We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable Holiday”
Review of Esplanade Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Esplanade Hotel
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Dunoon
Reviewed 16 May 2012

I stayed at the Esplanade from 7th May to 11th May. It was a coach tour. The Hotel staff had laid on for tea,scones etc in the Lounge for us as we were originally booked for the Argyll. The hotel staff were very helpful and teh hotel was spotlessly clean. It was silver service for both breakfast and dinner. Dinner was a 5 course meal and I could not fault the quality of the meal or the service. The entertainment in the evening was first class with it finishing at 10.30pm sharp. Would recommend the Esplanade Hotel to my friends and family. I will be back. The staff came out to wave our coach off.. I thought that this was a lovely touch

Room Tip: Try for a room overlooking the River Clyde.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Elizabeth E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Esplanade704070, Manager at Esplanade Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2012

Dear Guest, greetings from Esplanade Hotel, Dunoon!

Thank you very much for your feedback on our hotel through Trip advisor. We are happy to learn that your stay at our hotel was up to your expectations and that we were able to make your stay memorable by providing you the positive experience we endeavor to give to all our valued guests. We will make sure that your comments are shared to all the Staff. The positive ratings you gave us on Trip advisor are greatly appreciated and we hope we have the opportunity to be at your service again in the near future.

In the meantime if there is anything we can do to assist you please do not hesitate to contact us directly at 01369 704070 or please email me at manoj@sgehotels

Looking forward to welcoming you back soon and kind regards.


Best Regards

Manoj Cancar

Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (725)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

637 - 643 of 725 reviews

Reviewed 12 May 2012

Our Coach party were moved from the Argyll Hotel to the Esplanade and were a bit disappointed when we arrived at the back of the hotel but were really pleasantly surprised when entering the hotel. Because I had requested a walk-in shower my room did not have a sea-view but this did not bother me. The room was a little out-dated but was clean and the bed/bath linen were sparkling white and changed frequently. The food was excellent and plentiful and the staff were really helpful - nothing seemed too much for them - smiles all the time. The entertainment in the lounge was really good and the Scottish evening (Wednesday) was particularly great with the haggis even being piped into the dining room (fantastic surprise). All of the staff, escpecially the Manager, Cancar Manoj, were very helpful and I cannot praise them all enough and will certainly be returning to this Hotel. Cancar and some of the staff even came out to wave our Coach off - great touch.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Phylis B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Esplanade704070, Manager at Esplanade Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2012

Dear Guest

Thank you for your kind comments regarding your recent stay at The Esplanade Hotel. Appreciative feedback such as yours inspires us to consistently provide our guests with the superior level of service they have come to expect from our Hotel.

Regards to the the room we refrubish rooms every often,most of the rooms in the hotel is Refrubished and we will continue doing the other rooms as we get a chance to do.and for your next visit we will get you a nice room with walk in shower.

Once Again thank you again for giving us your feedback, which is very much appreciated. We look forward to welcome you back in the near future.

In the meantime if there is anything we can do to assist you; please do not hesitate to contact me directly at 01369 704070 or please email me at manoj@sgehotels.com

Best Regards

Manoj Cancar
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2012

We took a large group for a mid week break. The location of the hotel is fantastic, right on the promenade with stunning views across the Clyde yet very peaceful . Everywhere in the hotel was clean. Food was first class and the entertainment was outstanding particularly on the Scottish evening. Everyone in our party thoroughly enjoyed themselves. If you are in the hotel for the Scottish evening take something tartan with you. All in all a very special holiday for all of us.

Room Tip: wonderful views from sea facing rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rooster077
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Esplanade704070, Manager at Esplanade Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2012

Dear Guest, greetings from Esplanade Hotel, Dunoon!

Thank you very much for your feedback on our hotel through Trip advisor. We are happy to learn that your stay at our hotel was up to your expectations and that we were able to make your stay memorable by providing you the positive experience we endeavor to give to all our valued guests. We will make sure that your comments are shared to all the Staff. The positive ratings you gave us on Trip advisor are greatly appreciated and we hope we have the opportunity to be at your service again in the near future.

In the meantime if there is anything we can do to assist you please do not hesitate to contact us directly at 01369 704070 or please email me at manoj@sgehotels.com

Looking forward to welcoming you back soon and kind regards.

Best Regards

Manoj Cancar
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2012

We had stayed here before with my elderly mother in law , so knew what to expect. Our room was clean if not dated and in need of a revamp. Sadly, it was not what we had booked but staff were wonderfully helpful and offered us another room. We actually decided to stay in the original room solely for the fabulous views.
We did not stay for dinner because its not what we want for an evening meal, breakfast is ok but very "functional", although I did cause a stir asking if they provided a vegetarian option for breakfast. Yes, was the answer I could have eggs and tomatoes.
All in all the staff are wonderful, so it made the stay pleasant.

Room Tip: The front rooms are wonderful for views but some are very tired and dated. We had room 54 and it had...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AJDevine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Esplanade704070, Manager at Esplanade Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2012

Dear Guest

I would like to thank you for taking the time to leave a review on Trip Advisor.

Your feedback helps us build our business and improve our customer experiences.I am delighted to hear that you have rejoined us and had an equally wonderful break with us.I will pass all your wonderful comments onto the staff to let them know to keep up the good work.
I deeply regret that the room did not match expectations of you, I would like to reassure you that if you choose to give us another chance we can prove to you that this is an isolated case.
Again we are shocked that the breakfast was not satisfactory as our food always has such wonderful comments. We will address this with our chefs at once and i thank you for bringing it to our attention.

I would be delighted if you would give us another opportunity to serve you and show you that what you have experienced is not regular practice at the Esplanade Hotel.
We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kindest regards

Manoj Cancar
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2012

my partner and myself had a very enjoyable stay at the esplanade for night and found the staff to be excellent. A Good sized clean room with a beautiful sea view. Great value for money with a lovely breakfast. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank roselyn_mcfarlane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Esplanade704070, Manager at Esplanade Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2012

Dear Guest

Thank you for your kind comments regarding your recent stay at The Esplanade Hotel. Appreciative feedback such as yours inspires us to consistently provide our guests with the superior level of service they have come to expect from our Hotel.

Once Again thank you again for giving us your feedback, which is very much appreciated. We look forward to welcome you back in the near future.

In the meantime if there is anything we can do to assist you. please do not hesitate to contact me directly at 01369 704070 or please email me at manoj@sgehotels.com

Best Regards

Manoj Cancar
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2012

We were part of a large coach party staying at this hotel, rooms and food were excellent. Glorious views across the Clyde, very friendly staff. Will be going back again and would not hesitate to recommend this hotel.

Decent entertainment put on for us, the pick of which was a bubbly young lady called Sharon who put on a fantastic show for us on the Wednesday night. This girl can sing and how, sang any request put forward from sixties Billy Jo Spears to ABBA to Amy Winehouse. What a fabulous night we had. Don,t miss her.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ryan q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Esplanade704070, Manager at Esplanade Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2012

Dear Guest

Thank you for your kind comments regarding your recent stay at The Esplanade Hotel. Appreciative feedback such as yours inspires us to consistently provide our guests with the superior level of service they have come to expect from our Hotel.I will pass all your comments onto the staff and Sharon to let them know to keep up the good work.

Once Again thank you again for giving us your feedback, which is very much appreciated. We look forward to welcome you back in the near future.

In the meantime if there is anything we can do to assist you; please do not hesitate to contact me directly at 01369 704070 or please email me at manoj@sgehotels.com

Best Regards

Manoj Cancar

Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2012

My husband ,mother and myself visited the Esplanade hotel over Easter. We made the booking on the internet, so we really didn't know what it would be like.
We were in foer a lovely surprise.
The Hotel was 1st class.
Rooms were spacious, clean and modern with every facility you would want.
No skimping on the tea, coffee, milk etc in the rooms.
The food was excellent, plentiful, and the staff came round offering more if you wanted it.
Beautiful 5 course evening meal, and lovely breakfast.
The staff were very pleasant, and nothing was too much trouble for them.
We had entertainment in the evening, and it was also very good.
The tariff for all this was extremely reasonable.
Certainly worth going again, and would certainly recommend it to anyone.
A really relaxing time was had by us all.

Room Tip: our room was chosen for us, and we had no complaints.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mags1Huddersfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Esplanade704070, Manager at Esplanade Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2012

Dear Guest, greetings from Esplanade Hotel, Dunoon!

Thank you very much for your feedback on our hotel through Trip advisor. We are happy to learn that your stay at our hotel was up to your expectations and that we were able to make your stay memorable by providing you the positive experience we endeavor to give to all our valued guests. We will make sure that your comments are shared to all the Staff. The positive ratings you gave us on Trip advisor are greatly appreciated and we hope we have the opportunity to be at your service again in the near future.

In the meantime if there is anything we can do to assist you please do not hesitate to contact me directly at 01369 704070 or please email us at manoj@sgehotels.com

Looking forward to welcoming you back soon and kind regards.

Best Regards

Manoj Cancar

Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dunoon hotels
0.2 mi away
Argyll Hotel
Argyll Hotel
#1 of 11 in Dunoon
1,005 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hunters Quay Hotel
Hunters Quay Hotel
#3 of 11 in Dunoon
274 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Park Hotel
The Park Hotel
#5 of 11 in Dunoon
209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Glenmorag Hotel
Glenmorag Hotel
#10 of 11 in Dunoon
504 reviews
1.8 mi away
Royal Marine
Royal Marine
#9 of 11 in Dunoon
298 reviews
0 mi away
St. Ives Hotel
St. Ives Hotel
#7 of 11 in Dunoon
103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Esplanade Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Esplanade Hotel

Address: Victoria Parade, Dunoon PA23 7HU, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Cowal Peninsula > Dunoon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Dunoon
#3 Romantic Hotel in Dunoon
Price Range: £57 - £102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Esplanade Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Esplanade Hotel is located on the West Bay, Dunoon. You are only a five mins walk away from the town centre and you can enjoy the tranquil views across the West bay. Modern and luxurious accommodation available for you during your relaxing stay. The hotel offers delicious homemade dinners and true Scottish breakfasts so you can indulge with a tipple or two from a Malt and Wine cellar. Looking forward to having your company with us at The Esplanade Hotel known as being a home away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Esplanade Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Esplanade Hotel Dunoon, Argyll And Bute

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing