We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“quality and service, location, its simply the best” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Esplanade Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Esplanade Hotel
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Dunoon
Certificate of Excellence
ayr
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“quality and service, location, its simply the best”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2011

five years we have gone to the esplanade hotel at hogmany, that should say it all, its a wonderfull place at hogmany , the staff are amazing they cant do enough for you one person i have to mention is mary, she has been our waitress at meal times, an amazing lady, the manager is always on hand to see if everything is ok, michael, the waiter looks after your every need, the food is fab, i put on 4lbs during my stay and its little wonder the meals are first class, if i have a complaint it is the function suite, its a bit small,and you have to be quick to get a good seat, but the staff always help to get everybody in, the location of the hotel is a big plus, right on the beach, with no cars anywhere, the prom runs along outside the front door, its great for a walk ,and there are cafes along the way, the view from the first floor bay window rooms is amazing looking across to the mainland, to get there you can get the ferry at gourock and you are there in 20mins, or the scenic drive around loch lomand up to arrochar and down to dunoon, the esplanades sister hotel, is also first class, its called the argyl, and has the same high standards, the owners came up and met everybody at hogmany, jasmine was so nice and danced with the guests, yes i think you know what i think of the esplanade hotel its simply the best,,,

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank costasanny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

628 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    301
    202
    76
    21
    28
See reviews for
90
338
26
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (246)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Lincoln, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2010

This was my first break in 9yr. i travelled and then shared a room with my mother. The accomodation and the staff were very friendly and helpful. The room and the entertainment were great. As for the food well it was scrumptuous and plentiful.I feel it a shame that this hotel doesnt have more stars and would recommend it.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank megane06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Telford, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 December 2010

I have never been to Scotland before, my sister asked me to take her on a turkey and tinsel holiday, I saws this one advertgised and booked, brilliant holiday would recommend it to anytone will certainlely go again. The service we received was second to none. The staff were welcoming and polite, the entertainment was good and we really had a great holiday.l

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank margaretnickless
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ayrshire scotland
Level Contributor
92 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2010

my wife and i had a long weekend here and really enjoyed it, even though it was low season and the hotel very quiet, we would perhaps like to try it in the high season,mind you, there was supposedly 80 guest arriving after we left on the monday.
however, the room we had was excellent and very warm, clean and with a brilliant view.
the food was very good, although the use of potato crocquets and the same kind of boiled potatoes was slightly annoying but enjoyable, we would have liked a wee change now and again, eg. roast or chipped potatoes. the one thing we didnt enjoy was the roast lamb on the first night, very difficult to cut or eat, other than that , we did enjoy the meals. the staff in the dinning area do tend to hang about which can be a bit annoying but they are efficient, to much time i would think maybe different when full.
we could get a drink at the bar by ringing a bell for attention, the staff must have been multi tasking as the hotel was so quiet, but we didnt expect anything else.
the hotel did have a smell of what we thought was dampness, but it did look clean and tidy and the christmas decorations were up.
we may go back , just to see what its like when busy .

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank boaz64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Skegness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2010

I was unsure about this Hotel after reading old reviews, I am sure I must have clicked on the wrong hotel as there was nothing to complain about at all.
We were met at our coach by friendly efficient staff that had us on our way to our rooms instantly.
The meals were amazing, five courses every night. If you don't find anything you like then you are a very fussy eater.
I did not see a grumpy face at all on the staff, in fact I would say all the staff seemed to enjoy the job and the people they met.
I would recommend this hotel instantly
I suppose the only fault is that the building itself is a bit haphazard and the bedrooms are at first difficult to fathom out, but then that is part of staying at an old hotel, and the views are to die for.

  • Stayed September 2010
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank carolruler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Broxbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2010

This is our third visit to the Esplanade and we have thoroughly enjoyed them. We had a sea view room each time, and the panoramic vista of the Clyde estuary was magnificent. The rooms were kept to our liking. The food was great and plenty of it with an ample choice. The staff were very friendly and always helpful and ready for just a chat. The entertainers were in the main entertaining, and the Scottish childrens dancing was quite enjoyable. The Hotel, with a colourful front garden, is situated on the traffic free prom, just a short level walk from the town. We must not forget the manager, Manoj, who works very hard and goes out of his way to please his clients.A number of fellow guests commented that this was the best holiday hotel they had ever been to, and we had to agree. We would come back any time.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank maud55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2010

What a lovely, lovely hotel! Being a lone female traveller travelling for work, I often get a little concerned when checking into new hotels. The staff were very very efficient and discreet at check in.
Lovely atmosphere and a great location. Hotel is situated on the traffic free promenade so was very quiet, oh if only I hadn’t been working! Just a few minutes’ walk from the main town where i stumbled across a fantastic Italian Restaurant. Very modern and chic.
I upgraded to a sea view room, well worth it! I Spent 4 nights at the hotel, and ate in on three of those 4. The food was amazing and the menu choice was very varied. I was a little younger than a lot of the other guests, however the hotel has such a relaxing, homely atmosphere I felt very relaxed and at ease.
I will most definitely be back!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CrazycatEdinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dunoon hotels
0.3 mi away
Argyll Hotel
Argyll Hotel
#1 of 11 in Dunoon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 921 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Park Hotel
The Park Hotel
#5 of 11 in Dunoon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
0.5 mi away
Abbot's Brae Hotel
Abbot's Brae Hotel
#2 of 11 in Dunoon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Hunters Quay Hotel
Hunters Quay Hotel
#8 of 11 in Dunoon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 213 reviews
0.5 mi away
Glenmorag Hotel
Glenmorag Hotel
#10 of 11 in Dunoon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 437 reviews
0.1 mi away
Selborne Hotel
Selborne Hotel
#6 of 11 in Dunoon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Esplanade Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Esplanade Hotel

Property: Esplanade Hotel
Address: Victoria Parade, Dunoon PA23 7HU, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Cowal Peninsula > Dunoon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Dunoon
#3 Business Hotel in Dunoon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Esplanade Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Esplanade Hotel is located on the West Bay, Dunoon. You are only a five mins walk away from the town centre and you can enjoy the tranquil views across the West bay. Modern and luxurious accommodation available for you during your relaxing stay. The hotel offers delicious homemade dinners and true Scottish breakfasts so you can indulge with a tipple or two from a Malt and Wine cellar. Looking forward to having your company with us at The Esplanade Hotel known as being a home away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Agoda, Priceline, Hotel.de and Hotels.com so you can book your Esplanade Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Esplanade Hotel Dunoon, Argyll And Bute

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing