We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent !!!!!!”
Review of Argyll Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Argyll Hotel
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Dunoon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 November 2013

Was taken to the Argyll recently for a birthday lunch and can only praise the place. Carvery lunch was delicious, plenty to eat and at only £9.95 for 2 courses couldn't have been better. The food tasted great, meat so tender and pudding well a way to a girls heart is hot chocolate fudge cake and cream.
The staff couldn't have been more helpful, funny and charming.
If your looking for somewhere to enjoy a great lunch with great views then get yourself to the argyll.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank ArgyllNortherngirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
surya d, General Manager at Argyll Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time for leaving a review on Trip Advisor. I am delighted to hear that you have been satisfied with your Dinning Experience with BEST WESTERN ARGYLL . It means a lot that you have taken the time to share your views and I hope we will continue to welcome you in the future. I look forward to welcoming you back.


Kind Regards

Dev Surya
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (989)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

610 - 616 of 989 reviews

Reviewed 11 November 2013

Group of twelve for murder mystery weekend ,everything fab couldn't fault a thing,staff brill ,rooms good food great and entertainment smashing .Great treasure hunt on Saturdsy morning and reasonable priced drinks

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mrsmurdoch52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
surya d, General Manager at Argyll Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your feedback on our hotel through Trip advisor. All feedback we receive is greatly appreciated and we endeavour to make everyone’s stay here with us as pleasurable as possible.


In the meantime if there is anything we can do to assist you please do not hesitate to contact us directly at 01369 702059 or please email me at dev.surya@sgehotels.com

Looking forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best Regards
Dev Surya
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2013

Stayed in this hotel for a murder mystery weekend, went with 12 friends and we all had a great time, although my room was a bit on the small side, it was clean and comfortable, the rooms my friends had were bigger, so if you are looking for a bigger room just ask im sure they would accommodate you. The hotel is on a great location, just step off the ferry and your there. The staff are very hard working and very attentive to your needs. We had dinner both nights, 3 course fri and 4 course sat. Food was delicious both nights and also breakfast both morning. These kind of breaks are only £99 per person. I would definitely recommend this hotel for a group weekend for even just for 2. So give it go you wont be disappointed.

Room Tip: If looking for a bigger room dont take the 3rd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bird67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
surya d, General Manager at Argyll Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time for leaving a review on Trip Advisor. I am delighted to hear that you have been satisfied with your stay. It means a lot that you have taken the time to share your views and I hope we will continue to welcome you in the future. I look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind Regards
Dev Surya
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2013

My friends and i went to the Argyll Hotel for a murder mystery weekend and had a ball. Rooms were clean and tidy and fresh. Food was amazing and the staff were very friendly and nice. I have stayed in this hotel before or christmas and have not been let down yet. Will defo be back. thanks for a great weekend

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stacey N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
surya d, General Manager at Argyll Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your feedback on our hotel through Trip advisor. We are happy to learn that your stay at our hotel was up to your expectations and that we were able to make your stay memorable by providing you the positive experience we endeavour to give to all our valued guests. We will make sure that your comments are shared to all the Staff. The positive ratings you gave us on Trip advisor are greatly appreciated and we hope we have the opportunity to be at your service again in the near future.

In the meantime if there is anything we can do to assist you please do not hesitate to contact us directly at 01369 702059 or please email me at dev.surya@sgehotels.com

Looking forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best Regards

Dev Surya
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2013

We have just returned from a night in Dunoon to celebrate my birthday. There was a mix up with the bookings as we wanted to go to the Argyl Hotel but as it was fully booked were moved to the Esplanade. We were at first very disappointed and even contemplated going home, however Dev the manager was really lovely and turned the whole experience around so that we actually had a really lovely time. The Esplanade was also really very nice with a lovely young man in charge and the room was lovely. Thank you very much. We can thoroughly recommend staying with this group of hotels with Dev in charge.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Debbie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
surya d, General Manager at Argyll Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your feedback on our hotel through Trip advisor. We are happy to learn that your stay at our hotel was up to your expectations and that we were able to make your stay memorable by providing you the positive experience we endeavour to give to all our valued guests. We will make sure that your comments are shared to all the Staff. The positive ratings you gave us on Trip advisor are greatly appreciated and we hope we have the opportunity to be at your service again in the near future.

In the meantime if there is anything we can do to assist you please do not hesitate to contact us directly at 01369 702059 or please email me at dev.surya@sgehotels.com

Looking forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best Regards


Dev surya
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2013

This was my second visit to Scotland,first time I stayed with friends and this time we booked a night in West Bestern Argyll Hotel Dunoon. The hotel is located near to the sea front and my first impressions from the outside was impressive and well cared for and inside the building it was nice to see that the owners have kept all the original historical features which made the building welcoming,cosy and felt like you stepped back in time.The tower room where we stayed was comfortable well presented,clean and had all the facilities that we can expect from a hotel of this standard.The staff and management were consciousness,friendly,professional and very helpful and a credit to the company. The food tasty,homely,well presented and the service was excellent.I will definitely recommend this hotel to anyone that visit Dunoon and will definitely return and thank everyone for making our trip memorable one.

Room Tip: Tower Room we stayed in is really the best Room with amazing Views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 516Michaela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
surya d, General Manager at Argyll Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your feedback on our hotel through Trip advisor. All feedback we receive is greatly appreciated and we endeavour to make everyone’s stay here with us as pleasurable as possible.

Looking forward to welcome you back

Kind Regards
Dev Surya
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2013

Got transferred here because of a double booking problem with the Esplanade Hotel (see separate review). A little disappointed with the quality of the decor etc.
Our tour company has arranged several entertainment events which the hotel did come up with except for a drinks reception (and an additional one on the final night). This reception was just a free drink in the bar unlike most receptions where the wine is served and you meet the senior staff.
Found the food to be very acceptable with a 4 course evening meal.
The lack of English with the staff caused some problems when ordering.
The lift seemed very slow and could do with updating.

Room Tip: Request a sea view when booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
surya d, General Manager at Argyll Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2013

Dear Guest,

I would like to take this opportunity thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback on Trip Advisor and also to offer you my sincere apologies regarding the issues you have experienced at our hotel.
I would like to reassure you that feedback of this kind is very rare and ensure that you or any of our other guests do not experience such service.
Our aim is to ensure that all of our guests come and have an outstanding holiday. I only wish I had been aware of this during your stay as i could have intervened and ensured that you were enjoyed every bit of your holiday.

I would be delighted if you would give us another opportunity to serve you and show you that what you have experienced is not regular practice at the Argyll BEST WESTERN DUNOON.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind Regards
Dev Surya
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dunoon hotels
0.2 mi away
Esplanade Hotel
Esplanade Hotel
#2 of 11 in Dunoon
715 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hunters Quay Hotel
Hunters Quay Hotel
#1 of 11 in Dunoon
270 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Park Hotel
The Park Hotel
#5 of 11 in Dunoon
203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Royal Marine
Royal Marine
#9 of 11 in Dunoon
289 reviews
0.7 mi away
Glenmorag Hotel
Glenmorag Hotel
#10 of 11 in Dunoon
491 reviews
0.3 mi away
Selborne Hotel
Selborne Hotel
#8 of 11 in Dunoon
193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Argyll Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Argyll Hotel

Address: 54 Argyll Street, Dunoon PA23 7NE, Scotland (Formerly Best Western Argyll Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Cowal Peninsula > Dunoon
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Dunoon
#4 Romantic Hotel in Dunoon
Price Range: £63 - £105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Argyll Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, LateRooms, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Argyll Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Dunoon
Argyll Hotel Dunoon, Argyll And Bute

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing