We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wicked Wild West weekend”
Review of Argyll Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Argyll Hotel
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Dunoon
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wicked Wild West weekend”
Reviewed 29 November 2013

Staff were very helpful and friendly but the rooms were cold, even with the heating on.
But, the players organising the Murder Mystery weekend were FANTASTIC.
I would reccomend the murder mystery weekends to all my friends.
Fantastic weekend away.

Room Tip: Choose a room with a view over the clyde. Beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anchor28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
surya d, General Manager at Argyll Hotel, responded to this review, 30 November 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for writing a very detailed review of our property and services. I am very glad that you view Argyll SGE family as a brand which is very consistent and always delivers.

I am also grateful to you for your candid feedback. A big thank you for your kind words regarding I made it a priority to share your feedback and let them know of the good service they had provided you. It is refreshing to know that even though you had one bad experience it did not reflect on the staff as a whole which is very encouraging.

I hope you will not let this one unpleasant altercation play on your mind next time you visit Dunoon as I can assure you that this is not the norm here Argyll Hotel. Team Argyll will make every effort to change what wasn’t right during your stay this time.
We look forward to welcoming you again.

Kind Regards
Dev Surya
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

950 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    539
    244
    85
    35
    47
See reviews for
117
424
41
67
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (317)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2013 via mobile

This was our second visit to dunoon,unfortunately it was so last minute that the room we wanted wasn't available and we stayed(or rather slept!) elsewhere,we popped into the Argyll for lunch when we arrived and were treated like long lost friends,although we only met the manager dev and his staff for the first time at the beginning of October! We felt so instantly at home that we spent all our time eating and relaxing in this wonderful hotel and were quite devastated at having to leave at the end of each night,will never make that mistake again,absolutely love the ambience of this hotel!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vron73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
surya d, General Manager at Argyll Hotel, responded to this review, 27 November 2013
Dear Guest ,

Thank you for your stay with us and the lovely words of appreciation. Team Argyll strives to create this pleasure and comfort for all our guests. The fact that this is exactly what Team Argyll has been successful in achieving makes us happier and more motivated to continue the same endeavour.

Thank you once again for your rating and we hope to see you soon!

Kind Regards
Dev Surya
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stirling, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 November 2013

Stayed here with a group of friends, all couples. Had a fantastic time same as last year and the year before. Staff are very friendly, Dev and Ronnie the managers cannot do enough for the guests. Rooms are lovely and clean food is great. If you put a do not disturb sign on your door during the day, they come back later and clean the room when they know all the guests are having their evening meal. Brilliant.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 699johnf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
surya d, General Manager at Argyll Hotel, responded to this review, 26 November 2013
Dear Guest ,

What a wonderful review and thank you for taking the time to place your comments on Trip Advisor. We are delighted that you enjoyed your recent experience with us and found everything to your satisfaction. My team are constantly striving to deliver a first class experience to all our guests and sounds like on this occasion they got it right.
Once again thank you for such a fabulous review.

Kind regards 
Dev Surya
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Falkirk
1 review
Reviewed 25 November 2013

Great weekend was had by all our party of 12, the great service and fun started the minute you enter the hotel. Great food both in bar and restaurant, rooms were clean and comfortable would recommend you ask for the rooms that over look the water for the great views. I would like to thank all the staff/management for the fantastic service and the walking theatre company for the great entertainment. We have booked for next year already.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the water
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jokic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
surya d, General Manager at Argyll Hotel, responded to this review, 27 November 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your feedback on our hotel through Trip advisor. We are happy to learn that your stay at our hotel was up to your expectations and that we were able to make your stay memorable by providing you the positive experience we endeavour to give to all our valued guests. We will make sure that your comments are shared to all the Staff. The positive ratings you gave us on Trip advisor are greatly appreciated and we hope we have the opportunity to be at your service again in the near future.

In the meantime if there is anything we can do to assist you please do not hesitate to contact us directly at 01369 702059 or please email me at dev.surya@sgehotels.com

Looking forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best Regards
Dev Surya
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2013 via mobile

Just back from a fantastic weekend. The food was great, rooms spotless and hotel staff were extremely helpful as always. The entertainment team were amazing. It was so goid we are already booked for next year again :)

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank McNx3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
surya d, General Manager at Argyll Hotel, responded to this review, 26 November 2013
Dear Guest ,


Thank you so much for taking the time for leaving a review on Trip Advisor. I am delighted to hear that you have been satisfied with your stay. It means a lot that you have taken the time to share your views and I hope we will continue to welcome you in the future. I look forward to welcoming you back.


Kind Regards
Dev Surya
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ayr, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 25 November 2013

Just spent a fabulous 3 nights in this Hotel. Staff were brilliant. Nothing was as problem. Bedroom great. Clean and friendly hotel in excellent location with lovely food. Thorougly enjoyed the break. Will definitely be back :-)

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NeilAgnes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
surya d, General Manager at Argyll Hotel, responded to this review, 26 November 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your feedback on our hotel through Trip advisor. All feedback we receive is greatly appreciated and we endeavour to make everyone’s stay here with us as pleasurable as possible.

Looking forward to welcome you back .

Kind Regards
Dev Surya
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Renfrew, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 25 November 2013

Staff - from Manager who was very hands on, to receptionist, restaurant and bar staff all very helpful and pleasant.
Food - excellent with good choices for dinner and breakfast: we also ate in the restaurant for lunch which was very good and value for money.
Room - very nice with good views over the Clyde: only downside is that the carpets could be doing with being deep cleaned or replaced.
Main entertainment - talented group of actors who included everyone in the action - with lots of laughs and interaction.
Other entertainment - duo on Friday evening and DJ on Saturday were great.
Overall - our party of six all loved it and are planning to go back again next year.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Margaret C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
surya d, General Manager at Argyll Hotel, responded to this review, 26 November 2013
Dear Guest,



What a wonderful review and thank you for taking the time to place your comments on Trip Advisor. We are delighted that you enjoyed your recent experience with us and found everything to your satisfaction. My team are constantly striving to deliver a first class experience to all our guests and sounds like on this occasion they got it right. Once again thank you for such a fabulous review.

Kind regards 
Dev Surya
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dunoon hotels
0.2 mi away
Esplanade Hotel
Esplanade Hotel
#5 of 11 in Dunoon
645 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Park Hotel
The Park Hotel
#3 of 11 in Dunoon
184 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hunters Quay Hotel
Hunters Quay Hotel
#6 of 11 in Dunoon
238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Abbot's Brae Hotel
Abbot's Brae Hotel
#1 of 11 in Dunoon
450 reviews
1.6 mi away
Royal Marine
Royal Marine
#9 of 11 in Dunoon
248 reviews
0.7 mi away
Glenmorag Hotel
Glenmorag Hotel
#10 of 11 in Dunoon
457 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Argyll Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Argyll Hotel

Property: Argyll Hotel
Address: 54 Argyll Street, Dunoon PA23 7NE, Scotland (Formerly Best Western Argyll Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Cowal Peninsula > Dunoon
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Dunoon
#4 Romantic Hotel in Dunoon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Argyll Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Argyll Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Dunoon
Argyll Hotel Dunoon, Argyll And Bute

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing