We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Home from home tranquility!”
other travellers have booked this property
Halton Lodge Upper
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Halton Lodge Upper
Hot Tub Spa on balcony with stunning views Relax on sunny days on your private deck
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
16 reviews
Halton Lodge Upper
Hot Tub Spa on balcony with stunning views
Relax on sunny days on your private deck
Living room with balcony views, large LCD and Sky TV.
Comfortable cushioned lounges waiting for you to completely relax in.
Spacious dining and living area.
Dining and kitchen area.
Modern eequipped kitchen.
Luxury master bedroom with balcony views and TV.
Luxury master bedroom with balcony access and skylight windows.
Luxury new bthroom
Luxury new bathroom with bath and shower
Double bedroom
Two bunk beds sleeping up to four with television.
Unwind and admire the stunning views
Stunning deck views of the Clyde Estuary and beyond.
Your view over the Holy Loch drivin along the shore.
Winter views in spectacular Cowal Peninsula.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Dunoon, Cowal Peninsula, Argyll and Bute, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 16 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
suwoo73
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Home from home tranquility!”
Reviewed 4 January 2017 for a stay in January 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Ideally situated within the cowal peninsula with the facilities of the holiday park on your door step. Home from home accommodation with great wi-fi, comfortable furniture and great views over the clyde. The hot tub was a bonus for the family which at night was amazing under the stars! This lodge is very easy to get to, great location to set out from and very quiet and private to stay in.
Full marks from me and thoroughly recommended!
I'll be back!

Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Mar 2017
""Thank you so much for the 5 star review. We have passed your comments to the owners. We hope you book again soon. Kind regards Iain, Argyll Self Catering Holidays."""
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tjkerr39
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Anazing”
Reviewed 7 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Stayed for 3 nights didn't want to leave, the view is amazing location is great. Lodge was furnished really nice I will defo be going back
Only thing I would say a freezer or ice box would be good.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Merkland2...
East Kilbride, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fabulous”
Reviewed 30 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016
2
people found this review helpful

Stayed here for 4 nights Friday to Monday. Excellent Price for the upper lodge.
Directions were not that clear however when you exit the Ferry go right and its first left after the entrance to the Holiday park and you cant go wrong. The lodge was immaculate. Super clean. Two double bedrooms and one smaller room with double bunk beds. Brand New bathroom however no blinds!!!! But we had to take into account the property is being upgraded and might not have been put up in time.
Kitchen is well equipped and cant fault any aspect. Bedding was clean and what a beautiful view.
The hot tub was fabulous on the first night for a short time however it didn't appear to be cleaning and the filter was smelly and in need of a change.
Cant fault the place and we will definitely be returning. Not sure how the stay would have been if people are staying in the lode below due to the wooden flooring throughout but on our stay no persons were below us.
Would highly recommend and great Customer Service. We forgot our Hairdryer and the fabulous housekeeper popped one round for us She was our hero!!!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view!!! Peacefulness and spotless cleanliness of the cabin
Liked least: Hot Tub......a tad disapointed
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Jun 2016
"""Thank you very much for your kind remarks. We are very happy to hear you enjoyed your stay at Hafton Lodge Upper and the wonderful location. We look forward to you visiting again soon. Kind regards Argyll Self Catering Holidays on behalf of the owners."""""
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jackiewil...
Glastonbury, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Home from home comfort.”
Reviewed 9 March 2016 for a stay in March 2016
3
people found this review helpful

As with all self catering holidays I did not know what to expect but was more than pleasantly surprised with Hafton Lodge. Clean bedding, towels and a spotless lodge with all the home comforts you could ask for. The furniture was of great quality and the appliances were new. What pleased everyone was the excellent internet wireless connection along with a 50 inch lcd tv. Not to mention the Marantz sound system. The bathroom was a treat obviously having just been upgraded. If your looking for a great getaway with home from home comforts I recommend this place.
The only thing I would say was the magnolia walls could do with wall papering to add additional comfort during a stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: bathroom
Liked least: wall colour
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Mar 2016
"Thank you very much for your kind remarks. We are very happy to hear you enjoyed your stay at Hafton Lodge Lodge and the wonderful location. We look forward to you visiting again soon. Kind regards Argyll Self Catering Holidays on behalf of the owners."
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suzi1875
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Location Perfect however we are being exploited by Lodge Owner, not to be trusted!!”
Reviewed 21 February 2016 for a stay in February 2016
2
people found this review helpful

THIS REVIEW IS FOR HAFTON LODGE NOT HAFTON CASTLE

Visited Hafton Lodge (Upper) Feb 16. On arrival the bed linen was all clean and made-up with the views just simply beautiful. Opened the fridge, drawers and cupboards and found sloppy levels of hygiene with dirty fridge trays and utensils with old food on them. We washed it all down and forgot about it. Went out to the hot tub and tried to pull back the cover, we could immediately see that the cover was broken and the metal frame was separated from the cover itself (Which was worn with 'black bits' floating around the hot tub). There was a smell to the hot tub which suggested there was very little chlorine, the water also appeared slightly discoloured. As per previous hot tub lodges we have stayed in, we assumed the hot tub would be regularly serviced, which it was not.. We tried the hot tub on the first night and it shorted the electrics every half and hour or so. Replaced the cover and my wife got pinned against the fence due to the weight of the cover not being supported by the metal frame. Text the cleaner to ask for assistance on both parts who advised she would be with us in the morning. We never saw the cleaner but we will be seeing a doctor if our burnt dry skin doesn't clear up as a result of using the hot tub.

We switched off the sockets on the kitchen wall and noticed after a few hours that the fridge contents were all wet as the fridge had been turned off too. Pulled out the fridge which had been wired on the same spur as the wall sockets. This is illegal practice as far as I am aware. Put a washing on and the whole house shorted....

I am absolutely disgusted to report that Argyll Holidays and the owner of the Lodge have kept the £150 deposit and are seeking an additional £121 for invisible residents that stayed with us for a week. The invisible occupants were because 2 top bunks and the other double bed was not made up when the cleaner managed to show up at the end of the week for change-over.....which apparently has been made impossible due to the hot tub cover (very doubtful).

Now to explain the beds. It's a shame they didn't have the lodge watched for the full week (or view the CCTV on the lodge!!) as they would have observed it was just ourselves in the lodge with the exception of my family from Dunoon who popped up for the evening - 2 children went up to the top bunks for about 20 minutes for the novelty.. With regards to the double room, my wife slept in this bed Saturday to Monday night as I suffer from Spinal Stenosis which is a very painful condition and makes sleeping very uncomfortable. So much so that we had to return to Edinburgh on Tuesday, returned Wednesday to see my Chiropractor. Not nice having to go in to this much detail to defend yourself after you have used Argyll Holidays previously 3 times last year and left the accommodation spotless.

So now the very disappointing part, we were ready to book up our summer and winter breaks up at Hafton (with our family - 8 people in total) as the location and setting were perfect and close to our Dunoon family. We booked before 3 times in Holy Loch lodge last year, same company Argyll Holidays and every time leaving the lodge was left spotless. No way will we be booking again, they have probably lost in excess of £1500 as a result of this and we have lost out on hiring out what we thought was the perfect little holiday home for us.

On another note there was grout all over the walls in the bathroom (which have nothing covering the windows for privacy!!!!!) and without a non-slip coating on the decking it's only a matter of time before someone has a serious accident due to the extremely slippery surface.

We are preparing to respond through civil action in the form of small claims proceedings against Argyll Holidays and the Lodge Owner, a hassle we did not want to come back to after a nice week away.

DO NOT RISK THIS LODGE AND IF YOU DO TAKE PHOTOS OF EVERYTHING THAT CAUSES YOU CONCERN OR DOESN'T WORK OR YOU WILL PAY THE PRICE!!!!!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Mar 2016
Firstly the clients were not charged an additional £121 and their security deposit of £150 was returned 48 hours after their departure as per our Terms and Conditions. We were informed by housekeeping all the beds had been slept in and there was damage to the hot tub cover. We emailed the clients after their departure to inform them of what housekeeping had told us and we would hold there monies until an explanation was sought. At no time were the owners of the lodge involved and we do not understand why the clients could justify their opening statement. We called clients first thing on Monday morning( they vacated on Sunday) to be told the hot tub cover was broken on their arrival and no other clients stayed in the Lodge, only family visiting. We took their response at face value and agreed not to take any further monies from them. I was then assured by the client she would be booking with us in the future just as they had on previous occasions. Unknown to us they must have posted this review the night before on arriving home from their stay.
Regarding the other issues we have spoken to housekeeping and closer monitoring of the property is now going to be implemented. We are deeply concerned with comments made. The electrical problems have been reported to the owner and we have been assured this will be investigated and remedied straight away. We always advise clients to please contact us straight away if there are any issues with our properties and do not wait until returning from holiday. We could have rectified any problems straight away.

Reply from

Argyll Self Catering Holidays.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
837lculle...
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Brilliant home from home.”
Reviewed 5 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Hafton Lodge is warm and welcoming and clean, it was one of the first self catering holidays that we had been on, where everything was outstanding. It was lovely to sit in the hot hub in the evening watching the night sky.On arrival there is a welcoming card with Elaine's contact details. Elaine was kind and friendly. To hand there were leaflets for places to visit and a book with all the information you needed.
The views are stunning, a nice peaceful area to stay .Within easy reach of Dunoon town. This accommodation allows you to uses the facilities in Hunters Quay. We did not use this as we were so busy , I am not able to comment.
The only draw back is if you are not confident with stairs this may cause a problem.
I would happily stay in Hafton Lodge. The best holiday for a long time, we did not want to leave!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: How easy it was to book without any complications
Liked least: Stairs to the lodge for me were an issue
Travelling group: Other
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James S
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Had an amazing time!”
Reviewed 19 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Had an amazing time at this lodge,travelled with our young family and the lodge couldn't have catered for us all better!Great location for touring Argyll,had a lovely trip to Potavadie Marina and new to open luxury spa.We all had a great day out on the Waverley and then went for dinner at Hunters Quay holiday park (10mins walk from lodge) and stayed for the entertainment,a childrens disco followed by a fabulous singer.Booked the wee ones in for archery and snorkling at the centre too which was great value and fun.
We will def be booking this for next year!

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing