We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good quality baking”
Review of Black of Dunoon

Black of Dunoon
Ranked #1 of 1 Bakeries in Dunoon
Certificate of Excellence
Restaurant details
tarbert
Level 6 Contributor
210 reviews
134 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“good quality baking”
Reviewed 17 June 2014

stopped by for a morning roll and coffee takeaway.The rolls are well known throughout Argyll and together with a decent cup of coffee it was a good deal for a cheap price well worth a visit if you are in Dunoon.thye have a good range of savoury foods as well as cakes and bread.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dookers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    24
    8
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
94 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Cakes and More Cakes”
Reviewed 13 June 2014

Part of our holiday tradition is to have "cakes and coffee" at Blacks. This yer was no exception. The "cafe" area is part of a baker's shop so it can be crowded. You can usually find a table and find yourself next to a local regular as well as tourists. It is not too expensive and the quality of the cakes is first class. The meringues are strawberry tarts mmmmm. The coffee can vary in its strength but usually it is okay. Visit it at least once an judge for yourself.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank fear-teagaisg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunoon, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best bakery”
Reviewed 15 April 2014

I use it weekly for a variety of bread and other baked items.
Their pies are excellent but not cheap. A pie like that couldn't be made cheaply.
They also do a 'sit-in' café which is popular locally.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank john w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
94 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“An Old-Fashioned Tearoom”
Reviewed 8 March 2014

We have enjoyed lunch and afternoon tea at Blacks for several years. Yes you could describe it as "in need of a facelift" but on the whole it caters for a particular clientele. If you are on holiday it is part of "the experience" to try local specialities, in this case, pies and cakes. We have always found the staff pleasant and cheery. This year when we visit Dunoon no doubt we will have at least I visit to enjoy a cake and a cup of coffee.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank fear-teagaisg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunoon
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“In need of a total revamp”
Reviewed 16 February 2014

depending on your age or needs this place is really tired and tatty, the staff aren't overly friendly. The cakes are often frozen prior to delivery to the shop which rather spoils the image that everthing is baked on the premises.

I found the coffee bitter and not overly hot

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank FBMargyll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Black of Dunoon also viewed

Dunoon, Cowal Peninsula
 
Dunoon, Cowal Peninsula
Dunoon, Cowal Peninsula
 

Been to Black of Dunoon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing