We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Visited blind and can't believe previous reviews”
Review of Swallow Cafe

Swallow Cafe
Ranked #9 of 61 Restaurants in Dunoon
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe
Description: A traditional cafe in the centre of Dunoon. We are well known for being the only cafe in the area making our own delicious Italian ice-cream on the premises. We also offer home baking (try our Key Lime Pie!) And home made soups - fresh every day. Lots of our savoury dishes are home made and we have been told that our macaroni cheese, cottage pie and fish pie are probably the best around. We have our own brand of coffee - freshly ground, and a range of herbal and fruit teas. We also serve fresh fruit smoothies and milkshakes. We are open 7 days a week and look forward to seeing you!
Restaurant details
Description: A traditional cafe in the centre of Dunoon. We are well known for being the only cafe in the area making our own delicious Italian ice-cream on the premises. We also offer home baking (try our Key Lime Pie!) And home made soups - fresh every day. Lots of our savoury dishes are home made and we have been told that our macaroni cheese, cottage pie and fish pie are probably the best around. We have our own brand of coffee - freshly ground, and a range of herbal and fruit teas. We also serve fresh fruit smoothies and milkshakes. We are open 7 days a week and look forward to seeing you!
Bedlington, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Visited blind and can't believe previous reviews”
Reviewed 28 March 2014

We were in Dunoon about 1.15 lunchtime a few days ago - there were 3 coaches parked when we arrived there and the first 3 places we tried were full so we happened upon the Swallow by chance. The staff were very welcoming and the people at the table next to us strongly recommended one of the three soups on offer - the woman said it was the best tomato soup she had ever had and she made her own!

There is loads of choice but my husband and I went for the Farmer's - their version of eggs benedict for my husband (who also makes his own) and the poached eggs were perfect. He suspected the hollondaise sauce was not freshly made but was good - and given the difficulty of hollondaise I suspect very few places make it to order! My Hunter's was superb - truly excellent black pudding - much better than that we had had at the hotel in the morning - and superb bacon.

For what we had I believe this was exceedingly good value for money and the coffee was truly delicious - I aim these comments specifically at previous reviews. I have to confess that, if I had read them before we went I probably would have avoided the place and that would have been a real loss.

We were asked more than once if we were happy with what we had but for once it actually felt as if the staff cared about it. Should we visit Dunoon again we will certainly return. We were also on a coach trip and severl others ate there and all praised it.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandra H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HARRY172, Owner at Swallow Cafe, responded to this review, 17 April 2014
Thank you for your lovely comments, which are very much appreciated. Our staff do work hard and knowing that their efforts are worthwhile makes all the difference. We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    30
    9
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dunoon
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“lacking in atmosphere”
Reviewed 16 February 2014

The food itself was good and the coffee's very tasty, the frappe were delicious however price wise I found it to be quite expensive and the eating area lacked decor or atmosphere.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank FBMargyll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HARRY172, Owner at Swallow Cafe, responded to this review, 19 February 2014
We are sorry that you were not entirely happy with your visit to the Swallow last July. We note that your observations were only posted on trip advisor this month - over 6 months after your visit. We endeavour to have a welcoming and friendly atmosphere in the café, and although the décor is simple, most of our customers find it attractive. We hope you will enjoy your next visit more, but please do speak to one of us when you are next in the café, as we would be interested to discuss your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunoon, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Worst coffee and tea in Dunoon”
Reviewed 24 November 2013

Their food and service are briliiant but their tea, coffeee and soft drinks are terrible (for soft drinks read fake). Which is why I hardly ever go there.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank ariane5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HARRY172, Owner at Swallow Cafe, responded to this review, 18 December 2013
We were most concerned to read your review of the drinks on offer at our café. We note that you live in Dunoon. Would you care to call and discuss this with us? Your review does not say why you hold the view that you do, and we do not understand your remarks about the soft drinks as we only sell well-known branded products. Further information would be most helpful.
Jenni & Tony
Swallow Cafe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Nice Brunch”
Reviewed 13 November 2013

Enjoyed the home-made soup & 'special' pork & apple sauce baguette. Very friendly staff & quick service.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mary R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HARRY172, Owner at Swallow Cafe, responded to this review, 12 December 2013
Thank you for your review of our café and for your kind comments. We look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Jenni & Tony
Swallow Cafe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
edinburgh
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Second visit this year. Great value and great staff”
Reviewed 6 October 2013

I love this cafe. Service is fantastic and the food is just great. Second time this year and a must stop now in Dunoon. I cannot recommend it highly enough.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank jakeyrollin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HARRY172, Owner at Swallow Cafe, responded to this review, 12 December 2013
Thank you for your lovely review of our café. We look forward to seeing you and your family again.

Jenni & Tony
Swallow Cafe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Swallow Cafe also viewed

Dunoon, Cowal Peninsula
Dunoon, Cowal Peninsula
 
Dunoon, Cowal Peninsula
Dunoon, Cowal Peninsula
 
Dunoon, Cowal Peninsula
 

Been to Swallow Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing