We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great location, very clean comfortable lodge”
other travellers have booked this property
Ruskin Lodge, surrounded by nature
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Ruskin Lodge, surrounded by nature
New (2018) kitchen with induction hob, steam oven, dishwasher and quality pots, pans and utensils. Living room with new leather sofas, large TV, stove-style electric heater and picture frame windows.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
51 reviews
Ruskin Lodge, surrounded by nature
New (2018) kitchen with induction hob, steam oven, dishwasher and quality pots, pans and utensils.
Living room with new leather sofas, large TV, stove-style electric heater and picture frame windows.
Bedroom 1: Master bedroom with king-sized bed, wardrobe, chest of drawers & wash hand basin.
Bedroom 2: With king-sized bed, wardrobe & chest of drawers.
Bedroom 3: Can be made into a twin, double or study. Wardrobe, chest of drawers, bunting optional!
The kitchen has an alcove dining area suitable for 6.
View from the kitchen.
Bathroom with bath, electric shower & super-soft hotel quality towels.
Covered and gated veranda to take in the surroundings
Big enough for 6, cosy enough for 2!
Red squirrels are regular visitors to the veranda - so long as there are some nuts out!
There is plenty of space to play.
Your pinic spot in front of the lodge.
The Holy Loch is just 5 minutes drive away
Boats on the Holy Loch
Argyll Forest surrounds you
View towards the lodge from Benmore Botanic Gardens
Ruskin Lodge is an idyllic escape
A nice spot to rest your head!
Fishing in Argyll - Picture Credit : Paul Tomkins / VisitScotland
Nature is everywhere!
Local seafood! Seafood platter by Ben Brown via Flickr
Glen Massan is just a 10 minute drive away.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Dunoon, Cowal Peninsula, Argyll and Bute, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 51 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
German first
Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
“Great location, very clean comfortable lodge”
Reviewed 3 weeks ago for a stay in July 2018

Just returned from Ruskin Lodge yesterday and was really impressed with it. Right next to pucks glen and situated in lovely surroundings would definitely recommend to anyone thinking about it. Loads of walks nearby and dog friendly too, really enjoyed our stay

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Jul 2018
What a lovely review! Thank you so much for making our 50th review on TripAdvisor a special one - delighted you enjoyed your stay and found it well-suited for your group (and dog!). There are lots of great local walks and Puck's Glen is a real highlight. You are, of course, very welcome to stay again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cd23416
Fishguard, United Kingdom
1 review
“Quiet retreat”
Reviewed 1 July 2018 for a stay in June 2018

Beautiful, quiet location for a clean and tidy lodge, with red squirrels visiting every morning. All of the facilities were as described and Abigail was lovely to deal with.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Jul 2018
Thank you so much for this lovely review! We are so lucky that red squirrels are regular visitors to the lodge and I'm delighted you liked the facilities. You were great to deal with too and are welcome back any time.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neil1306
Paisley, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Mr”
Reviewed 23 June 2018 for a stay in June 2018

So we came back to Ruskin Lodge for a second time. Abigail has upgraded the kitchen and put in a brand new suede/leather suite in the living room. The beds were just as comfy and the spacious lodge is quite cosy so not much need to have the heating on much. Weather was a bit better than last year so we managed to get out and about a bit more. Fantastic scenery all around and some lovely walks. Highlight of the week was the variety of birdlife that visited the lodge and the 4 red squirrels that made regular visits to the feeder on the lodge porch. We loved Ruskin Lodge last year and had a similar excellent experience this year. Highly recommended as an awesome base to explore Cowal and the surrounding area.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Jun 2018
Thank you so much for taking the time to write this review Neil - it is a great sign when visitors return and I'm delighted you liked the new kitchen and sofas. It sounds like the wildlife put on a good show for you again - I still get a thrill seeing red squirrels, even though they are regular visitors to the lodges! You were great guests and so careful and respectful of the lodge - you are welcome back any time.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NKoukos
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great short holiday ”
Reviewed 11 June 2018 for a stay in June 2018

We stayed at Ruskin Lodge for three nights, family of 6 persons. It was a pleasure and we enjoyed staying at this facility. Everything worked well and we do not have any complaints at all. The owner has been brilliant and communication was first class, answering all enquiries and supporting us with lots of information and advise. Definitely not hesitation to recommend this lodge and the service. Thanks Abigail.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Jun 2018
Thank you for taking the time to review the lodge and I'm delighted the whole family enjoyed the stay! You were great to communicate with too and I'm glad I was able to give you tips and advice for getting the most out of your stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bowness18...
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fantastic break”
Reviewed 31 March 2018 for a stay in March 2018
1
person found this review helpful

We had a 5 night stay in this fantastic lodge. Everything was absolutely amazing. The lodge was well equipped and had everything we needed. It was close to some fantastic walks we especially loved pucks glen which was directly behind the lodge. The new kitchen was a pleasure to cook in and and when enjoyed many a cosy night in the lovely living room. Thanks so much Abigail for your hospitality, you were so helpful from start to finish. We were even provided with a lovely welcome pack on arrival such a lovely touch! We would highly recommend and will definitely be returning

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Apr 2018
What a super review! Thank you so much for taking the time to write it, and I'm especially glad that the new kitchen and sofas were a success. Having Puck's Glen so close is great and the walking routes that guests can enjoy directly from the lodge is a real bonus. You were great to host and are of course welcome back any time!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
flimpach
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The most wonderful hidden treasure!”
Reviewed 23 February 2018 for a stay in February 2018
1
person found this review helpful

This is our second time to the Pucks Glen area and what a great spot it is! We love this lodge right at the foot of the most stunning hike. We brought our two kids, 3 and 5, and the grandparents and all had the most wonderful time. The lounge is cosy and a great space to relax and unwind, Abigail is a kind and very welcoming host who has thought through lots of the little details to make your trip a true break away- including hot water bottles to use (though the lodge is perfectly warm.)

The kids rose their bikes out front and our dog was in heaven with all the green space. The lodge was clean and very well equipped. We can’t wait to return and know this will become a spot that forms a family memory year after year for us. Thanks Abigail for all your assistance and care: for your efficiency with the booking and for all the amazing information you provided on the local and surrounding areas. We loved our stay!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Feb 2018
What a lovely review - thank you so much for taking the time to write it - it really made me smile! I'm delighted you and your family enjoyed your stay and have left with happy memories - I know how important these holidays are so I'm really pleased you all had a good time. You are welcome back any time :)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
numptieda...
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“lovely relaxed break”
Reviewed 12 February 2018 for a stay in January 2018
1
person found this review helpful

Make sure you buy some bird food , every morning we would make a coffee put some food out for the birds sit on sofa a watch so many different birds would come . Not my thing usually but it was very nice. It was quiet cold whilst we were there but the lodge is lovely and cosy and very well equipped . 2 of our children came with the partners for the weekend so 6 adults and 2 dogs and still plenty of room , Internets included and Abigail the owner has made it a home from home lovely bedding big fluffy towels nice hand wash, just little touches .
I would return and highly recommend this lodge, Walks on your doorstep or excellent base to travel around,

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Feb 2018
What a lovely review! I am so pleased you and your family enjoyed your stay and got to see some of the special local wildlife. The area is great for walks and I'm delighted you found the lodge a cosy home-from-home. You are very welcome to stay again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing