We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Argyll Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$91
US$82
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$90
US$84
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Royal Marine(Dunoon)
US$81
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$90
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$119
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Osborne(Dunoon)
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Abbot's Brae(Dunoon)
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (1,012)
Filter reviews
1,012 results
Traveller rating
562
265
95
41
49
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
562
265
95
41
49
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmurder mystery weekendtower roomtheatre companysaturday nightgreat weekendfour poster bedfawlty towersset menuboth nightsweekend breaklovely mealsea viewan overnight stayvisited this hotelgreat value for moneydining roomsister hotel
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
535 - 540 of 1,012 reviews
Reviewed 11 April 2014 via mobile

We recently spent some time in Dunoon and spent a few afternoons at the lounge in the Argyll Hotel.
Great place for a drink and a bite to eat with a varied menu and good service. The views from this room at lovely, looking out over the waterfront and piers.
We also had lunch at the Rio restaurant which is part of this hotel and found it to be a very nice experience with great service and decor and the food, a mix of Italian and Spanish cuisine a nice change from the normal everyday menu. The Tapas are just enough for a lunch, the pasta dishes are lovely.
Sandra and Mike
Rhode Island.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sanmann7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
surya d, General Manager at Argyll Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2014

Dear Guest ,
Thank you for your stay with us and the lovely words of appreciation. Team Argyll strives to create this pleasure and comfort for all our guests. The fact that this is exactly what Team Argyll has been successful in achieving makes us happier and more motivated to continue the same endeavour.

Thank you once again for your stay with us , and we hope to see you soon!

Regards

Dev Surya
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2014

Two day stay with a meal and entertainment included on the Saturday night. Meal portions were large and food was lovely.

Staff really helpful too.

Combined it with a day visit to Benmore Gardens which is only a 10 minute drive.

I would recommend it - and we will be back!!!

Room Tip: We upgraded to the Tower room. What a view - well worth the extra money.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AlISCOTT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
surya d, General Manager at Argyll Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your positive feedback on your stay in the hotel. It makes us happy to hear such words of satisfaction from our guests. Team ARGYLL is happy to have been a part of it.

Meanwhile, we are looking forward for your next trip to Dunoon , and stay with us.

Regards,

Dev Surya
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2014

Myself and two friends spent the week end at the Argyll Hotel in Dunoon. The staff were fantastic and the food was delicious. The acting team knew how to involve the guests and created a good atmosphere. This was my second visit to the Argyll and I will definitely be going back soon.


AM Dumbarton

Room Tip: Sea view rooms are the best.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ann Marie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
surya d, General Manager at Argyll Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time for leaving a review on Trip Advisor. I am delighted to hear that you have been satisfied with your stay. It means a lot that you have taken the time to share your views and I hope we will continue to welcome you in the future.
I look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind Regards

General Manager
Dev Surya

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2014 via mobile

We were greeted with a warm welcome and experienced friendly and helpful service.

We were on the top floor but there was a lift to help us with our bags, plus we were offered help if needed several times.

The view from our room (The Tower Room) was unbeatable and definitely an experience we would recommend.

We had a very clean room with everything we needed; for example, extra pillows in the wardrobe. We both commented on the great shower too (they can sometimes be a let down in hotels but this was not the case here!). We had a huge television, many plug sockets, ample storage for our clothes, a lovely feature bed and a dressing table in keeping with the style of the hotel. We were also provided with tea & coffee making facilities.

Added to the room we were provided with a great selection for breakfast. You could have a continental breakfast or a cooked breakfast, plus there was a vegetarian option.

The position of the hotel is ideal for Dunoon's town centre yet you also have a great view of the water.

We will definitely return.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank MissSi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
surya d, General Manager at Argyll Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your feedback on our hotel through Trip advisor. We are happy to learn that your stay at our hotel was up to your expectations and that we were able to make your stay memorable by providing you the positive experience we endeavour to give to all our valued guests. We will make sure that your comments are shared to all the Staff. The positive ratings you gave us on Trip advisor are greatly appreciated and we hope we have the opportunity to be at your service again in the near future.

In the meantime if there is anything we can do to assist you please do not hesitate to contact us directly at 01369 702059 or please email me at dev.surya@sgehotels.com

Looking forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best Regards


Dev Surya
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2014

booked this at the last minute ...hotel is on the front and has very good views ...was given room 33 which was a double and single on the ground floor which had great big stain on carpet and is directly below the function room only problem was that there was a function going on til 00.30 and the bass was bouncing through the room. spoke to manager gary who moved me to 108 a double on the first floor which was at the rear of the hotel..room was clean and tidy..nice comfy bed and powerful shower in morning. had breakfast in morning which was disappointing as no yoghurt ham or cheese and the full scottish breakfast consisted of a burnt sausage and rock hard hash brown...and ice cubes in the orange juice...staff wre friendly and helpful would possibly stay there again as the area is scenic and only an hour away from glasgow if you use the car ferry

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jetboot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
surya d, General Manager at Argyll Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2014

I would like to take this opportunity thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback on Trip Advisor and also to offer you my sincere apologies regarding the issues you have experienced at our hotel.
I would like to reassure you that feedback of this kind is very rare and ensure that you or any of our other guests do not experience such service.
Our aim is to ensure that all of our guests come and have an outstanding holiday.
Again we are shocked that the breakfast was not satisfactory as our food always has such wonderful comments. We will address this with our chefs. And once again thank you for bringing it to our attention.

I would be delighted if you would give us another opportunity to serve you and show you that what you have experienced is not regular practice at the Argyll BEST WESTERN DUNOON.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind Regards
Dev Surya
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews