We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“First rate” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Esplanade Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Esplanade Hotel
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Dunoon
Certificate of Excellence
Walsall, United Kingdom
1 review
“First rate”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014

Just returned from 4 days at this delightful hotel. Beautifully situated - good food, helpful staff (especially Sonia on reception and Robert on Bar duties). Good entertainment and wonderful Scottish Night to end on. Thanks to all, Manager Gary and all at the Esplanade Hotel, very happy to recommend your Hotel

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank blastock r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary S, General Manager at Esplanade Hotel, responded to this review, 7 June 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for your kind comments regarding your recent stay at The Esplanade Hotel. Appreciative feedback such as yours inspires us to consistently provide our guests with the superior level of service they have come to expect from our Hotel.

In the meantime if there is anything we can do to assist you. please do not hesitate to contact me directly at 01369 704070 or please email me at gary.smith@sgehotels.com

Look forward to welcoming you soon.

Kindest regards

Gary
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

628 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    301
    202
    76
    21
    28
See reviews for
90
338
26
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (246)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014

this hotel good value for money good views over the clyde.restaurant excellent good choice of food.manager gary very welcoming,as was Robert in the bar ,room newly furbished and very clean.will visit again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stephen b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary S, General Manager at Esplanade Hotel, responded to this review, 7 June 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for your kind comments regarding your recent stay at The Esplanade Hotel. Appreciative feedback such as yours inspires us to consistently provide our guests with the superior level of service they have come to expect from our Hotel.

In the meantime if there is anything we can do to assist you. please do not hesitate to contact me directly at 01369 704070 or please email me at gary.smith@sgehotels.com

Look forward to welcoming you soon.

Kindest regards

Gary
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

We had a three night stay at the Esplanade in Dunoon over May/June 2014. The hotel was fine, the staff were extremely courteous, friendly and helpful, but my overall take was that the hotel is quite old-fashioned - that's not necessarily a bad thing, but it took us a little time to get use to!

The hotel appears to cater for more senior guests and is very sedate.

The layout is a little odd, with the 'main' door being the back door on to the promenade, which is locked at approx. 11.00pm, meaning you are then required to access the front door. From the promenade the front door is accessible via a long, dark, slightly intimidating passageway. Not at all very inviting.

The location of the hotel is excellent and if you were to have a room on the back the views are stunning. Unfortunately our room was on the side and looked out on to a wall.

All in all this was a very pleasant stay, dare i say far better then we'd anticipated when we first arrived.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the back overlooking the promenade, the views are stunning
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank regjop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary S, General Manager at Esplanade Hotel, responded to this review, 7 June 2014
Dear Guest
Thank you for your recent review. We are always happy to hear when our valued guests have enjoyed thier stay with us. We appreciate all comments as these allow us to continually maintain and improve on the already high standards of service and hospitality we provide. If any guests have any issues or concerns throughout thier stay we can act upon them at the time. I would like to point out that there are several ways to access the frnt door at night aloong well lit pavements, for future reference. We all hope that we can once again welcome you back to The Esplanade when you are in the area again on either business or pleasure.

Kindest regards

Gary
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rugby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014

What a lovely time we had. All staff very friendly and Robert in the bar was so helpful. Food was excellent. Wednesday is Scottish night with haggis on menu. Pipers and the dancing was amazing. Our room was so clean and comfortable with sea views and the lovely weather helped. Will come again. Thank you to all for a lovely time.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mandy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary S, General Manager at Esplanade Hotel, responded to this review, 1 June 2014
Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for your kind comments regarding your recent stay at The Esplanade Hotel. Appreciative feedback such as yours inspires us to consistently provide our guests with the superior level of service they have come to expect from our Hotel.

In the meantime if there is anything we can do to assist you. please do not hesitate to contact me directly at 01369 704070 or please email me at gary.smith@sgehotels.com

We all look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Kindest Regards

Gary
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014

We stayed for 2 nights earlier this week. My parents had a more recently decorated bedroom on the 1st floor, but my brother and I had a cramped and in-need-of-some-TLC twin on the first floor overlooking the car park. It was ok, but that's probably all I can say about it really. The main light bulb blew one day, there were no hooks in the entire room or bathroom (we hung towels to dry over wardrobe doors), and there was no sound insulation around the bedroom door, which meant that when the coach parties were getting up and going for breakfast from 6am, we could hear every person that went past, talking, wheeling cases etc. This didn't make for a very relaxing wake up! Breakfast was fine although all waiter service, which I think is a bit odd for cereal and juice etc. The position of the hotel was good for walking along the promenade, which is probably why it was popular with coach parties! I thought it was a little bit expensive for what it was, though would have been much better value if we'd had a room with a view.

Room Tip: I would avoid the ground floor if you're able bodied and go as high up and far away as possible...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenny K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary S, General Manager at Esplanade Hotel, responded to this review, 7 June 2014
Dear Guest
Thank you for your recently posted review. We at The Esplanade appreciate all comments from guests so that we can constantly improve and continue with the highest standards and level of service that we currently provide for all of our guests. Unfortunately all our rooms do not look out over the Clyde Estuary however guests can request these rooms when making thier reservation, subject to availability. If you had any concerns during your stay and they had been raised with any of the team here, we would have done our utmost to rectify any concerns that you had. If you would like to discuss this or any other matter you can contact me at garyssmith@sgehotels.com or contact reception on 01369 704070.
We all hope that you will once again come and stay with us at The Esplanade Hotel when you are next in the area for business or just a relaxing break.

Kindest regards

Gary
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014

Had a long weekend at the Esplanade hotel ( 5th visit ) and found it to be very relaxing. After a small ' hic-cup ' regarding our room, which was sorted by Gary, everything was fine . The food in the restaurant is of a very high standard and full marks to David the chef. All the staff were most attentive and could not do enough for you.
The position of the hotel is perfect, gardens leading onto the promenade, just so inviting to take a stroll before dinner. ( pity about the weather!! )
We will be back, hopefully when the sun is out.
Thanks to all the staff.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jambo9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary S, General Manager at Esplanade Hotel, responded to this review, 1 June 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for your kind comments regarding your recent stay at The Esplanade Hotel. Appreciative feedback such as yours inspires us to consistently provide our guests with the superior level of service they have come to expect from our Hotel.

In the meantime if there is anything we can do to assist you. please do not hesitate to contact me directly at 01369 704070 or please email me at gary.smith@sgehotels.com

Look forward to welcoming you soon.

Kindest regards

Gary
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakville, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

Just spent a delightful two weeks in May at the Esplanade Hotel in Dunoon, Argyll. An excellent location for a peaceful, relaxing holiday with no traffic passing the hotel. The sea-views are wonderful with beautiful gardens opening on to the West Bay Promenade. The waiters, room attendants and managerial staff were very friendly and most helpful. The evening entertainment was particularly enjoyable. We are planning for our next visit!

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms with sea views and easy access to the car-park and the Promenade are well suited...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AlexMcL2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary S, General Manager at Esplanade Hotel, responded to this review, 1 June 2014
Dear Guest
Thank you for your kind review. All of the Team at The Esplanade were very happy to find out that you enjoyed your stay so much and we all look forward to welcoming you back when you return in August.

Kindest regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dunoon hotels
0.3 mi away
Argyll Hotel
Argyll Hotel
#1 of 11 in Dunoon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 921 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Park Hotel
The Park Hotel
#6 of 11 in Dunoon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
0.5 mi away
Abbot's Brae Hotel
Abbot's Brae Hotel
#2 of 11 in Dunoon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Hunters Quay Hotel
Hunters Quay Hotel
#8 of 11 in Dunoon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 213 reviews
0.5 mi away
Glenmorag Hotel
Glenmorag Hotel
#10 of 11 in Dunoon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 437 reviews
0.1 mi away
Selborne Hotel
Selborne Hotel
#5 of 11 in Dunoon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Esplanade Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Esplanade Hotel

Property: Esplanade Hotel
Address: Victoria Parade, Dunoon PA23 7HU, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Cowal Peninsula > Dunoon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Dunoon
#3 Business Hotel in Dunoon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Esplanade Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Esplanade Hotel is located on the West Bay, Dunoon. You are only a five mins walk away from the town centre and you can enjoy the tranquil views across the West bay. Modern and luxurious accommodation available for you during your relaxing stay. The hotel offers delicious homemade dinners and true Scottish breakfasts so you can indulge with a tipple or two from a Malt and Wine cellar. Looking forward to having your company with us at The Esplanade Hotel known as being a home away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotel.de, Priceline, Ebookers, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Esplanade Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Esplanade Hotel Dunoon, Argyll And Bute

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing