We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“An enjoyable week”
other travellers have booked this property
The Snug, Innellan by Dunoon. A fabulous cosy cottage by the sea!
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Snug, Innellan by Dunoon. A fabulous cosy cottage by the sea!
Light & airy open plan kitchen-diner Double bedroom at The Snug
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
36 reviews
The Snug, Innellan by Dunoon. A fabulous cosy cottage by the sea!
Light & airy open plan kitchen-diner
Double bedroom at The Snug
Bathroom at The Snug
Cosy double bed at The Snug
Relax and enjoy your stay
Innellan forest, a short walk from The Snug
View from the balcony at The Snug
Innellan beach with views to Arran
A sunny winters day at Innellan beach
The Waverly paddle steamer: A lovely day out
Sunset at Innellan beach
View from foot of the lane - 8th May 2016. Another gorgeous day!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Dunoon, Cowal Peninsula, Argyll and Bute, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 36 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
JoyceyG
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“An enjoyable week”
Reviewed 5 November 2016 for a stay in November 2016

We had a really good week. The Snug was quirky, clean, tidy, warm and well equipped, we couldn't have asked for a better place to stay. The setting is wonderful, 100 yards up a wee lane off the sea front. The dog loved the beach and we've been watching a family of seals playing and lying around on the rocks nearby. We've had a day trip to Bute on the ferry from Colintraive which wasn't expensive at all, Tighnabruaich is worth a visit too, the views are spectacular. Inverary is a great day out and not too far with lovely vistas on the journey. A walk up Pucks Glen just outside Dunoon is a must, it is a magical place. This is our first visit to the area and we've been very lucky with the accommodation and the weather. We visited a bit out of season so it was quite quiet which suited us fine although it would have been nice to visit the botanical gardens which we didn't realise closed on October 31st for the winter.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: It was clean, warm , well equipped, tidy and wonderfully quirky.
Liked least: Nothing really
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Nov 2016
I am SO glad that you had a good stay at The Snug, thank you for letting us know.

It sounds as though you managed to do a lot of exploring - I'm just pleased that the weather was good for you. I agree about Pucks Glen, it's one of our favourites too.

You'll need to return for a visit to the Gardens (it actually is open all year, you just don't need to pay over the winter months - I don't think they make that clear enough...). Spring is a wonderful time to visit when the azaleas and rhododendrons are in full flower!

And finally, thank you for leaving the cottage looking so nice, I really do appreciate it. I hope we can welcome you back again soon! Katie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bryan L
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely Place to stay in Innellan / Dunoon”
Reviewed 19 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016
2
people found this review helpful

Fantastic place to stay in Innellan. Very clean, and perfect size for a couple and a dog. Katie kindly let us checkin early (midday) which was great, and gave us an extra day to explore. She also provided some biscuits and wine which were really appreciated!

We were fortunate the weather was very good overall, bit even when we came back from the Villagers Royal pub (dog friendly and excellent food and drinks) and got caught in the rain, The Snug was a great place to dry off and have a fantastic hot powerful shower.

Dog walks from The Snug are along footpaths and the small beach. If you're feeling brave, turn right out of The Snug and walk up Trinity Lane. There's an overgrown pathway and if you keep going you'll come to a road that runs parallel with the main road; turn right and eventually you will come to turnings to come back to The Snug.

There's loads to see and do here. The Benmore Botanic Gardens are great; there are two forest trails across the road from the BBG that you can walk if you don't want to pay to enter the garden themselves; they are described as "strenuous" but they are quite easy, and very well sign posted so you won't get lost.

There are limited places to eat locally, Villagers Royal and The Osborne are walking distance (less than a mile). One day we visited Inveraray (an hours drive) and stopped at The Loch Fyne deli; we bought lovely cheeses and salmon and ate those at The Snug with some wine.

The shop / post office in Innellan is a mile or so away and stocks the essentials. It opens from 0830 on Sunday so is very useful.

All in all a great stay and lovely hosts!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
andygr197...
Falkirk, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Fabulous cottage and perfect weather”
Reviewed 8 June 2016 for a stay in May 2016

My girlfriend and I had a last minute break here. Saw the forecast was good and basically chose this cottage as it seemed the best of the weather was on the west coast and it was reasonably priced for two people.

We were really happy with our choice (and the weather!). It's a great size for a couple, with a comfortable bedroom downstairs. You go upstairs to the living room which was lovely in the hot weather as there were patio doors you could throw open. We sat there in the evenings - with a bottle of wine! - and could look out to the hills and the sea.

I know we were lucky with the weather, but living not too far away made a quick getaway possible. We've never stayed in Cowal before but have already boooked to come back for a longer holiday as it's a beautiful area. Thank you Katie for your help!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Jun 2016
Hi! I'm so pleased that you had a happy and comfortable stay at The Snug and thank you so much for your kind feedback. I hope the weather will be as glorious on your next visit - I'll look forward to welcoming you back before too long! Katie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wolfgang...
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Nice cottage, well equipped”
Reviewed 7 June 2016 for a stay in May 2016

The Snug is small but very good for a couple. Views to hills and seaside and not far from the beach. Well equipped kitchen, books and DVDs in house. We only missed a garden or a place to sit outside, because we had the finest Scottish weather (only sun for the whole week)! Good place to explore Cowal, go to Glasgow for a day or discover Isle of Bute.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Jun 2016
Thank you for your kind review. I'm delighted that you enjoyed your stay at The Snug. The weather here is STILL glorious, I'm so glad that you saw Scotland at its best! As you say, we're lucky to have the beach at the foot of the lane and I know a lot of people like to stroll down to sit there - so perhaps it would be helpful if I provided some nice comfy deck chairs for that? Thank you for your thoughts, I really appreciate it! Katie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LittleMis...
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Weekend break”
Reviewed 11 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016

Just returned from a lovely weekend break away with my husband and our 4 legged friend Alfie. Located metres away from the shoreline very quiet lane cottage very cosy everything you need is there for a lively break away also a bonus with the wifi and sky TV which we had no problems with at all. Our dog had some lovely walks along the beach and the weather was good to us for a change good base for touring the West of Scotland had a great day out in Oban and some lovely stops were had along the way. Thanks again Katie for the last minute booking was very cosy on arrival could have stayed longer hopefully get back in the summer time again. One suggestion is put a customer review book in there for people to sign and leave feedback for others we wanted to leave a message but couldn't find one I'm sure it would be full of praises. Highly recommend home from home everything there you would need for a perfect getaway.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location home from home cosiness of the cottage
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Apr 2016
Thank you so much for your kind review - I'm delighted that you had a good stay. Also happy that the forecast was correct for once and you were able to explore Cowal & beyond in the sunshine!! We do keep a Visitors Book on the bookcase in the living room, but I'll try and leave it somewhere a bit more obvious in future as it's always helpful when guests leave feedback. Thank you again and I hope I'll be able to welcome you both - and Alfie of course - back again in the future!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Audrey B
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“cosy retreat”
Reviewed 16 January 2016 for a stay in January 2016

The Snug is well named very clean very cosy with all homely needs even our little dog settled in quickly would like to return in better weather!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the cosiness
Liked least: having to park car away from house down lane would be ok in summer
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SteveMatt...
Lichfield, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“what a find, it's a hidden gem.”
Reviewed 24 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Great place, well appointed and well laid out. Plenty of equipment for a small place. Very clean with soft fluffy white towels and a really comfy bed. The beach is only 50yards away. The balcony and French doors really open up the lounge to the outside.
Always thought Sky TV was a bit limited and this proved to be the case, but rarely had the TV on. Brought our own books but there is a good selection.
Disappointed with Dunoon town, its very tired with a lot of closed down. The surrounding areas are absolutely beautiful. We found a little place called Jubilee Point which was out of this world.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: peaceand quiet
Liked least: Dunoon
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing