We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“wonderful location” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Esplanade Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Esplanade Hotel
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Dunoon
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“wonderful location”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2013

we loved the location of this hotel right on the promenade and a stones throw from the town.

we paid for a room with a view. well worth it to watch all the traffic on the Clyde. The room was recently refurbished very nicely.

the hotel is geared towards coach parties which was something of a downside. We didn't dine in the hotel despite planing to do so on at least one evening but breakfast was "hit and miss" - one day excellent one day poor and the third day mediocre.

would we stay again? not at this hotel - we will look for somewhere else to stay next time - just hope we can get as good a view.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank alan i
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Esplanade704070, General Manager at Esplanade Hotel, responded to this review, 5 October 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your kind comments regarding your recent stay at The Esplanade Hotel.

Regret to know that breakfast doesnt meet your expectations.this experience in the eplsnade hotel is isolated.

I would be delighted if you would give us another opportunity to serve you and show you that what you have experienced is not regular practice at the Esplanade Hotel.
We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

In the meantime if there is anything we can do to assist you. please do not hesitate to contact me directly at 01369 704070 or please email me at manoj@sgehotels.com

Best Regards

Manoj Cancar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

628 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    301
    202
    76
    21
    28
See reviews for
90
338
26
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (246)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2013

Arrived on a grey evening after a long journey and were greeted by a friendly gentleman who got us booked in and taken to our room.  The extra help with our suitcases was much appreciated.  As mentioned by other reviewers the hotel is slightly maze like, but that can add to the fun of it! We had beautiful sea view rooms, which were  the ground floor and also looked out over the gardens, which are very nicely kept.  We couldn’t enjoy them properly as the weather wasn’t very kind to us.  We didn’t partake in the evening meal as we had made arrangements with friends who live locally.  But, the breakfast was very good and filled us up for the day! I did partake in a few drams from the Whisky Cellar! Bar staff were very knowledgeable and choose a good couple of whiskies for me.  A very short stay, but would of liked to have stayed longer if we weren’t moving on to our next destination.  Tip, ask for a sea view! You won’t be disappointed!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mark5860
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Esplanade704070, General Manager at Esplanade Hotel, responded to this review, 24 September 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your feedback on our hotel through Trip advisor. We are happy to learn that your stay at our hotel was up to your expectations and that we were able to make your stay memorable by providing you the positive experience we endeavor to give to all our valued guests as you expected. We will make sure that your comments are shared to all the Staff. The positive ratings you gave us on Trip advisor are greatly appreciated and we hope we have the opportunity to be at your service again in the near future.

In the meantime if there is anything we can do to assist you please do not hesitate to contact us directly at 01369 704070 or please email me at manoj@sgehotels.com

Looking forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best Regards

Manoj Cancar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2013

Had to be moved here from our Hotel due to a broken lift! Pity we were not at this hotel from the start very friendly and helpful staff. 5 course dinner and food good, always well presented and hot. Our room was a bit cramped but considering we had been moved from the other hotel at the last minute we were grateful for anything. Only a few stairs to dining room but my wife was able to manage these as was another disabled guest, but staff on hand to help if needed.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin512
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Esplanade704070, General Manager at Esplanade Hotel, responded to this review, 24 September 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your kind comments regarding your recent stay at The Esplanade Hotel. Appreciative feedback such as yours inspires us to consistently provide our guests with the superior level of service they have come to expect from our Hotel.

In the meantime if there is anything we can do to assist you. please do not hesitate to contact me directly at 01369 704070 or please email me at manoj@sgehotels.com

Look forward to welcoming you soon.

Best Regards

Manoj Cancar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2013

Had a wonderful 5 day stay here, with my elderly father. Our rooms were on the ground floor, Dads was facing the sea and had a beautiful viewing area at the end of his room with a coffee table and chairs to sit and watch from. My room was nearby and very comfortable with a small garden view at the back of the hotel. Staff were excellent, nothing too much trouble, extra pillows were brought to the room straight away. Food very good 5 courses. Our waiter was very quick, and polite (Kamil) well done! Nice walk along the front each morning into town for the papers, even though the hotel had them, I preferred the fresh air walk before breakfast. Very pretty gardens at the front to sit out in during the summer.Thank you to Menoj and staff for a very good and well worth it break. Will come again.

Room Tip: Nice single rooms on ground floor at the front overlooking the bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alison P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Esplanade704070, General Manager at Esplanade Hotel, responded to this review, 16 September 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your feedback on our hotel through Trip advisor. We are happy to learn that your stay at our hotel was up to your expectations and that we were able to make your stay memorable by providing you the positive experience we endeavor to give to all our valued guests as you expected. We will make sure that your comments are shared to all the Staff. The positive ratings you gave us on Trip advisor are greatly appreciated and we hope we have the opportunity to be at your service again in the near future.

In the meantime if there is anything we can do to assist you please do not hesitate to contact us directly at 01369 704070 or please email me at manoj@sgehotels.com

Looking forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best Regards

Manoj Cancar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johnstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2013

Recently spent two nights on a DBB deal at the Esplanade hotel. Hotel a little tired but spotlessly clean. Food basic but well cooked and tasty. Every member of staff very pleasant and helpful. Great value for money. Well done to everyone at the Esplanade hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank preiss4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Esplanade704070, General Manager at Esplanade Hotel, responded to this review, 16 September 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your kind comments regarding your recent stay at The Esplanade Hotel. Appreciative feedback such as yours inspires us to consistently provide our guests with the superior level of service they have come to expect from our Hotel.

In the meantime if there is anything we can do to assist you. please do not hesitate to contact me directly at 01369 704070 or please email me at manoj@sgehotels.com

Look forward to welcoming you soon.

Best Regards

Manoj Cancar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wishaw, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2013

A first class hotel in every way Excellent service Good quality food and first class entertainment Well positioned for easy reach to town centre Lovely views across the Firth of Clyde if you are fortunate to have a room with a sea view Staff are very friendly and go out of their way to help you in every way possible

Room Tip: Would not hesitate in booking this hotel again
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brigade02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Esplanade704070, General Manager at Esplanade Hotel, responded to this review, 16 September 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your feedback on our hotel through Trip advisor. We are happy to learn that your stay at our hotel was up to your expectations and that we were able to make your stay memorable by providing you the positive experience we endeavor to give to all our valued guests as you expected. We will make sure that your comments are shared to all the Staff. The positive ratings you gave us on Trip advisor are greatly appreciated and we hope we have the opportunity to be at your service again in the near future.

In the meantime if there is anything we can do to assist you please do not hesitate to contact us directly at 01369 704070 or please email me at manoj@sgehotels.com

Looking forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best Regards

Manoj Cancar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2013

Spent Sunday to Wednesday at the above hotel, next year I will go back and spend Monday to Friday there ,as it is one of the best hotels I have visited, rooms are spotlessly clean and well furnished, five course meal every night which was lovely presentated and very tasty. Staff were excellent, nothing was to much for them. Management at the hotel must take credit for the hotel and the staff as they are the ones who set the standard, they employ and they train and they are all a credit to them.

Room Tip: They could ask for a sea view, we had a room overlooking the car park and we had no problem with it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Esplanade704070, General Manager at Esplanade Hotel, responded to this review, 16 September 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your kind comments regarding your recent stay at The Esplanade Hotel. Appreciative feedback such as yours inspires us to consistently provide our guests with the superior level of service they have come to expect from our Hotel.

In the meantime if there is anything we can do to assist you. please do not hesitate to contact me directly at 01369 704070 or please email me at manoj@sgehotels.com

Look forward to welcoming you soon.

Best Regards

Manoj Cancar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dunoon hotels
0.3 mi away
Argyll Hotel
Argyll Hotel
#1 of 11 in Dunoon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 921 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Park Hotel
The Park Hotel
#5 of 11 in Dunoon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
0.5 mi away
Abbot's Brae Hotel
Abbot's Brae Hotel
#2 of 11 in Dunoon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Hunters Quay Hotel
Hunters Quay Hotel
#8 of 11 in Dunoon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 213 reviews
0.5 mi away
Glenmorag Hotel
Glenmorag Hotel
#10 of 11 in Dunoon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 437 reviews
0.1 mi away
Selborne Hotel
Selborne Hotel
#6 of 11 in Dunoon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Esplanade Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Esplanade Hotel

Property: Esplanade Hotel
Address: Victoria Parade, Dunoon PA23 7HU, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Cowal Peninsula > Dunoon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Dunoon
#3 Romantic Hotel in Dunoon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Esplanade Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Esplanade Hotel is located on the West Bay, Dunoon. You are only a five mins walk away from the town centre and you can enjoy the tranquil views across the West bay. Modern and luxurious accommodation available for you during your relaxing stay. The hotel offers delicious homemade dinners and true Scottish breakfasts so you can indulge with a tipple or two from a Malt and Wine cellar. Looking forward to having your company with us at The Esplanade Hotel known as being a home away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Hotel.de and Priceline so you can book your Esplanade Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Esplanade Hotel Dunoon, Argyll And Bute

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing