We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Chintz without the Charm”
Review of Esplanade Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Esplanade Hotel
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Dunoon
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Chintz without the Charm”
Reviewed 27 October 2013

This is a family run hotel which is a standard, faded chintzy 3 starish establishment at the seaside. Pretty much what we expected, though dearer than would have been reasonable.

At checkin, the receptionist didn't know which rooms were twin and which were double. Excuses rather than solutions were offered when it was pointed out. The rooms were spacious though tired. We probably had two of the best rooms in terms of sea view, so we opted not to fuss about broken sockets, twin rather than double, etc.

The breakfast can only be described as bad. It was badly organised (we felt bad for the amazingly cheerful and incredibly hard working single member of staff in the restaurant). Badly resourced (Normal hotels would have had 3 or four staff for this number of guests). Bad quality - the beans sausage and hash browns were adequate. The poached eggs were hard and rubbery. The bacon, however, was great.

Come on, guys - this is not difficult to improve - every other hotel in the land has mastered the art of a mixture of cooked to order and cold buffet!

overall this is a hotel that is nowhere as good as it thinks it is. The staff should not refer to the guests as 'luv' this is only (just about) acceptable in the west country, Not argyll. We paid £75 a room B&B, but this was not worth more than £50 a couple.

Room Tip: rooms 23 and 26 are a good size, have great sea views. Note there only a bath with shower over in 2...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank iksloc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Esplanade704070, General Manager at Esplanade Hotel, responded to this review, 29 October 2013
Dear Guest

I would like to take this opportunity thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback on Trip Advisor and also to offer you my sincere apologies regarding the issues you have experienced at our hotel.
I would like to reassure you that feedback of this kind is very rare and ensure that you or any of our other guests do not experience such service.
Our aim is to ensure that all of our guests come and have an outstanding holiday. I only wish I had been aware of this during your stay as i could have intervened and ensured that you were enjoyed every bit of your holiday.
Again we are shocked that the breakfast was not satisfactory as our food always has such wonderful comments. We will address this with our chefs. And once again thank you for bringing it to our attention.

I would be delighted if you would give us another opportunity to serve you and show you that what you have experienced is not regular practice at the Esplanade Hotel.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kindest regards

Manoj Cancar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

647 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    310
    204
    79
    25
    29
See reviews for
93
349
26
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (251)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Prestonpans, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2013

We have just returned from a long weekend at the Esplanade Hotel Dunoon.. Hotel was spotless
Staff from the moment we arrived made us very welcome.. Rooms were very comfortable..
Menu was very good (5 course evening meal available) served by pleasant and very attentive staff
Entertainment was 1st Class throughout.. House was packed to overflowing. (did expect 3 of the Rat Pack) Otherwise entertainer was truly excellent. Our thanks go to Waiter/Barman Gary also Vick. Thanks for a great weekend..
Would recommend this Hotel to everyone...

Room Tip: Book 'Room with view' in advance..
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Esplanade704070, General Manager at Esplanade Hotel, responded to this review, 29 October 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your kind comments regarding your recent stay at The Esplanade Hotel. Appreciative feedback such as yours inspires us to consistently provide our guests with the superior level of service they have come to expect from our Hotel.

In the meantime if there is anything we can do to assist you. please do not hesitate to contact me directly at 01369 704070 or please email me at manoj@sgehotels.com

Look forward to welcoming you soon.

Best Regards

Manoj Cancar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Kilbride, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 15 October 2013

From the moment we all arrived, the manager and his staff made us feel so welcome. The hotel is very clean and the food was good. The manager gave all the guests who were not at the wedding a glass of wine with our meal for the small delay due to the wedding. This was a really nice touch. We would recommend this hotel and hope to be back soon.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Radarson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Esplanade704070, General Manager at Esplanade Hotel, responded to this review, 29 October 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your feedback on our hotel through Trip advisor. We are happy to learn that your stay at our hotel was up to your expectations and that we were able to make your stay memorable by providing you the positive experience we endeavor to give to all our valued guests as you expected. We will make sure that your comments are shared to all the Staff. The positive ratings you gave us on Trip advisor are greatly appreciated and we hope we have the opportunity to be at your service again in the near future.

In the meantime if there is anything we can do to assist you please do not hesitate to contact us directly at 01369 704070 or please email me at manoj@sgehotels.com

Looking forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best Regards

Manoj Cancar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Argyllshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 October 2013

My husband and I travel extensively through Scotland and rate this hotel as one of the best we have stayed in. From the lovely re furbished room with the bay windows and fabulous sea views(at no extra charge!), the wonderful food(5 course evening meal!), pleasant, attentive staff and standard of cleanliness second to none, we could not fault it! Wonderfully relaxing experience, we will be back! Well done to the manager, Manor and his team.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EASYBREAKERS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Esplanade704070, General Manager at Esplanade Hotel, responded to this review, 29 October 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your kind comments regarding your recent stay at The Esplanade Hotel. Appreciative feedback such as yours inspires us to consistently provide our guests with the superior level of service they have come to expect from our Hotel.

In the meantime if there is anything we can do to assist you. please do not hesitate to contact me directly at 01369 704070 or please email me at manoj@sgehotels.com

Look forward to welcoming you soon.

Best Regards

Manoj Cancar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worksop, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2013

just got back from a 5 day coach trip with BUCKLEYS OF BLAXTONand was very very happy with the service we had .many thanks to our driver MALCOLM on arrival some confusion as to where to find some of the rooms.they are on several split levels. there should have been someone there to assist . the problem was 2 coaches in at same time.GOOD POINTS staff very good and helpful .food was to die for .i have never been on a coach trip and had a 5 course meal includingcheese and biscuits.ROOMS our room was excelent comfy beds walkin shower plenty of hot water ample storage for clothes.entertainment very good .drinks price resonable the hotel is in need of a little TLC the lounge seating needs replacing The hotel is right on the sea front great views across the river CLYDE

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jon f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Esplanade704070, General Manager at Esplanade Hotel, responded to this review, 29 October 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your feedback on our hotel through Trip advisor. We are happy to learn that your stay at our hotel was up to your expectations and that we were able to make your stay memorable by providing you the positive experience we endeavor to give to all our valued guests as you expected. We will make sure that your comments are shared to all the Staff.

Regards to the lounge seating we are planned to refurb during winter.

The positive ratings you gave us on Trip advisor are greatly appreciated and we hope we have the opportunity to be at your service again in the near future.

In the meantime if there is anything we can do to assist you please do not hesitate to contact us directly at 01369 704070 or please email me at manoj@sgehotels.com

Looking forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best Regards

Manoj Cancar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 October 2013 via mobile

My friend got married here at the weekend. And what an amazing day it was, staff pulled out all the stops and made the day so special. The food was great, gardens were stunning & rooms a great size. The guy behind the bar was great, remembered what everyone was drinking all night. I can't fault the hotel, wedding or staff at all. Such a perfect day.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cw56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Esplanade704070, General Manager at Esplanade Hotel, responded to this review, 5 October 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your kind comments regarding your recent stay at The Esplanade Hotel. Appreciative feedback such as yours inspires us to consistently provide our guests with the superior level of service they have come to expect from our Hotel.

In the meantime if there is anything we can do to assist you. please do not hesitate to contact me directly at 01369 704070 or please email me at manoj@sgehotels.com

Look forward to welcoming you soon.

Best Regards

Manoj Cancar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Motherwell, Scotland, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 1 October 2013

I have just spent an amazing weekend at the esplanade hotel with all my family and friends for my son's wedding, absolutely Fantastic, we arrived on the Friday to a host of friendly staff who made us more than welcome , great 5course meal on the friday night , good entertainment on the friday night which kicked off our weekend, on the saturday Manog the manager was there from first thing making sure everything was to perfection, fabulous at his job , the waiting staff went the extra mile and were fantastic with all our guests , the meal at the wedding was lovely and presentation perfect , the accommodation spotless clean, louise the wedding coordinator was a darling run after us all day , i would highly recommend this hotel to anyone no mater what the event or just for a break can't wait to go back over to have a weekend break and see them all again, would just live to thank all the staff and the manog for making my son and his new wife's day so special

Room Tip: ask for see view , amazing
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Esplanade704070, General Manager at Esplanade Hotel, responded to this review, 5 October 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your feedback on our hotel through Trip advisor. We are happy to learn that your stay at our hotel was up to your expectations and that we were able to make your stay memorable by providing you the positive experience we endeavor to give to all our valued guests as you expected. We will make sure that your comments are shared to all the Staff. The positive ratings you gave us on Trip advisor are greatly appreciated and we hope we have the opportunity to be at your service again in the near future.

In the meantime if there is anything we can do to assist you please do not hesitate to contact us directly at 01369 704070 or please email me at manoj@sgehotels.com

Looking forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best Regards

Manoj Cancar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dunoon hotels
0.2 mi away
Argyll Hotel
Argyll Hotel
#2 of 11 in Dunoon
952 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hunters Quay Hotel
Hunters Quay Hotel
#6 of 11 in Dunoon
239 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Park Hotel
The Park Hotel
#3 of 11 in Dunoon
184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Abbot's Brae Hotel
Abbot's Brae Hotel
#1 of 11 in Dunoon
450 reviews
0.2 mi away
Selborne Hotel
Selborne Hotel
#7 of 11 in Dunoon
184 reviews
1.8 mi away
Royal Marine
Royal Marine
#9 of 11 in Dunoon
248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Esplanade Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Esplanade Hotel

Property: Esplanade Hotel
Address: Victoria Parade, Dunoon PA23 7HU, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Cowal Peninsula > Dunoon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Dunoon
#3 Business Hotel in Dunoon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Esplanade Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Esplanade Hotel is located on the West Bay, Dunoon. You are only a five mins walk away from the town centre and you can enjoy the tranquil views across the West bay. Modern and luxurious accommodation available for you during your relaxing stay. The hotel offers delicious homemade dinners and true Scottish breakfasts so you can indulge with a tipple or two from a Malt and Wine cellar. Looking forward to having your company with us at The Esplanade Hotel known as being a home away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Priceline, Hotel.de, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Esplanade Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Esplanade Hotel Dunoon, Argyll And Bute

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing