We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great hotel”
Review of Argyll Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Argyll Hotel
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Dunoon
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“great hotel”
Reviewed 10 March 2014

Just back from a friday,saturday stay at the argyle hotel,Hotel really great ,staff great ,loved my four poster bed room and view,Had dinner in the restuarant on the friday night, Really good and not to pricey,Dinner on saturday in the hotel great as was the entertainment,Both breakfasts very good,So big thanks to Gary and staff for a great weekend ,And would recommend this hotel to anyone

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 63bear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary S, Manager at Argyll Hotel, responded to this review, 20 March 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time for leaving a review on Trip Advisor. I am delighted to hear that you have been satisfied with your stay. It means a lot that you have taken the time to share your views and I hope we will continue to welcome you in the future. I look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind Regards

Gary Smith
Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

976 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    547
    252
    90
    39
    48
See reviews for
123
435
43
69
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (325)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2014

Just returned from the Argyle Hotel for my friends Hen weekend. This was my 3rd visit to this hotel and certainly wont be the last! The manager Gary and his staff are all so friendly and went out there way to make sure we were enjoying our stay. There was a guest who complained about our party but given that everyone had booked a party weekend im not sure what she expected? And we were all very well behaved anyway. Cant wait to return for another weekend with the ladies. Thanks again to Gary and his staff. The Gillie Party.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tricia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary S, Manager at Argyll Hotel, responded to this review, 20 March 2014
Dear Guest ,

Thank you for your stay with us and the lovely words of appreciation. Team Argyll strives to create this pleasure and comfort for all our guests. The fact that this is exactly what Team Argyll has been successful in achieving makes us happier and more motivated to continue the same endeavour.


Thank you once again for your 5 star rating and we look forward to seeing you return again.

Regards

Gary Smith
Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 March 2014

We returned home this afternoon following a 2 night stay, Friday & Saturday. We had a super weekend!! The stay was excellent value for money! The hotel was spotlessly clean and the staff are very attentive & efficient. They work really hard for long hours and nothing was too much trouble. Big thank you to Gary & Norman in particular. On the 1st night we ate in the Rio restaurant and had an outstanding meal whilst being faultlessly attended to by the lovely restaurant manager Ronny. On the 2nd night as part of our deal we enjoyed another lovely meal in the hotel followed by a smashing young tribute singer as cabaret.
All in all we thoroughly enjoyed our break - made all the more special by the unexpected upgrade to a deluxe room with 4 poster bed ;-);-);-). Thank you Gary and team!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jane g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary S, Manager at Argyll Hotel, responded to this review, 20 March 2014
Dear Guest ,

Thank you for your stay with us and the lovely words of appreciation. Team Argyll strives to create this pleasure and comfort for all our guests. The fact that this is exactly what Team Argyll has been successful in achieving makes us happier and more motivated to continue the same endeavour.

Thank you once again for your star rating and we hope to see you soon!

Regards

Gary Smith
Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Strathaven
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2014 via mobile

On a hen weekend with 10 others and from the moment we got there until we left, Gary the manager and his staff were very accommodating and eager for everyone to enjoy, which we did. Clean rooms, good food, great staff who were good fun! Even one particular incident with a woman who complained about silly things did not spoil our weekend, just the opposite, we are all going back in the summer for another fun weekend. Gary, huge thanks to you and your staff. The Gillie party.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Tracey C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary S, Manager at Argyll Hotel, responded to this review, 21 March 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for your recent review. The team here at The Argyll Hotel are very proud to hear that our guests have had an enjoyable time during their visit with us. We always strive to ensure all guests leave us completely satisfied and we look forward to you one again returning to stay with us in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abergele, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2014

Andy & Kath Adams N/Wales We stayed 4 nights with G.B Tours a great hotel,very friendly staff at all grades nothing to much trouble,room &hotel very clean,food excellent a great atmosphere .Good location,look forward to returning in the near future GREAT 10 out of 10

Room Tip: Try room 101 Campbell Suite nice room with good view of the Clyde
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary S, Manager at Argyll Hotel, responded to this review, 20 March 2014
Dear Andy & Kath,

Thank you so much for taking the time for leaving a review on Trip Advisor. I am delighted to hear that you have been satisfied with your stay. It means a lot that you have taken the time to share your views and I hope we will continue to welcome you in the future. I look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind Regards

Gary Smith
Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 3 March 2014

Just spent weekend at Argyll hotel on a gangster mystery weekend. We all had a brilliant weekend at this fabulous hotel where gary and his staff were brilliant and first class from check in to check out. Food was fantastic both nights and breakfast each morning helped in the recovery both mornings. Was so good some of us have booked to go back in June for the spying weekend. Great value for money ina fantastic setting and you get Gary as part of the service as he never seems to go home and always had a smile on his face, him and his team made the stay even better. Entertainment first class on Friday and disco good on saturday and the actors playing the gangsters got us all involved. Cant wait to go back in June

Room Tip: Ask for a sea facing room, our room overlooked the main street but the carry on at the food shop lat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary S, Manager at Argyll Hotel, responded to this review, 20 March 2014
Dear Guest ,

Thank you for your stay with us and the lovely words of appreciation. Team Argyll strives to create this pleasure and comfort for all our guests. The fact that this is exactly what Team Argyll has been successful in achieving makes us happier and more motivated to continue the same endeavour.

Thank you once again for your 5 star rating and see you again this weekend for the Spying Tonight murder mystery.

Regards

Gary Smith
Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bathgate, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 2 March 2014

We spent the weekend at the argyll hotel doing the murder mystery event for a hen party, the rooms were good offering everything we needed! fantastic food. excellent service, staff were very friendly and willing to help! Would recommend as it was such good value for money!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ellielamont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary S, Manager at Argyll Hotel, responded to this review, 20 March 2014
Dear Guest,

Warm greetings and thank you having chosen Argyll Hotel as the hotel of choice and for having taking time to share your feedback on Trip Advisor relating to your recent stay.

We are delighted to read your comments and to note that you enjoyed the feature, facilities and services provided by our Team Members.

Looking forward to welcome you back.

Kind Regards

Gary Smith
Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dunoon hotels
0.2 mi away
Esplanade Hotel
Esplanade Hotel
#5 of 11 in Dunoon
682 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hunters Quay Hotel
Hunters Quay Hotel
#1 of 11 in Dunoon
257 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Park Hotel
The Park Hotel
#4 of 11 in Dunoon
191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Royal Marine
Royal Marine
#9 of 11 in Dunoon
268 reviews
0.7 mi away
Glenmorag Hotel
Glenmorag Hotel
#10 of 11 in Dunoon
475 reviews
0.3 mi away
St. Ives Hotel
St. Ives Hotel
#8 of 11 in Dunoon
99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Argyll Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Argyll Hotel

Property: Argyll Hotel
Address: 54 Argyll Street, Dunoon PA23 7NE, Scotland (Formerly Best Western Argyll Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Cowal Peninsula > Dunoon
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Dunoon
#4 Romantic Hotel in Dunoon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Argyll Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, LateRooms, Ebookers and HotelQuickly so you can book your Argyll Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Dunoon
Argyll Hotel Dunoon, Argyll And Bute

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing