,we loved the area and the accommodation so decided to return,our last holiday let was unavailable so we booked Sebright which looked very smart and was more expensive.
On arrival our first impressions were not good,the apartment was cold with a damp smell throughout, the drying room was untidy with a selection of electrical appliances ,storage containers and garden furniture cluttering the area,the rear garden was also untidy with an old kitchen bin outside the door ,broken fence and rotten red bench,the garden next door is like a scrap yard with old rotten caravans in it and no attempt to hide the view.
The Windows in the lounge and the front bedroom are draughty and wedged close with rolled up cardboard.The bathrooms are tired ,one toilet and a sink leaks ,the floor around one toilet is unstable,the Old televisions in the Bedrooms don't work and the overall cleanliness is poor.Flaking paint on the doors and walls of the kitchen and bathrooms.
The lounge is pleasant apart from the draught from the windows and the loud TV from the upstairs accommodation.
The views are great but sadly the apartment does not live up to how it looks on the internet.
The apartment has potential to be fabulous but poor maintenance and hygiene has let it down.

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Feb 2014
Dear Sir,

We have noted your issues you have listed on Trip Advisor and we are sorry and surprised to hear your comments. Firstly Sebright Holiday Apartment is listed as a 3 Star property and we feel we do offer this standard plus more to our guests. We strongly deny any hygiene issues, we were only recently assessed by Visit Scotland prior to your arrival and they assured us our property is at the correct level. This is our first complaint we have received of our property in many years and we take your comments on board and we will act accordingly.

We feel the discounted rate we gave you for 5 persons is very reasonable, (less than £9 per person per night, and your pet was free). With the positive and constant feedback we receive continually from our guests we have not had an issue with this in the past therefore your review came to us as a shock.

Your issue with the draught we sincerely apologise for, we were in the process of re-sealing the front windows. As the parts had not arrived in time it was temporarily fixed and checked by maintenance it was secure. A note was left to explain this to you. We didn’t see this was a problem as we did not hear from you after our last contact. We wished you called us at the time you felt there was an issue and we would have rectified this immediately to make your stay more comfortable.

In regards to the utility room issue. Unfortunately with the bad weather that week we needed to bring in the outdoor fold-up chairs and portable BBQ for storage. The plastic bins you highlighted – one is left for recycling (a label is placed on this to advise our guests). The other contains small fishing rods and fishing tackle for guests and children to use on the beach across the road. (All highlighted in the welcome folder). This is also where the iron and ironing board are kept for easy use to our guests. Lastly, the televisions in the bedrooms do work, as per instructions in the welcome folder.

There was a small duration of 14 days in between guest bookings, therefore my housekeeper popped in a day prior to turn heating on and spent an hour dusting to ensure the property was presentable at the standard required. I also made a point of double checking this when I left your welcome wine in the apartment on the day you were due to arrive. Again, if you felt it was inadequate on your arrival on your first day we wished you could have contacted us as we would have rectified any issues immediately.

In regards to the house next door and the waste issues, there is currently a refurbishment happening here. This can only be viewed if you go outside of the apartment to the side. This of course has been an issue for us also the last few months as they also pulled down all the hedges that was hiding this. It has been promised to us by the owners this will be rectified in the next coming weeks. In fact most of the garden has now been cleared.

We will take any feedback seriously from our guests. We do apologise for any discomfort you felt, it is certainly not an outcome we wish our guests to feel on their holiday. It is a shame guests do not contact the owners at the time of an issue so it can be rectified immediately instead of waiting until they return home to place it on Trip Advisor.

As a goodwill gesture we would like to offer you a 50% discount off your next stay with us over the next 12 months.

Regards
Owner, Sebright Holiday Apartment
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing