We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fawly towers weekend”
Review of Argyll Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Argyll Hotel
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Dunoon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 October 2013 via mobile

Once again my husband and I have had a fantastic weekend at the hotel. We both highly recommend staying at this hotel. We have returned on several occasions now and wouldn't consider staying anywhere else in Dunoon. Rooms are always clean and well presented on our arrival, staff members are always very helpful and friendly - always willing to go that extra mile for guests. Good choice of reasonably priced food and drink. Book up - you wont be disappointed!! Mrs Mckechnie

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Magz M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
surya d, General Manager at Argyll Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2013

Dear Guest ,

Thank you so much for taking the time for leaving a review on Trip Advisor. I am delighted to hear that you have been satisfied with your stay. It means a lot that you have taken the time to share your views and I hope we will continue to welcome you in the future. I look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind Regards
Dev Surya
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,007)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

647 - 653 of 1,007 reviews

Reviewed 6 October 2013

Just returned from a murder mystery weekend here and have to say its been one of the best times ever. Hotel was spotless. Staff were so helpful. Food was really good and plentiful. Bar prices were very reasonable with wine being £10.95 a bottle - a bargain for a hotel. The hotel is situated across the road from the passenger ferry so no taxi's required what more could anyone want. I will definetly be going back soon. Well done Dev Surya and all of your team.

Room Tip: Really nice large room in basement with large bathroom and flat screen telly but its under dance flo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank annie051
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
surya d, General Manager at Argyll Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you so much for taking the time for leaving a review on Trip Advisor. I am delighted to hear that you have been satisfied with your stay. It means a lot that you have taken the time to share your views and I hope we will continue to welcome you in the future. I look forward to welcoming you back.

KindRegards
Dev Surya
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2013

Just returned from a fab family weekend on faulty towers murder mystery from brilliant walking theatre co. Hotel lovely, food excellent, staff so friendly -couldn't do enough for you. Argyll's Secret coast has some of the most spectacular views I have seen. These Geordies will definitely be back next year and in greater numbers.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rach9775
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
surya d, General Manager at Argyll Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your feedback on our hotel through Trip advisor. We are happy to learn that your stay at our hotel was up to your expectations and that we were able to make your stay memorable by providing you the positive experience we endeavour to give to all our valued guests. We will make sure that your comments are shared to all the Staff. The positive ratings you gave us on Trip advisor are greatly appreciated and we hope we have the opportunity to be at your service again in the near future.

In the meantime if there is anything we can do to assist you please do not hesitate to contact us directly at 01369 702059 or please email me at dev.surya@sgehotels.com

Looking forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best Regards

Dev Surya
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2013

Just finished a two night stay for Faulty Towers murder mystery weekend great value for money, staff friendly and very helpful,rooms clean and kept to a high standard, food great and entertainment was brill all round fab weekend away and would recommend to friends and family. Best £99 ive spent in a long time : )

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tessoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
surya d, General Manager at Argyll Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your feedback on our hotel through Trip advisor. All feedback we receive is greatly appreciated and we endeavour to make everyone’s stay here with us as pleasurable as possible.
Looking forward to welcome back .

Kind Regards
Dev Surya
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2013

We stayed at the hotel two weekends ago, it was a Freddie Mercury tribute night on the Saturday, we had a superb time. From the moment that we arrived on the Friday until we left on the Sunday the staff could not do enough for us. A special mention to Dev Surya General Manager, thank you so much for the special attention you gave to my Mum. My mum has been very ill this year and you were so nice to her, even coming around from the other side of reception to give her a hug as we left for home on the Sunday, she was so touched by your kindness. The meals at the hotel were very good and plentiful and we all cleared our plates at every meal, there was always something to suit. The table service was very efficient and all meals were delivered with a smile! All the staff were very pleasant and a credit to the Hotel. We did not have our lunch in the Hotel, however any other guests that we spoke to all said that their meals were both very reasonable and well priced. For a Hotel the drinks at the bar were not too expensive with a bottle of wine priced very reasonably. Overall a super weekend, thank you to all and hope to see you all again soon, Alan Ferguson, Blantyre.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
Thank fergie1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
surya d, General Manager at Argyll Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your feedback on our hotel through Trip advisor. We are happy to learn that your stay at our hotel was up to your expectations and that we were able to make your stay memorable by providing you the positive experience we endeavour to give to all our valued guests. We will make sure that your comments are shared to all the Staff. The positive ratings you gave us on Trip advisor are greatly appreciated and we hope we have the opportunity to be at your service again in the near future.

In the meantime if there is anything we can do to assist you please do not hesitate to contact us directly at 01369 702059 or please email me at dev.surya@sgehotels.com

Looking forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best Regards

Dev Surya
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2013 via mobile

Live this hotel. So central and food fab too . It's right next to the amusements which has the two penny falls. Takes me back to my childhood days. Located at top of Main Street so ideal
For shopping .

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rosie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
surya d, General Manager at Argyll Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your feedback on our hotel through Trip advisor. We are happy to learn that your stay at our hotel was up to your expectations and that we were able to make your stay memorable by providing you the positive experience we endeavour to give to all our valued guests. We will make sure that your comments are shared to all the Staff. The positive ratings you gave us on Trip advisor are greatly appreciated and we hope we have the opportunity to be at your service again in the near future.

In the meantime if there is anything we can do to assist you please do not hesitate to contact us directly at 01369 702059 or please email me at dev.surya@sgehotels.com

Looking forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best Regards

General Manager
Dev Surya

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2013

This was our forth stay at this hotel and every year it has been excellent. Staff are always friendly and very helpful. During this stay I reported on the Saturday morning that the light above the mirror in the bathroom was not working about three hours later it was fixed, you don't get this kind of service even in the big hotels. Can really recommend the weekend deals like the Murder Mystery and Tribute Weekends always outstanding value this year £119 for two nights DBB. Drinks are reasonably priced compared to the usual hotel prices. The General Manager, Dev Surya, seemed to be around all the time and ensured everything was OK. Will return and maybe try the Paranormal Weekend that's if we can pluck up enough courage.

Room Tip: Rooms with a sea view are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JAMS51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
surya d, General Manager at Argyll Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your feedback on our hotel through Trip advisor. We are happy to learn that your stay at our hotel was up to your expectations and that we were able to make your stay memorable by providing you the positive experience we endeavour to give to all our valued guests. We will make sure that your comments are shared to all the Staff. The positive ratings you gave us on Trip advisor are greatly appreciated and we hope we have the opportunity to be at your service again in the near future.

In the meantime if there is anything we can do to assist you please do not hesitate to contact us directly at 01369 702059 or please email me at dev.surya@sgehotels.com

Looking forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best Regards


Dev Surya
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dunoon hotels
1.6 mi away
Hunters Quay Hotel
Hunters Quay Hotel
#3 of 11 in Dunoon
274 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Park Hotel
The Park Hotel
#4 of 11 in Dunoon
211 reviews
1.6 mi away
Royal Marine
Royal Marine
#9 of 11 in Dunoon
301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Esplanade Hotel
Esplanade Hotel
#2 of 11 in Dunoon
726 reviews
0.3 mi away
St. Ives Hotel
St. Ives Hotel
#7 of 11 in Dunoon
103 reviews
0.7 mi away
Glenmorag Hotel
Glenmorag Hotel
#10 of 11 in Dunoon
505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Argyll Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Argyll Hotel

Address: 54 Argyll Street, Dunoon PA23 7NE, Scotland (Formerly Best Western Argyll Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Cowal Peninsula > Dunoon
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Dunoon
#4 Romantic Hotel in Dunoon
Price Range: £63 - £101 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Argyll Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Argyll Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Dunoon
Argyll Hotel Dunoon, Argyll And Bute

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing