We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic Stay”
Review of Argyll Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Argyll Hotel
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Dunoon
Certificate of Excellence
Scotland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic Stay”
Reviewed 21 December 2011

We stayed at the Argyll Hotel on 16th and 17th December 2011 for the Christmas party nights. What a fabulous weekend it was! The rooms were spotlessly clean and modern, food was excellent and the staff were very friendly. Both the Abba tribute (fABBAlous) on Friday night and Jim Smart as Freddie Mercury were amazing nights with a great atmosphere. It was nice to see the staff and management getting involved with the party atmosphere and dancing with the guests. Made the weekend extra special. The Argyll Hotel go that little bit extra to ensure that guests are having a great time. First class!!!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hypnosong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scarlett M, Operations Manager at Argyll Hotel, responded to this review, 26 January 2012
Hi there! Many thanks for reviewing the Argyll Hotel. We are always thrilled to read that our guests have enjoyed their stay as much as we want them too. As you can probably tell we put a lot of hard work into our Tribute weekends and it is always fantastic to know that the hard work has been noticed. I will be delighted to pass your lovely comments over to our staff – who always like abit of a dance! We hope to see you back at the Argyll Hotel in the near future, but in the meantime many thanks for taking the time to write such kind comments. Kind regards, Scarlett.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

940 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    537
    242
    82
    35
    44
See reviews for
115
417
40
67
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (317)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2011

I enjoyed an excellent stay at this Best Western hotel. The room was pleasant and spacious and had been recently refurbished. The hotel is clean and the staff are accomadating and friendly. The hotel proves to be an excellent 'value' choice and if you are visiting Dunoon you will not go far wrong with this place.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JCMD51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scarlett M, Operations Managaer at Argyll Hotel, responded to this review, 26 January 2012
Hello there! Many thanks for reviewing our hotel. We are always thrilled to read that our guests have enjoyed their stay as much as we want them too. I will be delighted to pass your lovely comments over to our staff in all areas in the hotel. We hope to see you back at the Argyll Hotel in the near future, but in the meantime many thanks for taking the time to write such kind comments. Kind regards, Scarlett.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2011

We had a good stay at this centrally located hotel. The staff were efficient and friendly during our stay. The room was exactly what I would expect from a 3star seaside hotel although the four poster was an unexpected surprise. Breakfast was again up to standard for a hotel of this standard. This hotel proves to be excellent value for a short break and we hope to return in a few months.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GerardandKateGlas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scarlett M, Operations Manager at Argyll Hotel, responded to this review, 1 December 2011
Hello there. May i take a moment to thank you very much for leaving such kind comments about our hotel. To hear such positive feedback always gives the staff a buzz to know that they are living up to our guests high expectations. I am delighted to see that you were pleasantly surprised with your four poster bedroom, this are our pride and joy rooms so it is good to know our guests love them as much as we do. We hope that the Argyll will be your first port of call when you are next in the area. Many thanks once again, kind regards, Scarlett
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2011

Rooms.
Clean comfortable and tastefully finished

Breakfast
Nice, well cooked. Sausage could be better quality.

Dinner
Argyll room
Pleasant and enjoyed it
Italian tapas bar
Good value and quality better than the Argyll room

Staff
Friendly and welcoming

Moans?
No, really enjoyed it. Slight noise issue from club emptying across road that is all.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scarlett M, Operations Manager at Argyll Hotel, responded to this review, 1 December 2011
Hello there! Many thanks for reviewing our hotel. We are always thrilled to read that our guests have enjoyed their stay as much as we want them too. Delighted to see that you enjoyed eating in both our restaurants. I have taken on board your note about the sausages and we hope to have this sorted very soon. We hope to see you back at the Argyll Hotel in the near future, but in the meantime many thanks for taking the time to write such kind comments. Kind regards, Scarlett.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ayr, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2011

I stayed at this 'landmark' hotel and left after one sleepless night. The racket caused by unruly teenagers outside the hotel led to a sleepless night - well nearly sleepless, it was after 3am before i got to sleep and i had to leave at 9am.

The room, although i was informed had been refurbished, was of a very basic standard with a rather uncomfortable bed and a smell of dampness.

I did not have breakfast although maybe gladly so after my experience in their 'rio restaurant' the evening before (seperate review).

I complained to reception before I left but was met with what seemed like a well rehearsed 'we cant do anything about the noise' response. The room complaint was ignored.

There are clearly better places to stay and I for one will not try to save a 'couple of pounds' to end up with a far inferior stay to what others can offer, most imprtantly the lack of sleep.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KerryMJ78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dumfries, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2011

Am originally from the area (Toward) but was at a wedding in the town and wanted to be handy for getting home at the end of the evening. Apart from the fact I had no bath, the room was spacious and comfortable, the views of the sea were beautiful. Not sure if the hotel has rooms with baths but will look into this for my next visit, I stayed alone in a large double room, would like to enquire about family rooms for my next visit with my husband and young child. Staff were very nice and welcoming, food good.

Room Tip: Room 105 sea view and quite spacious, bright and airy
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jwp69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scarlett M, Operations Manager at Argyll Hotel, responded to this review, 24 November 2011
Hello there! Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel. I am really happy to see that you choose to stay with us and had such a great stay when you were back in Dunoon. We only have a few rooms with baths, however we will be more than glad to put down any requests for one the next time you stay. We also have a few family rooms, one in particular does have a bath if that was of interest to you. In the meantime, thank you once again for your kind comments. Kind regards, Scarlett.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2011

This hotel is excellent for a short break to Dunoon, really enjoyed the hotel and food, we had an upgraded room which was fantastic with a 4 poster bed and the best view in the place. Food at hotel was also good.

Room Tip: Upgarded room 101
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anne m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scarlett M, Operations Manager at Argyll Hotel, responded to this review, 24 November 2011
Hi there! Many thanks for taking the time to write a review on our hotel. We always appreciate it when our guests make the effort to let us know how we are doing. I am so pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope the next time you come to the area that we would be your first choice of hotel to stay in. Many thanks once again. Kind regards, Scarlett.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dunoon hotels
0.6 mi away
The Park Hotel
The Park Hotel
#6 of 11 in Dunoon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
0.2 mi away
Esplanade Hotel
Esplanade Hotel
#5 of 11 in Dunoon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 639 reviews
0.8 mi away
Abbot's Brae Hotel
Abbot's Brae Hotel
#2 of 11 in Dunoon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Hunters Quay Hotel
Hunters Quay Hotel
#3 of 11 in Dunoon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
0.7 mi away
Glenmorag Hotel
Glenmorag Hotel
#10 of 11 in Dunoon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 449 reviews
0.4 mi away
Selborne Hotel
Selborne Hotel
#7 of 11 in Dunoon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Argyll Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Argyll Hotel

Property: Argyll Hotel
Address: 54 Argyll Street, Dunoon PA23 7NE, Scotland (Formerly Best Western Argyll Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Cowal Peninsula > Dunoon
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Dunoon
#4 Romantic Hotel in Dunoon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Argyll Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Argyll Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Dunoon
Argyll Hotel Dunoon, Argyll And Bute

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing