We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Haven”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Coylet Inn - CLOSED

Coylet Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British, Scottish, Bar, Pub
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Drinks, Dinner, Breakfast, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Drinks, Dinner, Breakfast, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Grantham, Lincolnshire
1 review
“Amazing Haven”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2013

We stopped in the area over the Easter break 2013 and visited the Coylet Inn most days of our two week stay both in the restaurant and the bar area. We received a warm welcome on all occasions along with our children and Golden Retriever Marley who enjoyed the doggy treats near the bar!. There was always a welcoming roaring fire to greet us on those cold snowing days. The food was amazing and very tasty with a good selection to choose from and the ales on tap to choose from were excellent too. Craig and his lovely family always gave us a warm welcome and we were made to feel like one of the locals. We shall definitely return to the area again and would not think twice about going back and enjoying this haven again. Well done to Craig and his family for all the hard work in making the Inn what it is today. Hope to see you soon. I cannot end this review without mentioning the fabulous views of Lock Eck that the Inn nestles in. The views are breath taking in all weathers and the Inn is perfectly situated to enjoy them in all their slender.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Christopher G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

80 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    26
    6
    7
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Much improved”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2013

After visiting a year ago and not being impressed we decided to give the Coylet the benefit of the doubt and booked for Sunday lunch. What a difference a year has made! A great menu but we all plumbed for the Sunday roast which was ribeye and cooked to perfection! Being from Yorkshire the only downside was the Yorkshire puds which were more like muffins! On the whole a good lunchtime experience.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Bill B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fife
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Nice wee stop in”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2013

Good service and food was nice. Nice and cosy and good atmosphere. I cannot comment on the rooms as my boyfriend and I only stopped in for food. Lovely drive there and nice scenery.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cherryyana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunoon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great food and friendly staff!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2013

We have passed the Coylet a few times and decided to give it a try. It was a delight to find out that dogs were welcome and that all of the staff were friendly and welcoming. The food was delicious and portion size was perfect. The bar was busy which was too overwhelming for our dog so we decided to sit outside. The tables were clean and comfortable with a lovely view. We will definitely be back - thank you!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank linsbrodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunoon, Scotland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Disnae thought it was great”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2013 via mobile

It's rare to find a dog friendly place to go for a pint and some nice food in friendly but rustic surroundings. The Coylet has it all. Famtastoc location, Great bar, great staff and lovely food. Quite secular, but not exclusive, we settled in for an hour and half before they started food service, hour and a half well spent couldn't have wished to have been made more welcome....am I rambling? ..... That'll be because of the tasty ale..... in all a fantastic afternoon..... Thanks guys :)

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank wrnh63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Coylet Inn also viewed

Loch Eck, Cowal Peninsula
Dunoon, Cowal Peninsula
 
Strone, Cowal Peninsula
 
Dunoon, Cowal Peninsula
Dunoon, Cowal Peninsula
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing