We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average”
Review of Coylet Inn - CLOSED

Coylet Inn
Cuisines: British
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Carlisle, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Average”
Reviewed 12 December 2013

I found this establishment average the food i did enjoy however found nothing that jumped out at me. I would personally make improvements in the kithen team. i would however visit again.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Margaret s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

80 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    26
    6
    7
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bangor, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Dog Friendly Bar”
Reviewed 23 November 2013

We stopped here at the end of a long day out and about.

The only area that is dog friendly is the bar, where the seats and tables are limited, we were fortunate to get the last available table in the corner.

The menu was varied and had good vegetarian options, the staff were very friendly and a bowl of water was supplied for our dogs. The service was good and the food tasty and plentiful.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nancy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paisley
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 199 helpful votes
“Very friendly and traditional pub food where your custom matters”
Reviewed 12 November 2013

We have eaten here on a few occasions now and its appeal was that you can eat in the pub area and that we could take our dog with us. This meant we chose to eat here during the day rather than the evening. The menu is basic but has a nice twist on some pub classics which are worth a try. The business is run by a young couple ( Pip and Craig ) who are always very friendly and value their customers. on the last occasion we ate here it was quite late on a Wednesday evening when our visit was driven by having our custom turned away by the Whistlefield Inn. It was clear that the kitchen was being kept open specifically for our party of four people but we were at no point made to feel as though we were being rushed. The pub is very proud of its selection of cask ales and these can be sampled before trying as Craig is very knowledgeable about what he choses to sell, in supporting these breweries he has something different to offer than the run of the mill choice you will find in a pub chain. If you want a nice simple food in a cosy traditional pub then I would advise giving them a try as your custom will be rewarded with a good meal and a welcome that makes you want to return. We chose to eat again in the bar area even though we did not have the dog with us as the appeal of the open fire was too good but if you prefer a slightly more formal but still cosy atmosphere then they have a separate restaurant area for dining too. We will continue to offer our support to this establishment as we feel the owners deserve their business to succeed and in the future they are now guaranteed to gain our custom in the evenings as well as during the day down to the local competition being so terribly poor with its customer service.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank garethandjeanette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackburn, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Disppointing”
Reviewed 2 November 2013

I've been here a couple of times and I wasn't impressed with the food at all. The place smelled of burned chip pan fat. Shame too because it's a beautiful location and has lots of history

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Debbi D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunoon, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“could be more family freindly”
Reviewed 23 October 2013

went here couple nights ago to celebrate wedding aniversary had a young child with us who was made to feel unwelcome and a nusciance which was a shame as the person we were with was a visi tor to Dunoon the coylet is a lovely pup in an execelant setting but the owner could do with a pr lesson in how to treat his customers the waiting staff were great take a leaf out of their book.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank marjory a B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Coylet Inn also viewed

Loch Eck, Cowal Peninsula
Dunoon, Cowal Peninsula
 
Strone, Cowal Peninsula
Dunoon, Cowal Peninsula
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing