We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional Hotel”
Review of Esplanade Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Esplanade Hotel
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Dunoon
Sandbank, null, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Exceptional Hotel”
Reviewed 16 November 2012

Got married in The Esplanade Hotel on the 3rd November. Quite possibly the best service I have ever received in a hotel or anywhere. From food to rooms to service to quality of staff. Second to none. Absolutely fantatic. Also wedding planner Laura takes top marks.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Graham B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Esplanade704070, General Manager at Esplanade Hotel, responded to this review, 21 November 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your feedback on our hotel through Trip advisor. We are happy to learn that your stay at our hotel was up to your expectations and that we were able to make your stay memorable by providing you the positive experience we endeavor to give to all our valued guests. We will make sure that your comments are shared to all the Staff. The positive ratings you gave us on Trip advisor are greatly appreciated and we hope we have the opportunity to be at your service again in the near future.

In the meantime if there is anything we can do to assist you please do not hesitate to contact us directly at 01369 704070 or please email me at manoj@sgehotels.com

Looking forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best Regards

Cancar Manoj
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

645 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    309
    204
    78
    25
    29
See reviews for
93
347
26
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (250)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2012

This hotel has a string of good reviews and my experience of it reflects those experiences except in one regard.
The hotel is bright,well decorated and meticulously clean.Much of the furniture however is very tired and there is no clear theme in any of the decoration which makes it clear that this is a 2 Star hotel.
There is a lift and free WiFi that is very weak and only on the ground floor.There is only a very small lounge area with views to the sea.Parking is likely to be limited.
It is important to specify a room at the front of the hotel with a sea view at least.Other rooms at the back are likely to have frosted glass windows with no view whatever.
There are a cluster of rooms off the narrow entrance lobby (the entrance to the hotel is at the rear of the building and not at the front as shown in photographs).These rooms are clean but very small with a tiny en-suite shower room about 3 feet wide presenting a struggle to wash & shower comfortably.The bathroom suites are new however.The biggest problems with these rooms is the constant noise up to midnight of people going to and fro from the hotel entrance to reception.
Food is plain but well presented and dining room staff are courteous and efficient.
The hotel caters for coach parties most of whom are elderly but surprisingly boisterous - at times noisy.
This hotel is good for a comfortable stay of a few days probably as a base for touring around Argyle & Bute.

Room Tip: Make sure you have a room with a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChrisStaly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Esplanade704070, General Manager at Esplanade Hotel, responded to this review, 21 November 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for your kind comments regarding your recent stay at The Esplanade Hotel.

Regret to know that room doesnt meet your expectations.this experience in the eplsnade hotel is isolated.

I would be delighted if you would give us another opportunity to serve you and show you that what you have experienced is not regular practice at the Esplanade Hotel.
We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

In the meantime if there is anything we can do to assist you. please do not hesitate to contact me directly at 01369 704070 or please email me at manoj@sgehotels.com

Best Regards

Manoj Cancar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dumbarton
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 November 2012

We stayed there on Sat 10th November. This was our 2nd visit and we would definitely recommend this hotel. The sea view rooms are lovely and ours had recently been refurbished by the look of it. The staff are all very friendly and helpful. The manager went out of his way to get us a quick dinner before we went out on Sat evening and it was very nice. We hope to return again in the near future.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Esplanade704070, General Manager at Esplanade Hotel, responded to this review, 21 November 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your feedback on our hotel through Trip advisor. We are happy to learn that your stay at our hotel was up to your expectations and that we were able to make your stay memorable by providing you the positive experience we endeavor to give to all our valued guests. We will make sure that your comments are shared to all the Staff. The positive ratings you gave us on Trip advisor are greatly appreciated and we hope we have the opportunity to be at your service again in the near future.

In the meantime if there is anything we can do to assist you please do not hesitate to contact us directly at 01369 704070 or please email me at manoj@sgehotels.com

Looking forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best Regards

Cancar Manoj
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2012

Visited here with my partner and my 90 year old Mum and was very impressed by the service. My mother has to use a wheelchair - although she can manage a few steps (which there are down to the restaurant) As soon as staff realised this they changed our allocated table in the dining room and the reserved single room to reduce the number of steps my mother would need to negotiate. We were on a LateRooms deal which was a very reasonalble £83 each for 2 nights DB&B. The bedrooms and the public rooms are all clean and tidy. The food was fairly basic but tasty. Portions were good - breakfast and dinner. Service in the dining room and the bar was very good. All of the staff were very helpful. The hotel is ideally situated on the front just past the ferry terminal it's a short walk into the main town. Highly recommended but bear in mind it's not totally wheelchair friendly if that is an issue (there is a lift to all floors)

Room Tip: Avoid the ground floor as the rooms are on the main corridor in and out of the hotel so may be noisy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RobertMary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Esplanade704070, General Manager at Esplanade Hotel, responded to this review, 21 November 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for your kind comments regarding your recent stay at The Esplanade Hotel. Appreciative feedback such as yours inspires us to consistently provide our guests with the superior level of service they have come to expect from our Hotel.

In the meantime if there is anything we can do to assist you. please do not hesitate to contact me directly at 01369 704070 or please email me at manoj@sgehotels.com

Best Regards

Manoj Cancar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 6 November 2012

My wife booked a holiday for our anniversary.i must say this was the best hotel I ever stayed so far.as my wife told them upon booking the room that its our anniversary they upgraded our room to beautiful sea view rom and bottle of wine in the room and surprised us.staff are so friendly that we felt home away from home.i was talking to the manager and he offered me Christmas package and I felt so welcoming that I booked my Christmas break.looking forward to see you all again..keep up all good work

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shawn2000007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Esplanade704070, General Manager at Esplanade Hotel, responded to this review, 15 November 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your feedback on our hotel through Trip advisor. We are happy to learn that your stay at our hotel was up to your expectations and that we were able to make your stay memorable by providing you the positive experience we endeavor to give to all our valued guests. We will make sure that your comments are shared to all the Staff. The positive ratings you gave us on Trip advisor are greatly appreciated and we hope we have the opportunity to be at your service again in the near future.

In the meantime if there is anything we can do to assist you please do not hesitate to contact us directly at 01369 704070 or please email me at manoj@sgehotels.com

Looking forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, Scotland
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2012 via mobile

Stayed in this hotel for the weekend. Nice, clean and friendly. Good food and fast service. Lovely waitress called Mary. Such a hard working lady.
Close enough to walk to Dunoon and enjoy a nice coffee and wander around the shops.
I would stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Toshers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Esplanade704070, General Manager at Esplanade Hotel, responded to this review, 6 November 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for your kind comments regarding your recent stay at The Esplanade Hotel. Appreciative feedback such as yours inspires us to consistently provide our guests with the superior level of service they have come to expect from our Hotel.

In the meantime if there is anything we can do to assist you. please do not hesitate to contact me directly at 01369 704070 or please email me at manoj@sgehotels.com

Best Regards

Manoj Cancar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prestonpans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2012

I'm going to divide this review into the good, the bad and the incredible.

The good: the room was clean, the bed was comfortable. The bathroom was almost clean. The female waiting staff was delightful and friendly.

The bad: The shower had only one temperature: scalding hot. I turned the lever to cold, left it running for 5 minutes and it was still the same hot temperature.

The breakfast was disgusting. Grey, soggy scrambled eggs the first day. You could choose from a breakfast menu with 'starters' and 'main course'. Incredibly pretentious sounding. The second day I chose poached eggs, having seen them at a neighbouring table the day before and they looked decent. I received one poached egg that had no egg white left. Imagine a small, white-coated golf ball. Calling this a poached egg was a bad joke. I don't know how often the sausages had been reheated - they were completely shrivelled. Not liking beans, I asked for a grilled tomato. What I received was a tinned plum tomato, heated up. Disgusting.

I had one lunch and two dinners in the hotel. Twice the soup was unbelievably oversalted - disgusting. To be fair, dinner was not bad, though definitely not great either.

I know that English was not the male waiting staff's first language, but honestly, how difficult is it to teach a waiter to ask 'What would you like'! What we got was a very rude, unfriendly 'What do you want' without a smile. I almost felt like apologising to the waiter for sitting there daring to want food.

The incredible: I had the misfortune of returning latish one evening and witnessing the hotel's neighbour unable to drive through her gate. The manager was outside and must have at some point promised the lady to put up cones before the hotel so that her gate would not be blocked. That had apparently never happened and when she challenged the manager he was unbelievably rude to her, finally ignoring her completely. The neighbour told him that as a courtesy she had not yet called the police regarding the situation - I sincerely hope she now does. I was shocked at the man's arrogance and behaviour.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MachairOrchid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Esplanade704070, General Manager at Esplanade Hotel, responded to this review, 21 November 2012
Dear Guest

I would like to thank you for taking the time to leave a review on Trip Advisor.

Your feedback helps us build our business and improve our customer experiences.

I deeply regret that you had experience these issues during stay which is not a normal for esplanade guests.please accept our sincere apologies about the Inconvenience caused regards to the car park issue.I would like like to reassure you that if you choose to give us another chance we can prove to you that this is an isolated case.

Again we are shocked that the breakfast was not satisfactory as our food always has such wonderful comments. We will address this with our chefs at once and i thank you for bringing it to our attention.

I would be delighted if you would give us another opportunity to serve you and show you that what you have experienced is not regular practice at the Esplanade Hotel.
We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kindest regards

Manoj Cancar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dunoon hotels
0.2 mi away
Argyll Hotel
Argyll Hotel
#2 of 11 in Dunoon
950 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hunters Quay Hotel
Hunters Quay Hotel
#6 of 11 in Dunoon
238 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Park Hotel
The Park Hotel
#3 of 11 in Dunoon
184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Abbot's Brae Hotel
Abbot's Brae Hotel
#1 of 11 in Dunoon
450 reviews
0.2 mi away
Selborne Hotel
Selborne Hotel
#7 of 11 in Dunoon
184 reviews
1.8 mi away
Royal Marine
Royal Marine
#9 of 11 in Dunoon
248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Esplanade Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Esplanade Hotel

Property: Esplanade Hotel
Address: Victoria Parade, Dunoon PA23 7HU, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Cowal Peninsula > Dunoon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Dunoon
#3 Business Hotel in Dunoon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Esplanade Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Esplanade Hotel is located on the West Bay, Dunoon. You are only a five mins walk away from the town centre and you can enjoy the tranquil views across the West bay. Modern and luxurious accommodation available for you during your relaxing stay. The hotel offers delicious homemade dinners and true Scottish breakfasts so you can indulge with a tipple or two from a Malt and Wine cellar. Looking forward to having your company with us at The Esplanade Hotel known as being a home away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Esplanade Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Esplanade Hotel Dunoon, Argyll And Bute

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing