We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really need to try harder”
Review of Ghillies Cafe Bar

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Ghillies Cafe Bar
Ranked #44 of 60 Restaurants in Dunoon
Cuisines: British
Restaurant details
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Really need to try harder”
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Been twice, first time I had the burger for lunch, think it had came out the freezer. Not good enough, for the price it should be made on the premises. Even the chips tasted as if the oil was well by its best. Believing I maybe just caught them on a bad day I returned for dinner a couple of months later, I had a chilli bowl, lettuce was brown and everything was tasteless and swimming in oil. Really not good enough, the place looks nice from the outside, such a shame as it is in a prime location where you depart the Western Ferry. Until it improves dramatically I wouldn't recommend to anybody.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Gus1269
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    7
    2
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Staff were extremely friendly and went out their way to accomodate”
Reviewed 30 April 2014

I only popped in here for a drink one afternoon after wondering around Dunoon and was welcomed by extremely friendly staff . Made a bad day into a lovely relaxing afternoon. Would definitely come back for food as the settings of this hotel are really beautiful.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank MissHove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Lovely old hotel”
Reviewed 16 February 2014

We didn't stay here but did pop into the bar for coffee one day and lunch the next and we found the staff to be extremely helpful and the food was nice.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank RMH1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cowdenbeath, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Hhmmmm”
Reviewed 1 December 2013 via mobile

Clearly been a nice place in the past but unfortunately now a bit tired. Plus points though are the staff, really friendly and cant do enough for you. Breakfast was good too.

Helpful?
Thank ross4467
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
glasgow
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“top burger”
Reviewed 3 October 2013

Burger was superb perfectly cooked chips were a little under done but didnt stop me eating them, my misses had the pie and said it was lovely left her chips. Staff very excellent , I would go back just for the burger. Payed around £60 for 3 meals with 2 spirits with mixers and 2 cokes , reasonably priced in my opinion .
Lovely building .

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Craig M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ghillies Cafe Bar also viewed

Dunoon, Cowal Peninsula
Dunoon, Cowal Peninsula
 
Dunoon, Cowal Peninsula
Dunoon, Cowal Peninsula
 

Been to Ghillies Cafe Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing