We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good value and central location”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Argyll Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Argyll Hotel
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Dunoon
Certificate of Excellence
Ayr, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Good value and central location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2012

If you are expecting 4 or 5 star then you may have a moan but otherwise this a great hotel for an overnight stop. I was in Dunoon on business and due to a late end to the day I decided to stop here for 1 night.

The reception staff were extremely nice and accommodating and quickly arranged a room for me. The hotel is clean, well run and contrary to previous reviews, was rather quiet midweek so I slept well and undisturbed, I did not have dinner here but breakfast was your run of the mill scottish breakfast. There was no parking at the hotel but free on street parking is available outside.

Overall a clean, well staffed establishment and good value.

Room Tip: sea view rooms are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jacksayr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scarlett M, Operations Manager at Argyll Hotel, responded to this review, 10 February 2012
Hello there! Many thanks for reviewing our hotel. We are always thrilled to read that our guests have enjoyed their stay as much as we want them too. We hope to see you back at the Argyll Hotel in the near future, but in the meantime many thanks for taking the time to write such kind comments. Kind regards, Scarlett
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

933 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    536
    239
    80
    34
    44
See reviews for
114
413
39
67
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (316)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2012

Stayed overnight with husband and two friends, on a package that included Take That tribute band. From arrival to departure everyone couldn't have been more helpful. Staff are brilliant and food was excellent. Rooms good and attention to detail was super. Excellent value for money - we will be back! Thank you

Room Tip: Ask for sea view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jennifer P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scarlett M, Operations Manager at Argyll Hotel, responded to this review, 10 February 2012
Hello there! Many thanks for reviewing our hotel. We are always thrilled to read that our guests have enjoyed their stay as much as we want them too. Our Take This weekend went down a right storm with all our guests and locals alike! Keep your eyes peeled for more of our wonderful tribute weekends. We hope to see you back at the Argyll Hotel in the near future, but in the meantime many thanks for taking the time to write such kind comments. Kind regards, Scarlett
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2012

I had booked in one of the weekends of the december it was the 15th till the 18th and during my stay i came to know that it was about to be noisy on the in the hotel premises because the hotel had a tribute weekend happening of Freddie Mercury so as i was made the staff asked me if i would be fine and if not they were ready to give me another room higher on the third floor as my room was on the first floor i felt a bit pleased by the extra care that the entire staff took in the caring of every guest
Even in the instance of the party night the manager himself came up to me in the room to offer me a FREE entry in the party but due to a meeting next day with a friend i couldnt join the party
Overall i would like to complement the SGE hotel group in being so efficient in maintaing such a busy hotel and also in recruiting such great Manager and staff

- Danny

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dannyhighflyer2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scarlett M, Operations Manager at Argyll Hotel, responded to this review, 10 February 2012
Hello there! Many thanks for reviewing our hotel. We are always thrilled to read that our guests have enjoyed their stay as much as we want them too. I am thrilled to see that our staff went out their way to make feel at home. We hope to see you back at the Argyll Hotel in the near future, but in the meantime many thanks for taking the time to write such kind comments. Kind regards, Scarlett
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2012

I stayed in the Argyll hotel for only 1 night but had a really good experience. I am on a round trip for some time now and had some bad experiences with hotels, but here I was greated by a very friendly lady, who was very helpful. Some hotels do not like guests staying only 1 night but here I was greated by a polite and friendly staff. I did not feel aquared just checking in for 1 night. The room was very confortable and clean with a warm homely feeling. I also had dinner in the Hotel and enjoyed good dinner. I liked that the waiters were very quickly in serving me and they were also very polite spending a few minutes with me when I had questions. They also recommended to try their hot chocolate when I asked what would be a nice hot drink and I was very impressed. I had an excellent stay and I will return to this hotel in the future.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Blanche S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunoon
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2012

we went for a meal at the Argyll. we are locals and had not eaten there for a while. we found the waiting staff to be over bearing and the meal very basic, obviously frozen food quickly microwaved. the cost of the meal was horrific. asked for a cappacino to round off the meal, was served a hot sweet drink, still do not know what it was. standards have certainly slipped. will not be eating there again!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dunoonwitch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 December 2011

We stayed at the Argyll Hotel on 16th and 17th December 2011 for the Christmas party nights. What a fabulous weekend it was! The rooms were spotlessly clean and modern, food was excellent and the staff were very friendly. Both the Abba tribute (fABBAlous) on Friday night and Jim Smart as Freddie Mercury were amazing nights with a great atmosphere. It was nice to see the staff and management getting involved with the party atmosphere and dancing with the guests. Made the weekend extra special. The Argyll Hotel go that little bit extra to ensure that guests are having a great time. First class!!!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hypnosong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scarlett M, Operations Manager at Argyll Hotel, responded to this review, 26 January 2012
Hi there! Many thanks for reviewing the Argyll Hotel. We are always thrilled to read that our guests have enjoyed their stay as much as we want them too. As you can probably tell we put a lot of hard work into our Tribute weekends and it is always fantastic to know that the hard work has been noticed. I will be delighted to pass your lovely comments over to our staff – who always like abit of a dance! We hope to see you back at the Argyll Hotel in the near future, but in the meantime many thanks for taking the time to write such kind comments. Kind regards, Scarlett.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 December 2011

I enjoyed an excellent stay at this Best Western hotel. The room was pleasant and spacious and had been recently refurbished. The hotel is clean and the staff are accomadating and friendly. The hotel proves to be an excellent 'value' choice and if you are visiting Dunoon you will not go far wrong with this place.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JCMD51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scarlett M, Operations Managaer at Argyll Hotel, responded to this review, 26 January 2012
Hello there! Many thanks for reviewing our hotel. We are always thrilled to read that our guests have enjoyed their stay as much as we want them too. I will be delighted to pass your lovely comments over to our staff in all areas in the hotel. We hope to see you back at the Argyll Hotel in the near future, but in the meantime many thanks for taking the time to write such kind comments. Kind regards, Scarlett.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dunoon hotels
0.6 mi away
The Park Hotel
The Park Hotel
#5 of 11 in Dunoon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 169 reviews
0.2 mi away
Esplanade Hotel
Esplanade Hotel
#3 of 11 in Dunoon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 631 reviews
0.7 mi away
Abbot's Brae Hotel
Abbot's Brae Hotel
#2 of 11 in Dunoon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Hunters Quay Hotel
Hunters Quay Hotel
#7 of 11 in Dunoon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 221 reviews
0.7 mi away
Glenmorag Hotel
Glenmorag Hotel
#10 of 11 in Dunoon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 445 reviews
0.3 mi away
Selborne Hotel
Selborne Hotel
#6 of 11 in Dunoon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Argyll Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Argyll Hotel

Property: Argyll Hotel
Address: 54 Argyll Street, Dunoon PA23 7NE, Scotland (Formerly Best Western Argyll Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Cowal Peninsula > Dunoon
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Dunoon
#4 Romantic Hotel in Dunoon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Argyll Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Argyll Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Dunoon
Argyll Hotel Dunoon, Argyll And Bute

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing