We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best early Spring Break ever”
Review of Argyll Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Argyll Hotel
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Dunoon
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Best early Spring Break ever”
Reviewed 5 March 2013

Husband and I had 3 days 2 nights in Dunoon last week/. Weather spectacular. Cost for car, driver & passenger fantastic (bought ticket in Newsagents in Gourock & saved £17). Hotel allowed us to sit in comfort for a few mins. until our room was ready (12 noon). Room had a wonderful view up the Firth and had everything contained to make our stay extremely comfortable. Bed very comfy, 2 comfortable chairs to sit & enjoy the view with a cup of tea (all necessities supplied), 4 piece bathroom, hot towel rail, good lighting and loads of hot water. Food in hotel excellent. We enjoyed a superb dinner in Rio's Italian Restaurant (accessible from inside hotel but also access from the street). Staff - what can I say - never have we experienced such delightful, helpful, considerate, cheerful & happy people from the General Manager (who was outstanding) Reception, dining room, domestic, bar etc. Can 't wait to go back.

Room Tip: Well worth paying a small supplement to get a grand view - second floor rooms 112, 114 and 117 I wou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank raehutchinson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
surya d, General Manager at Argyll Hotel, responded to this review, 7 March 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your stay with us and the lovely words of appreciation. Team Argyll strives to create this pleasure and comfort for all our guests. The fact that this is exactly what Team Argyll has been successful in achieving makes us happier and more motivated to continue the same endeavour.

Thank you once again for your 5 star rating and we hope to see you soon!

Regards
Surya Dev
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

976 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    547
    252
    90
    39
    48
See reviews for
123
435
43
69
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (325)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2013

My husband and I spent the weekend on a Great Glasgow deal, we have no idea how this hotel makes any money from this as we had afternoon tea when we arrived despite it only being 2pm, we also got our room changed as the general manager asked how the room was and I just mentioned we had been at front of hotel in a previous visit he arranged to move us within 5 minutes as we prefered the other room what a star, we also had a 4 course dinner with wine included in the deal for the second night again the manager came up trumps and said we could have our meal when it suited us first or second night and he even said we could eat either in the hotel or in the Rio restaurant whatever suited us we opted for the Rio and it was superb again all in the original cost of deal so no further expense, the breakfast both mornings was amazing as made to order and I love my food hot this really was a fantastic meal with all staff very pleasant and helpful, we had upgraded to a 4 poster room and it was spotless and very big with no noise or issues

To sum up a perfect weekend if I have any issue there would just be one being the lack of entertainment in the hotel and sourounding area, but to remedy this we are going to come back on a tribute weekend and that would make it 10/10

The General manager is a credit to his hotel and was friendly to everyone just a wee word of caution sometimes he was too nice and seemed to try too hard not a bad thing, but just for him if he took a tiny step back he too would be perfect

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 060699
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
surya d, General Manager at Argyll Hotel, responded to this review, 7 March 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you for your stay with us and the lovely words of appreciation. Team Argyll strives to create this pleasure and comfort for all our guests. The fact that this is exactly what Team Argyll has been successful in achieving makes us happier and more motivated to continue the same endeavour.

Thank you once again for your 5 star rating and we hope to see you soon!

Regards
Surya Dev
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2013

Manager and staff at the Argyll are fantastic, checked in on arrival no problem, our room was spotless lovely view over the water, have stayed at The Argyll about six times now and every time has been great, the breakfast has everything you could want cold buffet,then you are served hot toast with tea or coffee and your hot breakfast order is taken breakfast is always freshly made and piping hot, we had dinner both nights first night two friends joined us meal was delicious, second night there were eight of us all food served piping hot everyone enjoyed the food great service and varied menu. The staff are a great team of people and nothing is a bother thank you everyone at the Argyll Hotel

Room Tip: Ask for sea view it cost's a bit extra but worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lindaglas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
surya d, General Manager at Argyll Hotel, responded to this review, 5 March 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you very much for writing a very detailed review of our property and services. I am very glad that you view Argyll SGE family as a brand which is very consistent and always delivers.

I am also grateful to you for your candid feedback. A big thank you for your kind words regarding I made it a priority to share your feedback and let them know of the good service they had provided you. It is refreshing to know that even though you had one bad experience it did not reflect on the staff as a whole which is very encouraging

Looking forward to welcome you back .

General Manager
Surya Dev
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2013

This is a top rated Hotel, Dev the manager and his team made our short stay so welcoming nothing was to much trouble. The room was excellent and had a great sea view. we will definately be returning to this superb hotel.

Room Tip: Room 114 great sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alastair L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
surya d, General Manager at Argyll Hotel, responded to this review, 5 March 2013
Dear Guest

It thrills me to read such great words of your implicitly great stay! Your special mention of the reception desk is very well taken. Since it is the face of the hotel, we expect it to be of the highest calibre. We take pride in our customer service quality and thank you for sharing that it is equally received in a similar fashion.

We look forward to your next visit in anticipation.

Regards
General Manager
Surya Dev
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 March 2013

My friend and I stayed here on a Glasgows Great Deal (a Xmas present to ourselves) on the 28th Feb for two nights.We had one of the best times :) From checking in (and managing to get ourselves a free upgrade!) to afternoon tea which after we didn't need any dinner that night!! The room was lovely , breakfast was superb all freshly cooked to order . And dinner in Rios what can we say ! One of the best meals ever The king prawns were to die for. They even changed the house wine to one we preferred at no extra charge We were sure we would be charged for extras after what we ate but no it was all included!!! We are rounding up our family and friends and can't wait to return. The staff are fantastic , so friendly and caring :) We will definitely be back to this gem Keep doing what you do it works WELL DONE and thank you all soooo much for making our stay with you so memorable. WE WILL BE BACK!!!!! Janette & Aileen from Paisley

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Murphytillie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
surya d, General Manager at Argyll Hotel, responded to this review, 4 March 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your stay with us and the lovely words of appreciation. Team Argyll strives to create this pleasure and comfort for all our guests. The fact that this is exactly what Team Argyll has been successful in achieving makes us happier and more motivated to continue the same endeavour.

Thank you once again for your 5 star rating and we hope to see you soon!

Regards
Surya Dev
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2013

We arrived on a Paul Birch Tours short break. From the time we arrived the manager and staff were friendly, courteous and helpful. Our luggage was duly delivered to our room.
Sometimes on coach tours, meals can be sometimes disappointing, but not here. We enjoyed a three course meal, with multiple choices, with tea or coffee to follow.
In the morning again an excellent breakfast was provided.
The manager, Mr Singh asked every one during the meals if everything was okay or if they needed anything.
After three short nights we reluctantly had to leave. Again Mr Singh bade us farewell and wished us a safe journey home.
We would recommend this hotel to our friends, and if we were ever up this way again, would choose this hotel.

Room Tip: Choose a room with a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Martyngate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
surya d, General Manager at Argyll Hotel, responded to this review, 3 March 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your feedback on our hotel through Trip advisor. We are happy to learn that your stay at our hotel was up to your expectations and that we were able to make your stay memorable by providing you the positive experience we endeavour to give to all our valued guests. We will make sure that your comments are shared to all the Staff. The positive ratings you gave us on Trip advisor are greatly appreciated and we hope we have the opportunity to be at your service again in the near future.

In the meantime if there is anything we can do to assist you please do not hesitate to contact us directly at 01369 702059 or please email me at dev.surya@sgehotels.com

Looking forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best Regards
Surya Dev
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2013

I read a few comments regarding this hotel some were complaining about the food and noise some about the bedrooms. I decided to take a look ourselves. When we arrived the room was not ready but it was because the other guests did not leave their room till after 11am so decided to wait in the bar which was cosy and had a good view. When we did get in our room it was clean and big enough considering we were only sleeping there it was big enough. The sink in the ensuite was a bit tiny but the shower was ample. We only ate once in the hotel but I made a mistake in ordering the Haggis neeps and tatties which I ate but did not really enjoy that much not their fault suppose its something you either like or not. All in all it was a pleasant stay regarding the noise there is a bar oppisite the hotel which on a friday has a disco which can be noisy but not for long.

Room Tip: Ask for one away from the pub if you are a light sleeper.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
surya d, General Manager at Argyll Hotel, responded to this review, 28 February 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your positive feedback on your stay in the hotel. It makes us happy to hear such words of satisfaction from our guests. Team ARGYLL is happy to have been a part of it.
Meanwhile, we are looking forward for your next trip to Dunoon , and stay with us.


Regards,

Surya Dev
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dunoon hotels
0.2 mi away
Esplanade Hotel
Esplanade Hotel
#5 of 11 in Dunoon
682 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hunters Quay Hotel
Hunters Quay Hotel
#1 of 11 in Dunoon
257 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Park Hotel
The Park Hotel
#4 of 11 in Dunoon
191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Royal Marine
Royal Marine
#9 of 11 in Dunoon
268 reviews
0.7 mi away
Glenmorag Hotel
Glenmorag Hotel
#10 of 11 in Dunoon
475 reviews
0.3 mi away
St. Ives Hotel
St. Ives Hotel
#8 of 11 in Dunoon
99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Argyll Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Argyll Hotel

Property: Argyll Hotel
Address: 54 Argyll Street, Dunoon PA23 7NE, Scotland (Formerly Best Western Argyll Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Cowal Peninsula > Dunoon
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Dunoon
#4 Romantic Hotel in Dunoon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Argyll Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Ebookers so you can book your Argyll Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Dunoon
Argyll Hotel Dunoon, Argyll And Bute

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing