We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great chillout”
Review of Esplanade Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Esplanade Hotel
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Dunoon
Certificate of Excellence
Falkirk
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great chillout”
Reviewed 13 August 2012

Needed somwhere to chillout for the weekend and this was the right place to do it. Great views across the bay with a lovely garden to sit in and enjoy the sunshine, Drink prices were OK the lager was under £3 per pint so compatible with most pubs. The hotel sits just on the edge of Dunoon so not far to walk to the shops and pubs, Castle, theatre, Cinema plenty going on.
Was on an easy break deal so breakfast and a 5 course dinner was included. Dinner was good service was quick, not a huge choice of menu but what there was excellent, my wife usually finds some fault with the food at most off the hotels we visit but there was not a complaint ( Im still dumstruck about that) here.
Good clean hotel enjoyed my break immensly and a lot of that was down to the hotel and staff if I come to Dunoon again I will certainly be staying here.
Tip for western ferry tickets from Gourock to Dunoon buy them from Pauls mini market in shore street Gourock they are an official ticket agent, you can save on tickets £20.80 for a car + driver and passenger from there £37.60 on the ferry.

Room Tip: Try and get one of the rooms facing the bay as the view is excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PCS121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Esplanade704070, General Manager at Esplanade Hotel, responded to this review, 17 August 2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.



Dear Guest

Thank you for your kind comments regarding your recent stay at The Esplanade Hotel. Appreciative feedback such as yours inspires us to consistently provide our guests with the superior level of service they have come to expect from our Hotel.

Once Again thank you again for giving us your feedback, which is very much appreciated. We look forward to welcome you back in the near future.

In the meantime if there is anything we can do to assist you; please do not hesitate to contact us directly at 01369 704070 or please email me at manoj@sgehotels.com

Best Regards

Manoj Cancar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

640 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    307
    202
    77
    25
    29
See reviews for
92
344
26
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (250)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2012

Thought the decor a bit tired and the room could have been cleaner. The shower was rubbish, either scalding hot with a good stream of water or a bearable temperature with only a drizzle. We didn't have an evening meal as we were put off by the horrible breakfast. The food appeared to be microwaved from frozen. The dining room was also very busy as this hotel has a lot of coach trippers. The staff were pleasant and helpful and the view from our room over the water was great.

Room Tip: Ask for a room looking over the water
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rudydog7850
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Esplanade704070, General Manager at Esplanade Hotel, responded to this review, 17 August 2012
Dear Guest

I would like to thank you for taking the time to leave a review on Trip Advisor.

Your feedback helps us build our business and improve our customer experiences.I am delighted to hear that you have rejoined us and had an equally wonderful break with us.I will pass all your wonderful comments onto the staff to let them know to keep up the good work.

I deeply regret that the room did not match expectations of you, I would like to reassure you that if you choose to give us another chance we can prove to you that this is an isolated case.

Again we are shocked that the breakfast was not satisfactory as our food always has such wonderful comments. We will address this with our chefs at once and i thank you for bringing it to our attention.

I would be delighted if you would give us another opportunity to serve you and show you that what you have experienced is not regular practice at the Esplanade Hotel.
We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kindest regards

Manoj Cancar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wrexham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2012

Ok so the hotel does look a bit dated...I'd say it had character....but the rooms are totally refurbished and are clean and tidy with tv and all the usual amenities. Housekeeping was excellent room was cleaned properly, not just a 'wipe over'. Meals were outstanding with plenty of choice and more than enough to fill with more available if requested. Entertainment was put on each night and was very good..even better if you joined in.
The Staff...put bluntly they made the holiday...nothing was too much trouble for any of them....
Stevan behind the bar worked tirelessly up and down the stairs with guests drinks orders...and didn't spill one drop !!
A special mention has to be made for Manoj...the Manager...always helpful and smiling, the banter at mealtimes was hilarious without being demeaning to any of the guests or himself and he still managed to serve the meals with maximum efficiency and minimum fuss. No one felt 'left out' as he put the effort in to interact with everybody.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Esplanade704070, General Manager at Esplanade Hotel, responded to this review, 17 August 2012
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Esplanade Hotel, Dunoon!

Thank you very much for your feedback on our hotel through Trip advisor. We are happy to learn that your stay at our hotel was up to your expectations and that we were able to make your stay memorable by providing you the positive experience we endeavor to give to all our valued guests. We will make sure that your comments are shared to all the Staff. The positive ratings you gave us on Trip advisor are greatly appreciated and we hope we have the opportunity to be at your service again in the near future.

In the meantime if there is anything we can do to assist you please do not hesitate to contact us directly at 01369 704070 or please email me at manoj@sgehotels

Looking forward to welcoming you back soon and kind regards.


Best Regards

Manoj Cancar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2012

Nice location and our room was newly refurbished, clean and spacious.
We didn't have a chance to try the food as they only serve dinner between 7 and 8pm in the evening and breakfast finishes at 9.30am!!! (check out is a bit tight at 10am)
We were recommended a local restaurant for dinner and that was fine (and cheap)

The reception staff were very polite, helpful and friendly.

Room Tip: ask for a ground floor sea view room...they are lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Simpsons715
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Esplanade704070, Manager at Esplanade Hotel, responded to this review, 3 August 2012
Dear Guest
Thank you for your kind comments regarding your recent stay at The Esplanade Hotel. Appreciative feedback such as yours inspires us to consistently provide our guests with the superior level of service they have come to expect from our Hotel.

Once Again thank you again for giving us your feedback, which is very much appreciated. We look forward to welcome you back in the near future.
In the meantime if there is anything we can do to assist you; please do not hesitate to contact us directly at 01369 704070 or please email me at manoj@sgehotels.com

Best Regards

Manoj Cancar

Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2012

Had a 2 night break through easy breaks. The hotel does look a bit dated, but I liked the character it had, very homely and peaceful. Had a lovely room on ground floor, looking out to beautiful garden and the bay. Room was clean, modern and warm. The bathroom with shower over bath very clean. Breakfast and evening meal was very good. The majority of guests are older but spoke to quite a few other guests and they were all frequent visitors. Entertainment both nights was a singer, the bloke on the Friday night, Steve I think he was called was very good, but didn't play long as he had a ferry to catch. Drinks are very reasonable price served by a happy pleasant lad. Dunoon is a lovely town and would definitely go back to this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank weeduck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Esplanade704070, General Manager at Esplanade Hotel, responded to this review, 25 July 2012
Dear Guest, greetings from Esplanade Hotel, Dunoon!

Thank you very much for your feedback on our hotel through Trip advisor. We are happy to learn that your stay at our hotel was up to your expectations and that we were able to make your stay memorable by providing you the positive experience we endeavor to give to all our valued guests. We will make sure that your comments are shared to all the Staff. The positive ratings you gave us on Trip advisor are greatly appreciated and we hope we have the opportunity to be at your service again in the near future.

In the meantime if there is anything we can do to assist you please do not hesitate to contact us directly at 01369 704070 or please email me at manoj@sgehotels

Looking forward to welcoming you back soon and kind regards.


Best Regards

Manoj Cancar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ripley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 July 2012

Just returned from a 5-night break at the Esplanade Hotel, Dunoon. We found the hotel to be clean and tidy, and all the staff were friendly and obliging. The hot water in the bathroom was almost instant. The dining-room staff were excellent and the food first class and plentiful. Good quality entertainment was provided every night with the Scottish night being especially memorable. Many thanks to all concerned.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Everet L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Esplanade704070, Manager at Esplanade Hotel, responded to this review, 19 July 2012
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Esplanade Hotel, Dunoon!

Thank you very much for your feedback on our hotel through Trip advisor. We are happy to learn that your stay at our hotel was up to your expectations and that we were able to make your stay memorable by providing you the positive experience we endeavor to give to all our valued guests. We will make sure that your comments are shared to all the Staff. The positive ratings you gave us on Trip advisor are greatly appreciated and we hope we have the opportunity to be at your service again in the near future.

In the meantime if there is anything we can do to assist you please do not hesitate to contact us directly at 01369 704070 or please email me at manoj@sgehotels.com

Looking forward to welcoming you back soon and kind regards.

Best Regards

Manoj Cancar
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2012

Stayed at the Esplanade Hotel from 25 - 27 June 2012 for a short break with my wife & the in-laws. The hotel established 1945 is a wee bit dated in places - mixed matched furniture in the lounge, entertainment room & dining room lets it down, but well deserving of it's 3 star status. It has 1 lift that services the 3 floors to main part of the hotel, sited on the sea front, 10 minute walk to the town centre with a varity of shops, cafe’s & bars. Easy walks along the promenade.
Our room was on the 3rd floor, big enough for 2, very clean, dated decor, flat screen freeview TV, en-suite with bath & shower (shower curtain), bed was comfy and tea & coffee provided. The in-laws sea front room on the ground floor was slightly larger with a updated style to suit a 4 star rating.
The food served at breakfast and evening meals (5 courses) were very good, varied daily & served to your table by very nice waiters/waitresses with a smile.
The Staff from the Cleaners to the Manger were all polite & helpful, all requests catered too.
Drinks served at Hotel prices - £2.95 for a lager/beer, spirits & wines over-priced. Did not enjoy the Bitter/Heavy (something Best), very hoppy so opted for the lager.
Entertainment, we had 2 nights of singers, very good, 3rd night was a Scottish Night with Scottish dancers, music & banter - excellent. It all started with us all being bag-piped into the evening meal (a small portion of haggis, tatties (potatoes) & neps (turnip) was served as part of the meal.
Overall, we all had a nice break and would stay at the Esplanade Hotel again.
If you fancy a stay at the Esplanade, for best prices, I would recommend you either book your stay by contacting the hotel by telephone 01369 704070 or their website www.sgehotels.com – email relax@ehd.co.uk.
Ferry from Greenock to Dunoon was £11.50 (Car) & £4.10 (Passenger) single journey, you pay on the ferry.

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms (39 onwards) are a bit more updated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jimb053
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Esplanade704070, Manager at Esplanade Hotel, responded to this review, 19 July 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for your kind comments regarding your recent stay at The Esplanade Hotel. Appreciative feedback such as yours inspires us to consistently provide our guests with the superior level of service they have come to expect from our Hotel.

Regards to your room and certain areas we refurbish rooms every often, most of the rooms in the hotel is Refurbished and we will continue doing the other rooms as we get a chance to do. And for your next visit we will get you a nice room like you’re in laws room.

Once Again thank you again for giving us your feedback, which is very much appreciated. We look forward to welcome you back in the near future.

In the meantime if there is anything we can do to assist you; please do not hesitate to contact me directly at 01369 704070 or please email me at manoj@sgehotels.com

Best Regards

Manoj Cancar
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dunoon hotels
0.2 mi away
Argyll Hotel
Argyll Hotel
#1 of 11 in Dunoon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 939 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Park Hotel
The Park Hotel
#6 of 11 in Dunoon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
0.6 mi away
Abbot's Brae Hotel
Abbot's Brae Hotel
#2 of 11 in Dunoon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Hunters Quay Hotel
Hunters Quay Hotel
#3 of 11 in Dunoon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
0.2 mi away
Selborne Hotel
Selborne Hotel
#7 of 11 in Dunoon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
0.5 mi away
Glenmorag Hotel
Glenmorag Hotel
#10 of 11 in Dunoon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Esplanade Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Esplanade Hotel

Property: Esplanade Hotel
Address: Victoria Parade, Dunoon PA23 7HU, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Cowal Peninsula > Dunoon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Dunoon
#3 Business Hotel in Dunoon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Esplanade Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Esplanade Hotel is located on the West Bay, Dunoon. You are only a five mins walk away from the town centre and you can enjoy the tranquil views across the West bay. Modern and luxurious accommodation available for you during your relaxing stay. The hotel offers delicious homemade dinners and true Scottish breakfasts so you can indulge with a tipple or two from a Malt and Wine cellar. Looking forward to having your company with us at The Esplanade Hotel known as being a home away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Esplanade Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Esplanade Hotel Dunoon, Argyll And Bute

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing