We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GB Tours stay”
Review of Argyll Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Argyll Hotel
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Dunoon
Certificate of Excellence
Birkenhead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“GB Tours stay”
Reviewed 23 February 2013

Stayed at this hotel with a coach party of 28, 29 including the driver. Stayed dinner, bed & breakfast. Hotel staff & food good. Had a few problems with the room when we arrived but they where soon sorted out. Partner had his birthday while we where staying there and they arranged a cake for him at no extra charge. Would love to try one of their murder weekends.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carole P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
surya d, General Manager at Argyll Hotel, responded to this review, 24 February 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your stay with us and the lovely words of appreciation. Team Argyll strives to create this pleasure and comfort for all our guests. The fact that this is exactly what Team Argyll has been successful in achieving makes us happier and more motivated to continue the same endeavour.

Thank you once again for your 5 star rating and we hope to see you soon!

Regards
Surya Dev
General Manger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

950 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    539
    244
    85
    35
    47
See reviews for
117
424
41
67
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (317)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Upton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 4 nights,there was 29 of us on a coach party.we had breakfast and dinner which was excellent.the manager was really friendly and was asking everyone if everything was ok.At one dinner i didnt like any starters and the manager went out of his way to get me something i liked.Our room 108 was very good.I would really recommend this hotel,very good manager and friendly staff.

Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Kevevo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
surya d, General Manager at Argyll Hotel, responded to this review, 23 February 2013
Dear Guest


Thank you so much for taking the time for leaving a review on Trip Advisor. I am delighted to hear that you have been satisfied with your stay. It means a lot that you have taken the time to share your views and I hope we will continue to welcome you in the future. I look forward to welcoming you back.

Kindest Regards

Surya Dev
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Galloway, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2013

Wow y are u cooking get down to the carvery on a Sunday here .£5.95 bargain or 3 courses for £12.95 . The meal it's brill . I,ve been 4 times n it's all fresh n the staff are a credit to the hotel n chef u n ur kitchen staff well done . Best carvery I.ve ever had by far

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hopinmad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
surya d, General Manager at Argyll Hotel, responded to this review, 23 February 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you so much for taking the time for leaving a review on Trip Advisor. I am delighted to hear that you have been satisfied with your food and our offerings . It means a lot that you have taken the time to share your views and I hope we will continue to welcome you in the future. I look forward to welcoming you back.
Kindest Regards

surya Dev
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
glasgow
Level Contributor
62 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2013

We stayed at this hotel last weekend for the Whitney Houston tribute/Valentine break. Everything from check-in to check-out was dealt with efficiently and professionally by a very hands-on General Manager and his team. The food both nights was fabulous with my only critisism being the length of time it took to serve the dinner on the night of the tribute. All the staff thoughout the hotel were very friendly and welcoming and couldn't do enough for you, always checking you were ok and asking if you needed anything. The bar prices were very reasonable for both food and drink, the bar menu being even cheaper (and much nicer surroundings) than the menu from the pub across the road. Our room (108) faced onto the street and must admit we heard nothing from outside on both nights. A great friendly hotel with lovely staff and a manager who is always around making sure his guests are being well catered for. Will be back soon. Many thanks to you all

Room Tip: Room 106 which we have stayed in before has a twin aspect window so lovely and bright
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shazGlasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
surya d, General Manager at Argyll Hotel, responded to this review, 22 February 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your feedback on our hotel through Trip advisor. We are happy to learn that your stay at our hotel was up to your expectations and that we were able to make your stay memorable by providing you the positive experience we endeavour to give to all our valued guests. We will make sure that your comments are shared to all the Staff. The positive ratings you gave us on Trip advisor are greatly appreciated and we hope we have the opportunity to be at your service again in the near future.

In the meantime if there is anything we can do to assist you please do not hesitate to contact us directly at 01369 702059 or please email me at dev.surya@sgehotels.com

Looking forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best Regards

Surya Dev
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Towyn, Wales, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 18 February 2013

I stayed at the Argyll a few weeks ago now as my partner's company uses this hotel for him to stay in whilst working in Scotland. As we were travelling up for a tiring 5 hour journey, my partner rang the hotel and spoke to the manager to ask if it was ok that I stayed for the week with my partner. Although it was extremely late notice the manager was more than happy to help. On arrival we were very warmly welcomed by the staff on the reception desk, especially the manager. He told us to sit down and relax while he sorted out the room key in the back. We were both offered drinks on arrival courtesy of the manager of course, so we did. I couldn't have felt more welcome. He then explained where our room was and offered to carry our bags but as we only had two, we declined gratefully. During my stay I found the rooms to be clean and pleasant and the beds were very comfy. We were supplied with some essentials too (shampoo, shower gel, tea bags etc.) Every time we came into contact with any of the staff we found them to be extremely kind and friendly, just what you want when your in a place on your own (partner in work). Overall, I would definitely rate The Argyll an 'excellent'. I will look forward to returning again around Easter. Thank you for an enjoyable stay :)

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kayleigh C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
surya d, General Manager at Argyll Hotel, responded to this review, 20 February 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your feedback on our hotel through Trip advisor. All feedback we receive is greatly appreciated and we endeavour to make everyone’s stay here with us as pleasurable as possible.

Looking forward to welcome you back .

Kind Regards
Surya Dev
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 18 February 2013

Working for Scottish and southern electric we work away from home a lot, and I must say that the Argyll hotel must be one of the best I have stayed in.
The staff are very friendly the food is great, it so good I will be coming back in the summer with my wife ++++++

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ajt1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
surya d, General Manager at Argyll Hotel, responded to this review, 19 February 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you so much for taking the time for leaving a review on Trip Advisor. I am delighted to hear that you have been satisfied with your stay. It means a lot that you have taken the time to share your views and I hope we will continue to welcome you in the future. I look forward to welcoming you back.
Kindest Regards

Surya Dev
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2013

Stayed in hotel for two nights B&B in Tower room it was a fab room.On arrival we were warmly greeted by general manager Surya Dev & continued to be attentive throughout our stay.Highly recommend food & Staff in Rio Restuarant adjoining hotel.|Only one note of disappointment is the Brewery Pub across road from hotel its late licence means a lot of noise at takeaway & taxi rank think midnight curfew would be better otherwise could not fault management,staff & breakfast.Have stayed in hotel 4 times now will always stay there & recommend it very central for everything. M.Edwards

Room Tip: Sea VIew Rooms quieter because of pub.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maureen E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
surya d, General Manager at Argyll Hotel, responded to this review, 19 February 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your feedback on our hotel through Trip advisor. All feedback we receive is greatly appreciated and we endeavour to make everyone’s stay here with us as pleasurable as possible.

looking forward to welcome you back.

kind regards
Surya Dev
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dunoon hotels
0.2 mi away
Esplanade Hotel
Esplanade Hotel
#4 of 11 in Dunoon
645 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Park Hotel
The Park Hotel
#3 of 11 in Dunoon
184 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hunters Quay Hotel
Hunters Quay Hotel
#6 of 11 in Dunoon
238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Abbot's Brae Hotel
Abbot's Brae Hotel
#2 of 11 in Dunoon
450 reviews
1.6 mi away
Royal Marine
Royal Marine
#9 of 11 in Dunoon
248 reviews
0.7 mi away
Glenmorag Hotel
Glenmorag Hotel
#10 of 11 in Dunoon
457 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Argyll Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Argyll Hotel

Property: Argyll Hotel
Address: 54 Argyll Street, Dunoon PA23 7NE, Scotland (Formerly Best Western Argyll Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Cowal Peninsula > Dunoon
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Dunoon
#4 Romantic Hotel in Dunoon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Argyll Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Argyll Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Dunoon
Argyll Hotel Dunoon, Argyll And Bute

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing