We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Murder & the Argyll”
Review of Argyll Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Argyll Hotel
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Dunoon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 January 2014

My partner & I went to the Argyll for the Ganster & Molls murder mystery weekend with two of our friends in early December. We just had the best time there. We just laughed the whole weekend which was facilitated by the lovely staff and actors.
The rooms were lovely, hotel may be a little dated but clean and comfortable with good food & the staff were just fabulous. I felt that Dev, Claire, Louise and Karina went over and beyond the call of duty and went out of their way to ensure we had a good time.
Despite the fact that the weather was wet, we certainly felt welcomed to stay in the hotel and enjoy the comfortable surroundings.
If anyone is looking to escape from the hum drum of life and enjoy some laughs with friends including good food and comfortable rooms, we would most definitely recommend one of the murder mystery weekends or even the tribute evenings. It is good value for money and I guarantee the staff will go out of their way to make you make sure you have a great time. Thanks Dev to you and your team, you guys made our weekend.

Room Tip: Sea view with the lovely big 4 poster bed
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Braeside_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
surya d, General Manager at Argyll Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your feedback on our hotel through Trip advisor. We are happy to learn that your stay at our hotel was up to your expectations and that we were able to make your stay memorable by providing you the positive experience we endeavour to give to all our valued guests. We will make sure that your comments are shared to all the Staff. The positive ratings you gave us on Trip advisor are greatly appreciated and we hope we have the opportunity to be at your service again in the near future.

In the meantime if there is anything we can do to assist you please do not hesitate to contact us directly at 01369 702059 or please email me at dev.surya@sgehotels.com

Looking forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best Regards


Dev Surya
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (997)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

563 - 569 of 997 reviews

Reviewed 20 January 2014

I would like to take this opportunity, to say a big thank you to all the Staff at this Hotel for making our stay here as comfortable as possible . It was a pleasure to stay here the Hotel is really nice clean and friendly, the rooms are really nice clean n fresh can't fault them at all .
The staff are really nice helpful Gary and James were especially helpful, and Gary next time i will bring extra toilet rolls Lol . That was my 3rd time staying at this hotel wnd i would recommend this hotel to everyone , will be back soon . Thank you to all in this hotel for making my stay pleasurable .

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sandra W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
surya d, General Manager at Argyll Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 January 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your feedback on our hotel through Trip advisor. We are happy to learn that your stay at our hotel was up to your expectations and that we were able to make your stay memorable by providing you the positive experience we endeavour to give to all our valued guests. We will make sure that your comments are shared to all the Staff. The positive ratings you gave us on Trip advisor are greatly appreciated and we hope we have the opportunity to be at your service again in the near future.

In the meantime if there is anything we can do to assist you please do not hesitate to contact us directly at 01369 702059 or please email me at dev.surya@sgehotels.com

Looking forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best Regards


Dev Surya
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2014

We are just back from our second stay at the Argyll Hotel. The rooms are extremely clean, crisp bed linen and warm rooms,( well it is January in Scotland). The Staff are so welcoming and helped make our weekend. Particular mention for the Reception and Bar Staff, Gary should have his own stand up comedy show. We had a wonderful weekend, breakfast was great we only ate in the bar once, however the food is extremely good. Entertainment on the Saturday night was great with a girl singer on her own who had the place jumping. Location is excellent 5 minutes from the beach and 2 minutes from the shops. We are already planning our next trip .xoxo

Room Tip: There is no fitness centre and swimming pool, we have stayed in all rooms bar the ones with a sea vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 794Liza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
surya d, General Manager at Argyll Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 January 2014

Dear Guest,

It thrills me to read such great words of your implicitly great stay! Your special mention of the reception desk is very well taken. Since it is the face of the hotel, we expect it to be of the highest calibre. We take pride in our customer service quality and thank you for sharing that it is equally received in a similar fashion.

We look forward to your next visit in anticipation.

Regards
General Manager
Dev Surya

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2014

Stayed here for 1 night on a business trip. This hotel is nothing special but you get what you pay for. I paid £30 bed and breakfast so for that money I was very happy. Staff were polite and helpful. Bar prices were reasonable. Haggis Pakoras were different. Breakfast was average. Would I stay here again? Maybe.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
Thank J0nesy1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
surya d, General Manager at Argyll Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 January 2014

Dear Guest,


Thank you for your positive feedback on your stay in the hotel. It makes us happy to hear such words of satisfaction from our guests. Team ARGYLL is happy to have been a part of it.
Meanwhile, we are looking forward for your next trip to Dunoon, and stay with us.

Regards,

Dev Surya
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2014

just back from a great weekend in Dunoon. we stayed at the Argyll hotel and were really impressed. the staff were very helpful and friendly and a credit to the hotel. the food was very good , the rooms were a nice size but not massive, but clean and had everything in them that you needed. The entertainment was good and would recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Dunoon this year

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jimr77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
surya d, General Manager at Argyll Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 January 2014

Dear Guest,

Warm greetings and thank you having chosen Argyll Hotel as the hotel of choice and for having taking time to share your feedback on Trip Advisor relating to your recent stay.

We are delighted to read your comments and to note that you enjoyed the feature, facilities and services provided by our Team Members.

Looking forward to welcome you back.

Kind Regards

Dev Surya
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2014

We stayed at the Argyll for five days at Christmas, Dev and his staff are a credit to the Hotel.
Lovely room, fluffy towels and good food and a four poster bed.
Drinks were very reasonable and the location was very good.
Entertainment could have been better but then again every thing else was lovely.
Woud recommend a sea View room as that side of the Hotel was quieter.

Room Tip: Ask for a Sea View as quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fieldhouse28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
surya d, General Manager at Argyll Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 January 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your feedback on our hotel through Trip advisor. We are happy to learn that your stay at our hotel was up to your expectations and that we were able to make your stay memorable by providing you the positive experience we endeavour to give to all our valued guests. We will make sure that your comments are shared to all the Staff. The positive ratings you gave us on Trip advisor are greatly appreciated and we hope we have the opportunity to be at your service again in the near future.

In the meantime if there is anything we can do to assist you please do not hesitate to contact us directly at 01369 702059 or please email me at dev.surya@sgehotels.com

Looking forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best Regards

Dev Surya
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2014

friend of friend recommended this hotel to me, it is one of the best location & very much familiarize to stay there, I really enjoy there service & of course with food, view is clearear & excllent, room is big enough, water is fine, staff are friendly & well knowledgeable,
I would like to stay again one day in feature, i will recommend this hotel to al of my friends,

Room Tip: excellent view room with balcony,
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
surya d, General Manager at Argyll Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 January 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your feedback on our hotel through Trip advisor. We are happy to learn that your stay at our hotel was up to your expectations and that we were able to make your stay memorable by providing you the positive experience we endeavour to give to all our valued guests. We will make sure that your comments are shared to all the Staff. The positive ratings you gave us on Trip advisor are greatly appreciated and we hope we have the opportunity to be at your service again in the near future.

In the meantime if there is anything we can do to assist you please do not hesitate to contact us directly at 01369 702059 or please email me at dev.surya@sgehotels.com

Looking forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best Regards
Dev Surya
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dunoon hotels
0.2 mi away
Esplanade Hotel
Esplanade Hotel
#3 of 11 in Dunoon
718 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Park Hotel
The Park Hotel
#5 of 11 in Dunoon
207 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hunters Quay Hotel
Hunters Quay Hotel
#2 of 11 in Dunoon
270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Royal Marine
Royal Marine
#9 of 11 in Dunoon
295 reviews
0.7 mi away
Glenmorag Hotel
Glenmorag Hotel
#10 of 11 in Dunoon
497 reviews
0.3 mi away
Selborne Hotel
Selborne Hotel
#8 of 11 in Dunoon
198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Argyll Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Argyll Hotel

Address: 54 Argyll Street, Dunoon PA23 7NE, Scotland (Formerly Best Western Argyll Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Cowal Peninsula > Dunoon
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Dunoon
#4 Romantic Hotel in Dunoon
Price Range: £63 - £103 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Argyll Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Argyll Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Dunoon
Argyll Hotel Dunoon, Argyll And Bute

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing